Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Goal Talk–December.

25 Comments

Let’s talk about my awesome dinner last night.

 

Earlier in the week, I saw Tina’s recipe for Healthy Tortellini Sausage soup and I knew it an absolute must. It was grey and drizzly all day (and about 12 degrees…December, what? Not that I’m complaining, I am not a cold weather person in the least). So a soup dinner seemed perfect.

DSCF2644I made a couple minor adjustments (used chicken broth instead of veggie; rainbow tortellini because I couldn’t find whole wheat at the store) but it turned out amazing.

DSCF2645

I don’t usually do soups for a main course because they don’t usually fill me up for too long. But this was super hearty, especially with a whole wheat roll on the side. Flavour-wise, it reminded me of Italian wedding soup – one of my absolute favourites.

DSCF2646

I usually leave leftovers for Eric’s lunches, but I think I’m going to be fighting him on this one Smile with tongue out

Slim and Sculpt

And Week 10 is now done…I can’t believe there’s only two weeks left! I’m not going to know what do to with myself afterwards, I’m enjoying it (and the results!) so much. Carrie, you put together one hell of a program. Smile 

  • workouts changed: none. I followed everything to a tee this week. I took it a little bit easy yesterday (my back was still a tad sore) but still followed the exercise as prescribed. If it was bugging me too much I would have backed off, but it didn’t seem necessary.
  • workouts skipped: none. I’m hoping to keep that streak going, even though the next two weeks are going to be busy. I don’t have exams (benefits of grad school) but I do have papers…15-20 pagers. Yup, a lot of time at my laptop over the next two weeks (Did I mention I’m looking forward to Christmas break?)

 

NOVEMBER GOALS

first – review of November’s goals!

1. Stop counting.

Done and done. I’ve had a few moments where I’ve caught myself starting to add up numbers in my head, but I realized what I was doing and stopped. Much happier without it!

(not going to lie, it would be really, really fun to do that).

 

2. Keep on top of my schoolwork while still allowing time for myself daily.

Well, I’ve kept up the blog and up to date on schoolwork/readings, so I’d say I’m doing pretty well! I’ve been able to get myself into a little bit more of a routine of when I work on school and when I work on my blog/catch up on my Reader. It’s a balancing act but I think I’ve got it down pretty well.

3. Have a fabulous time in Chicago.

Done and done (and I mean done!). I had fabulous eats, a fabulous hotel, and fabulous company.

DSCF2338

4. Keep plugging away at Slim and Sculpt.

Even in Chicago when my equipment was limited, I’ve been doing well! I’ve gotten myself into a good gym routine as well, and I’m enjoying it.

DSCF1850

And the new goals!!

1. Blog redesign.

As soon as I have more time over Christmas break, I want to give the blog a bit of an update. Unfortunately I’m too cheap (yay student budget!) to get it professionally designed so I’ll be doing a lot of playing around in Photoshop and WordPress. Hopefully to good results!

 

2. Read a book.

Like an actual, turning the pages book. All I’ve read for the last several months are blogs and articles/textbooks for school.

I saw this one at the library the other day…might have to go back and pick it up!

3. Enjoy family time over the holidays.

Eric works in education, so he has two weeks off over the holidays, and we’re planning on an awesome staycation. Smile Also, going back to London over Christmas and seeing everyone we can! Christmas is absolutely about family so I want to get my fill.

DSCF1932

4. Enjoy a much deserved deload week.

I’m not planning on doing any sort of formal exercise over the week of Christmas. I absolutely believe that deloads are necessary once in a while, and I’d rather be focused on spending time with people I love than squeezing in a workout (plus, the gym at school is closed, so I can only workout at home anyways!)

And of course…

Jenny’s Christmas Challenge!

Day 3

I honestly can’t pinpoint it to a moment where I stopped believing in Santa Claus. I just accepted it slowly over time, I guess! I think I was about 8 or 9 when I decided he wasn’t real anymore.

And finally, a HAPPY RETIREMENT to my Dad! This is his first official day of retirement. Enjoy this for the rest of your life Dad, love you!

DSCF1381

 

<— What are your December goals?

<— When did you stop believing in Santa Claus?

25 thoughts on “Goal Talk–December.

  1. Wow, congrats on balancing blog and school all month! I’m working on becoming more efficient at this so that I can do the same. AND congrats on demolishing your calorie counting forever!! I have been working on relying less on calorie counts and listening to my body instead, but I’m hoping to beat this deep-set habit once and for all soon! Oh yeah, and keep an eye out for your name in my post today. Although, you might want to have a tissue handy in case you drool on the keyboard… 😉

  2. Mmm that soup looks amazing! Soups don’t usually fill me up either, unless they’re chunky ones like that with lots of protein and carbs. But pureed ones leave me hungry like 30 minutes later. 😛

    And congrats on stopping with counting calories – you should be really really proud of yourself girl!

    My December goals are to do my physio exercises and foam rolling every single day. I want to fix my knee issues for once and for all!

  3. That soup looks so good! I added that to my must make list when I saw it haha and will probably do so either over the holidays or right after the new year 🙂 Oh, I made yourrrrrrr beef stew yesterday, and it is delicious!! Already looking forward to dinner tonight 🙂 And your December goals are absolutely fabulous (especially that whole staycation, read a book, and deload with friends and family!)…love it 🙂

  4. Great goals! And I love that you accomplished your November goals! Your December ones are so fun- I love that they’re all centered around enjoying the holidays and relaxing with loved ones 🙂

  5. great goals! i am very interested about this program you did, is it just strength training?

  6. Squee! So I’m super stoked to hear that you met your goal of giving up calorie counting. Awesome job Sam! I definitely know how hard that can be, so I’m super proud of you, and I’m betting it feels pretty good, huh? 😀 My only real goal for December is to milk the Christmas spirit for all it’s worth. This is my favorite time of year and I want to make the most of it.

    PS – Gone Girl is a fantastic read

  7. Hey Sam! I can totally relate to #1. I stopped “counting” (my weight, my calories, etc.) several months ago, and I’ve been so much happier and healthier. 🙂 Currently, I’m counting miles (as in miles run), but I have fun doing that.

  8. Often soups aren’t satisfying up for me but this looks SO hearty and good. And rainbow pasta is just so fun to use instead of wheat sometimes!!! Happy retirement to your dad indeed. I can’t wait til my dad can retire just so I can see him get that happy post-retirement life he envisions and deserves! I totally love your nose ring in the pic with your man, you pull it off well. Very rad 🙂 Gone Girl is the book for my January book club. I have it on hold at the lib. I’m so shocked that your lib had yours! We have like 8 copies and they are all on a wait list.

    • Hehe I’m glad you like it! I always think I should switch to the more acceptable stud but really, the ring makes me happy.

      And the copies at my library are on a 7-day-loan cycle, so that’s probably why they’re able to have a copy on hand more often.

  9. thats good you found your balance with school and yourself.. during a summer coarse i had to take i had no life for the 8 weeks, literally id go early to study go to class then stay after and study or go to the coffee shop too. but this semester i had to take a step back i have a few shows i watch during the wk and yesss i can dvr them but i like to stop my school stuff at 8 and watch them n i usually go to bed right after bc im a grandma but those hours away really helps .. my goal like you is to really focus on family and holiday stuff this vaca not getting a run or workout class in and for me not to feel one bit guilty about any of it!

  10. Tortellini is totally on my “love it but fear it” list — I’m definitely looking to break that barrier!! I’m not a soup fan, but I think that you really reignited my love of tortellini. I don’t think I’ll be able to hold off on this craving for very long!! Thank you. 😉
    As for your goals — you rocked them, girl!! Way to go! 😀 I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that you’ll do the same with this month’s. Best of luck, not that you’ll need it!!

  11. Pingback: On the Off Chance… « Better With Sprinkles

  12. Pingback: These Ladies are Loving This Fit Chick’s Programs! | This Fit Chick

  13. Pingback: Five Things Friday # 2 « Better With Sprinkles

  14. Pingback: The Non-Workout Workout Plan. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

