Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Don’t Stop Now.

33 Comments

first of all, I can’t even begin to comprehend what happened in Newtown; my thoughts and prayers go to those affected.

Morning friends!

Anyone have exciting plans today? Mine involve laundry and grocery shopping…less than exciting, I’d say. Currently, I am writing this at 7 am on a Saturday morning…ugh. Cannot sleep – I’ll be in need of a nap today.

Lunch

Mid-day paper writing break yesterday.

DSCF2778

The last of the tofu I cooked up earlier this week, sweet potato with butter and cinnamon, and green beans. Sometimes, you can’t beat something simple.

Dinner

I was looking forward to this all week.

DSCF2779

Chinese! We went down the street to Jumbo Dragon – we’ve had it once before and we loved it. This time, I ordered the Happy Family (the first time we went there, I had the Sauteed Double Happiness. Seriously who comes up with this? I love it). which was shrimp, scallops, chicken, pork, beef and veggies in brown sauce with rice on the side. It was delicious! I couldn’t decided which protein I wanted, so having the option of little bits of everything was the way to go, clearly. Open-mouthed smile

We got steamed dumplings on the side:

DSCF2783

Steamed dumplings look kind of gross, don’t they? I promise they were delicious.

And we ended up getting a free order of Jar Doo wings:

DSCF2781

I’ve never had them before – they weren’t too bad. They came with little chili sauce packets, which made them better. If I’m going to eat wings, I either need a sweet sauce (like honey garlic) or super spicy. Yes, I am the person who orders suicide sauce on things. Smile with tongue out

The best thing about Chinese food? The portions are massive! Basically, I have lunch for the next few days.

Our neighbour downstairs got a new job, so we were going out with them to celebrate. I poured myself a drink at home:

DSCF2785

That is one shot bubblegum vodka, one shot fruit loops vodka, glass filled with Sprite Zero. Seriously delicious. After pouring said drink, I cracked open my fortune cookie to reveal this:

DSCF2788

Well, if the fortune cookie says so…

It ended up being a fun night! We went out dancing, then hit up Lonnie’s. Eric ordered poutine, and I ended up partaking even though I wasn’t particularly hungry. One of those alcohol-fueled “it’s there so I’ll eat it.” I’m not going to lie, I’m not feeling particularly happy with myself about that one. And it’s contributing to my sleeplessness a little. Ugh – I guess it’s a reminder that I’m not perfect; I can still get anxiety around food sometimes. Trying to move on.

Jenny’s Christmas Challenge makes me feel better!

It’s a tough one today! I honestly have no idea what the best gift I’ve ever given is. I like to bake a lot, so a lot of people end up getting cookies/Christmas treats. Everybody likes a homemade gift, right?

Have a good day!

<—Favourite drink? (alcoholic or otherwise)

<— Do you like it spicy? Absolutely. Smile with tongue out

33 thoughts on “Don’t Stop Now.

  1. Everybody LOVES a homemade gift! And go easy on yourself, love. It sounds like you had a GREAT night, which is all that matters in the end 🙂

  2. Laundry and grocery shopping… yep, sounds like my kind of day 🙂 I’m glad you had fun last night!!!

  3. oh gosh that drink sounds awesome, never had bubble gum vodka

  4. They actually have fruit loops vodka?? That’s incredible. My favourite drink is probably any kind of hard cider. Sir Perry, Waupoos and Growers are all good brands.

  5. Did you make that vodka?! I’m in awe.

  6. Awwr girl everyone has those goofy moments with food. There’s no denying that eating is just plain enjoyable, so being out, feeling relaxed, having fun, and indulging a little bit more than you’d normally like to is pretty normal. Nothing is gonna happen after just one night, so don’t beat yourself up ❤

  7. That tofu sweet potato combo sounds amazing! The simplest dinners are the best:)

  8. I have never heard of bubble gum or fruit loop vodka, interesting! I am a vodka crystal light kind of girl ha. I used to hate spicy things, but now I am a big fan!

  9. Everyone has to fight off those guilty feelings from time to time. Good that you are recognizing they aren’t valid and trying to move past them. The drink you made sounds super fun and yummy! I definitely do my fair share of drinking, but I wish it didn’t come with a hangover the next day 😉

  10. Sorry you were feeling guilty about the poutine – I still get food guilt about things like that too every once in a while. I think it’s engrained in us as females! 😛 But I’m sure that poutine was worth it haha.

    My usual combination when I’m drinking is crystal lite and vodka, but my favourite drink is something more fun like a pina colada!

  11. Drunken munchies once in a while is mandatory/preferable for any twenty something, I say:).
    And you are so freakin balanced & healthy with your lifestyle most of the time! No worries Sam.
    Xxx

  12. I am always up early on the weekends!

  13. Out of curiosity, what’s your favourite flavour of vodka? It’s crazy how much I really want to know!!
    Hope your iffy food thoughts did “stop now”. Currently just pulling myself out of a few days worth, and they suck. You’re a rockstar though, I’m sure you’re right back on your feet and have taken off running. 😉

    • Hmm…that’s a really good question. I’d have to say either birthday cake (so good) or vanilla (so simple, but I love it)

      And I’m getting there! Of course, all the bloggie support I’ve been getting today is helping a lot ❤

  14. Pingback: Bold Little Critters. « Better With Sprinkles

  15. yumm that drink sounds awesome! and i think its normal to still feel guilty every now and then! and i think alc ontop of it could contribute to it because i no it sure does with me ! youll be fine though you got this :)!

  16. Pingback: Happy Dance. « Better With Sprinkles

  17. Pingback: freEDom: Societal ED. « Better With Sprinkles

  18. Pingback: WIAW #15: Ice Cream Is A Topping. « Better With Sprinkles

  19. Pingback: Rehashing December. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

