Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Pulled Pork Time.

30 Comments

Another class done, another free meal.

DSCF1969

Pizza this time. Smile

Gooey, cheesey, real pizza! It’s been years since I had the stuff, so it was a nice change. I cannot stand pepperoni, so I was happy when my suggestion for Hawaiian went through. Open-mouthed smile

When I was a kid, I hated tomato sauce – which meant that I hated pizza. The only type you could ever get me to eat was Hawaiian. While now my palate has expanded past ham, cheese and pineapple, it’s still my favourite type of pizza.

And some Greek salad on the side:

DSCF1970

Made for a good class, that’s for sure.

Speaking of class: For my last assignment for my Media class, we have to do a research paper that requires a sample of 5 movies. That means that Tuesday, I watched 3 movies back-to-back. While I love movies, watching 6 hours of it in a row? Intense. I was antsy, to say the least. I’m the person that needs to get up and move around at least once every hour or so – I’m fidgety! All in all, I guess I can’t really complain that part of my assignment is to watch movies. Could be worse, right?

Dinner

Ever since I got the slow cooker for my birthday, every week I’ve been scanning the grocery flyers, just waiting for pork shoulder to go on sale. Finally, last weekend, it did.

DSCF2670

That means it’s pulled pork time. Open-mouthed smile

Quite possibly, one of my absolute favourite foods. Whenever I go to any sort of BBQ or rib place, I order pulled pork. London has a giant Ribfest each August – I go, walk right past the ribs and find myself a pile of pulled pork. Delicious!

I followed the recipe on the packet, except I cut the amount of brown sugar in half and added a few drops of stevia.

As a side, I whipped up a batch of cornbread. I just follow the recipe on the back of Bob’s Red Mill cornmeal – it’s simple and delicious.

DSCF2673

With some steamed broccoli on the side, I felt like all I needed a giant glass of sweet tea, a sunhat, and to start saying “y’all.” Smile

Day 6

Jenny’s Christmas Challenge!

Favourite ornament: Every year, my mom puts a couple of ornaments on the tree that have been passed down through 3 generations – my great-grandmothers. They’re fragile, gorgeous and incredibly special! I can’t look at them without thinking of my grandma, which makes me smile. Unfortunately it’s an hour away at my parents so I don’t have a picture to show you, but my favourite is the white and purple one in that collection. It’s been my favourite ornament as long as I can remember!

Happy Thursday! Classes left for me: 2. Almost there!

<— What was your favourite kind of pizza as a kid?

<— Can you watch a movie all the way through, or do you have to get up and move around a little bit?

30 thoughts on “Pulled Pork Time.

  1. Got to love a good slice of pizza and free is best!

    Yay for using the slow cooker! They are the best and the pulled pork looks great!

    Happy Thursday girl!

  2. So the first thing I saw when your blog opened up was that pizza (obviously) and all I could think was, “Omg, I want that now.” And I just had breakfast…problem 😉 I love pizza haha….although as a child the only one I would eat is cheese! Pickiest eater ever for sure. Now I’ll eat just about anything…except Hawaiian haha…not a pineapple fan. And the only way I can watch a movie the whole way through is if I’m in a theater, I’m sick, or I really love the movie…otherwise I’m antsy as all get out

  3. I know what you mean about the movies. My mum works for the film festival where she lives, so she used to take me to random film festivals all the time to scope out movies and we would watch like 4 per day. My poor buummmm!

  4. my fams pretty boring so i only grew up knowing cheese pizza really and not complaining bc i love the stuff, but now if when i go to get any food i look for something that catches my eye and ive never tried before.. usually weirdest ones are the best! big step up from just cheese pizza lol

  5. Um I had pizza last night too for the first time in years! It was SO good and exactly what I was craving 🙂
    Also, I just finished an extremely similar paper last night. At 2am. Dying.

  6. I’m the same way with movies. There are certain ones I can watch all the way through, but usually I end up pausing them and going to do something else. That’s only when I’m watching them by myself, though. When I’m with someone, I usually have no problem sitting through them. 3 would be a stretch, though 😛 And I think that pizza is one of the only places where I don’t like anything sweet to be on it. I’ve never been able to warm up to Hawaiian pizza, and my favorite as a kid was probably plain cheese (with extra cheese).

  7. Flipping ADORE pulled pork. That Hawaiian pizza looks great too. I’ve had a Hawaiian before with pulled pork instead of ham. Yup, your mind just got blown. It was amazing.
    I totally cannot sit still through even one movie let alone three but your media class sounds so cool. I am the person that has to text during a movie in the theater but then people always openly/secretly judge me haha

  8. I used to hate tomato sauce too so I would get pizza without sauce aka cheese bread (or white sauce!). I took a class in college about women in film and I thought I would love that have of our assignments were to analyze movies but I found myself not enjoying movies like I usually do since I was told to watch them. I’m the same way with reading! As soon as something becomes “homework” I hate it haha

  9. I am determined to have some sort of pork dish when i am home on break. I can’t remember the last time I had pork and for some reason I have been craving it. i think i need to blame it on you and Molly for having such amazing recipes with pork.

  10. I don’t know why it took me so long to get into, but I love pineapple of pizza now. My old standard is pepperoni, feta, spinach, and artichokes.

  11. Hawaiian was (and still is!) my favourite too!! Pineapple on pizza = best idea ever!! (My Mom thinks it’s repulsive, but she likes PB and cheese, so I don’t trust her judgement on flavour combos 😉 )

  12. I just finished eating dinner and now I want pizza!! I love pulled pork too. YUM.

  13. Today I’m like your childhood opposite, I LOVE pizza sauce! When we were younger we pretty much just did plain cheese or pepperoni. Isn’t a slow-cooker a miracle worker?!? I use it at least once a week. My favorite/easiest recipe is boneless chicken covered in salsa & cook until it’s done enough to shred…Mexican chicken!

  14. When I was a kid my favourite pizza was meat lovers pizza! I still kind of love it haha. But my favourite kind now is one with chicken, goat cheese, sun dried tomatoes, artichokes, and mozzarella!

    And yummm I love pulled pork!

  15. I love pulled pork! And Hawaiian pizza 🙂

Leave a Reply

