Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW # 14: Roasted Tomato Soup.

34 Comments

So, I’ve got two recipes for you this week? Yea, I’m a little impressed with myself.

As always, thanks to Jenn for hosting!

Today’s WIAW is all my eats from Monday – last day of class = last professor-bought lunch. I have to say, that was a really good week, lunch-wise. Smile with tongue out

Breakfast

DSCF2725

Yup, I’m still loving my sweet potato, egg and peanut butter combo. You can’t tell in the photo, but I tend to throw on a ridiculously large amount of peanut butter. Because peanut butter is amazing. (right Devon?)

Lunch

Well isn’t this an awesome little spread?

DSCF2003

My prof brought in some rosemary bread, a veggie tray, fruit tray, cheese and crackers, a pasta salad (unpictured), meatballs, and desserts. We were told to nibble on whatever we want through class, so of course, I took advantage.

DSCF2005

First plate: meatballs, baby carrots, fruit, crackers and cheese – I think it was cheddar and spiced havarti? Love havarti cheese.

Of course, if I am presented with a buffet, I will not stop at one round.

DSCF2007

Round 2: slice of bread, more carrots and another meatball. Plus some unpictured fruit, crackers and cheese. Kind of what happens when you’re sitting approximately half a foot away from the table full of food. Smile with tongue out

After class, I hit up the gym for my workout. Crazy to think that I’m in my last week of my program with Carrie!

Post-Workout Snack

DSCF2733

The usual post workout smoothie (unsweetened vanilla almond milk, protein powder, frozen banana, and spinach). Topped with Panda Puffs – it makes me happy!

Dinner

While I’m no stranger to grilled cheese and tomato soup, I realized that I’ve never actually made my own tomato soup. No time like the present, right?

Roasted Tomato Soup

(Serves 4-6. Inspired by the tomato soup recipe in Bite Me by Julie Albert and Lisa Gnat)

 

Ingredients

  • 2 cans diced tomatoes, juice reserved
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 10 baby carrots, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with foil, and spread diced tomatoes. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and 1 tbsp olive oil. Roast for 15 minutes.
DSCF2738

2. While tomatoes are roasting, heat remaining tablespoon of olive oil in a large pot. Add onion, garlic, carrots and celery. Cook over medium heat until soft.

DSCF2740

3. When tomatoes are done and veggies are soft, add tomatoes, reserved juice, chicken broth and basil. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and cover. Simmer for 25-30 minutes.

DSCF2747

4. Take soup off heat. Blend with an immersion blender, or in batches.

DSCF2751

Enjoy!

Of course, grilled cheese is necessary for soup.

DSCF2754

Dinner was followed by tea and an unpictured handful of cat cookies (I’m down to the last few in the container…sadness)

DSCF2755

Yes, it is winter. That will not stop me from drinking fall-themed tea. Smile

Bedtime Snack

DSCF2761

A mix of Greek yogurt, chocolate casein and Justin’s Vanilla Almond Butter. It did the trick!

Jenny’s countdown continues!

Wrapping paper or gift bags?

I feel like gift bags are the easier option, but gift wrapping is definitely prettier. Although, I’m not actually all that great at wrapping presents, so maybe I should stick with bags. Smile with tongue out

Although, that reminds me…I should really pick up some gift wrap this weekend!

Happy Wednesday!

<— Have you started wrapping your Christmas presents yet?

<— What’s better for grilled cheese: Tomato soup or ketchup? Really, I’m happy with either. Open-mouthed smile

34 thoughts on “WIAW # 14: Roasted Tomato Soup.

  1. So I totally thought that those puffs on the top of your smoothie were marshmallows and I got really excited (slightly weirded out hahaha)…that tomato soup looks soooooo good! Guess it’s one more thing I’ll have to try since I enjoyed your beef stew so much 🙂 And none of my profs ever bought/gave up lunch during the last week of class! Fail Pitt!

  2. Thanks for the shout out!! Peanut butter IS amazing! I have been dipping into my jar about 5 times a day and I could not be happier.

    By the way, in all my years of university, a prof has NEVER bought me lunch on the last day of class! I think I need to transfer to your school.

  3. How nice of your prof to bring lunch! My boss always bring the salad to office potlucks. LOL!

  4. Ooo what a great day of eats! I am such a peanut butter fan although I’m riding the almond butter train at the moment ;). My bosses bring in food every Friday but it is never as good as your spread, so envious! Love your Tinkerbell cup too!

  5. Your tomato soup looks awesome, sounds like you’re LOVIN’ your slow-cooker! I’m a fan of both ketchup & tomato soup with grilled cheeses! And if I were to start wrapping gifts, that would imply I’ve started shopping…FAIL!

  6. Haha I love the puffins on top of the smoothie! Makes it fun 🙂
    And grilled cheese… best comfort food out there (besides mac and cheese, obviously)

  7. nothing like homemade tomato soup in this weather. perfect. i just found this tortilla soup starter from pacific foods that I am IN LOVE WITH so spicy!

  8. Okay so I usually do sweet potato + pb, or sweet potato + egg…is it really good to combine the three? I mean, you obviously like it so I am going to sack up and give it a shot. Also, I LOOOOVE meatballs. After being vegetarian for about a year, the first thing I bought meat-wise when I decided to eat it again were meatballs.

  9. What a great spread for lunch! I love the combo of grilled cheese & tomato soup., especially with the sandwich dipped in!

  10. That spread your prof provided is awesome! I wish my profs would do that. 😛

    I’m a fan of grilled cheese + ketchup. Also you’re going to think I’m really weird, but grilled cheese dipped in corn syrup is really good too. I grew up eating it like that haha!

  11. the puffs on the smoothie, i totally got to do that ! and tomato soup + grilled cheese is a fav, especially when it starts getting cold out!

  12. Soup with a side of grilled cheese is probably one of the best combinations ever, and as much as I love ketchup, I’d have to say that soup takes the cake. And giiiiirl are you crazy about the Christmas wrapping!? I haven’t even bought presents to wrap yet 😛

  13. That soup sounds marvelous! I’ve been on a soup kick lately, and this one sounds pretty simple! (and like one my sister would eat…she’s not a fan of mushrooms or cauliflower, or pesto, or greens all of which have gone into my soups lately) I’ll have to try! And grilled cheese is on my list of challenge foods! I’ll have to try it 🙂

  14. Yes, peanut butter is amazing 🙂

    I was scared there would be no grilled cheese when I read the title. Good job!

  15. What an awesome prof! I mean forreal, how sweet to provide a little buffet with AMAZING food for y’all to enjoy. =)

    Grilled cheese with ketchup.. or salsa. I’m not a fan of tomato soup.

  16. I need to be getting back to smoothies ASAP. My body has been missing them like crrrrazzzzy!!! I’ve also been looking for a great tomato soup recipe!! Mission for the weekend for sure. 😉

  17. Pingback: Rehashing December. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

