Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Baked Penne with Chicken Bolognese.

20 Comments

I made this recipe a few weeks ago and have been storing it up for a rainy (read: overworked and uninspired) day. Enjoy!

I really, really like baked pastas. I don’t make them too often though, because most of the varieties I see are of the tuna-casserole variety – while I love tuna, I prefer sandwiches over casserole form. So I took my super-easy Bolognese recipe and applied it to a baked penne. Open-mouthed smile

Baked Penne with Chicken Bolognese

DSCF2458

Ingredients:

  • 1 box whole wheat penne
  • 1 – 1/4 lbs ground chicken
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 batch tomato sauce (canned or homemade)
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1/3 cup fresh parmesan, shredded
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

 

Directions

1. Heat olive oil in large saucepan over medium high heat. Add onion, pepper and garlic and cook until veggies are tender. Add seasonings. In the meantime, prepare pasta according to package directions.

DSCF2445

2. Add chicken and cook until browned. Add tomato sauce and cook for approximately 10 minutes. Add spinach and continue to cook until wilted.

DSCF2448

3. When pasta has finished cooking, combine pasta and sauce. Add two tablespoons of parmesan, stir, and cook until melted.

DSCF2450

4. Place pasta in greased 9 x 13 lasagna pan. Sprinkle remaining parmesan cheese on top. Place in 350 degree oven for 25-30 minutes.

DSCF2455

5. Remove from oven and let rest for 5 minutes.

DSCF2463

Seriously such a simple recipe and a nice change from usual spaghetti.

DSCF2467

Delicious!

Day 7

And I can’t forget about…

Jenny’s Christmas Challenge!

It’s hard to pick a Christmas that’s been the most memorable. Honestly, I would probably say the last Christmas was the best. It was mine and Eric’s first one together, so for that reason I’m always going to remember it. Also, it was the first Christmas in YEARS that I didn’t feel too much anxiety or stress for the month leading up to it…honestly? I’m extremely excited for this Christmas coming up, because I’m determined to make it the first anxiety-less, guiltless holiday. Every year for the last several, I’ve felt that food-related anxiety because of the ED, but every year I’ve felt it lessen and lessen. So, this is the year I’m confident I’ll banish it for good. Smile

<— Favourite pasta dish?

<— Any really special Christmas memories that stand out for you?

20 thoughts on “Baked Penne with Chicken Bolognese.

  1. That looks amazing, darlin!! Definitely something I want sometime soon! And I’m really happy for you about less anxiety and more excitement for the holidays 🙂 You seem to be in an incredibly positive place right now, and that’s both wonderful and inspirational 🙂

  2. I haven’t had baked pasta in AGES! I actually haven’t bought pasta in a really long time because of Mr. ED and his carbophobia, but my favourite pasta dish is probably this puttanesca that a family friend makes and I would LOVE to know how to make it!

  3. This looks so delicious! Baked pasta of some sort is my absolute FAVORITE! Especially baked ziti, but this is like a twist on an old favorite 🙂

  4. can’t eat pasta sadly but the sauce makes me want it now!

  5. Kind of in love with this recipe. It’s been AGES since I’ve had baked pasta and now you’ve really got me craving some… at 10 AM 😛 This may sound odd, but my favorite way to eat pasta issss…. plain noodles with butter and parmesan cheese. It was the only way I’d eat it as a little kid, and although my tastes have matured somewhat, I still love the simplest things best. Well, that and tomato sauce has the potential to mangle my stomach, so I try to avoid it when I can.

  6. This looks SO hearty and satisfying! I love that you added the spinach in there and used wheat pasta. I have’t had baked pasta in forever but this sounds so yummy for a cold winter’s night.

  7. Looks good! Baked pasta is always the best (because it has plenty of cheese) 🙂

  8. Now that I’m back to loving pasta, sauce, and cheese, I might just have to give this a go. 😉
    Also, I think that your most memorable Christmas might be very much like the one I’m hoping to have this year, if all goes well. Fingers crossed!!

  9. This looks amazing!!!! Definitely bookmarking for when I’m being less strict about Paleo 😉

  10. Pingback: Rehashing December. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

