Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Happy Dance.

22 Comments

Happy Monday!

As of yesterday, my work for the semester is done – there may have been a happy dance at the time. I’m definitely looking forward to taking some time to relax for a while! I celebrated by spending money on Bodybuilding.com…I am a sucker for a good deal. Hey, at least I know I’ll be stocked in the protein powder department come January! I don’t usually buy online – I really should more often. Seriously, some great deals that way.

So yesterday was spent finishing up my papers, doing some shopping with the boy, and catching up on some neglected TV shows.

Lunch

DSCF2798

Still making my way through those Chinese food leftovers! The fun part is, I still have enough left for lunch tomorrow. Gotta love those massive portions.

In the afternoon, I finished my LAST workout of my program with Carrie at This Fit Chick! I’m actually a little sad it’s over. The program was awesome – I’ll do a quick review now of the last week, and then I’ll do a full review of the program later this week. Deal? Deal.

So, I was hoping to end the final week with a bang – but, it didn’t really go that way. I’ve been experiencing some knee tenderness (nothing major, but enough that makes me want to take it easy), so my workouts were affected. I have had issues with runner’s knee in the past, so I’d imagine it’s what’s causing my problems now. I usually wear a knee brace when I run, but I got out of the habit in the last couple months.

DSCF0475

Lesson learned though – it hasn’t been too bad, just a slight annoyance. I’ve been going easy in terms of squats and lunges, and I subbed the treadmill for the elliptical. Seems to be doing the trick! So minus a couple of adjustments, I got through my final week of the program.

So, here’s my plan for the rest of year: I’m going to head to the gym Monday and Wednesday to fit in workouts…probably more of an upper body focus so I don’t aggravate my knee. Also, they will likely be workouts that I’ve particularly liked over the last 12 weeks. The gym at school closes after Wednesday, so I’ll be doing at home workouts Friday and Sunday. I have an absolute plethora of workout videos, so it may be Jillian Michaels, it may be p90x, Turbofire, Insanity…I’ll have to wait and see what I’m in the mood for!

After that, I’ll begin my 2 weeks of rest. Nothing more intense than yoga, walks, stretching and foam rolling over my vacation. I know how much my body will appreciate the break! I seriously think that the occasional deload week is vital to any fitness program.

January 7th – start up again! I’ve been emailing back and forth with Carrie about what I’d like to do in January, so hopefully that will be ready to go.

Dinner

For dinner, I cooked up the meatloaf I picked up from the Farmer’s Market on Saturday.

DSCF2804

It was good! With roasted potatoes, broccoli and BBQ sauce for dipping. While I love my sweet potatoes, roasted white potatoes are a nice change once in a while.

Jenny’s Christmas Challenge

I really, really wish I had an old Christmas card – I don’t remember my parents ever doing the photo-card thing. I don’t even have any Christmas pictures to show you, they’re all in photo albums in my parents basement. I may have just given myself a project for the next time I’m at my parents for a few days – find the cute childhood pictures of me and upload them!

I have a couple of things to do today – I have to run over to the school to fill out some forms, stop by the library, and hit the gym. Otherwise, day of relaxation right here. Open-mouthed smile

Have a good one!

<— Do you buy a lot online? Certain things in particular?

<— Does your family do the photo Christmas card thing?

22 thoughts on “Happy Dance.

  1. Sorry to hear about your knee, Sam but good to see that you’ll be resting it for 2 weeks :)! I go through phases with online shopping…although I tend to buy things from stores I am used to otherwise I never know about the size, and then sending it back is such a hassle. The one thing which I only buy online though is protein powder – typical or what ;)!

  2. Woohoo!!! I’m happy dancing for you love! Congrats on being done with your work for the semester AND for taking two weeks off from working out soon! That’s awesome, and I’m really happy that you’re giving yourself a break 🙂

  3. Yay for being done school! I’m happy dancing here with you 🙂 Yay for 2 weeks of deloading. I might do a little bit of strength training, but other than that it will be yoga, yoga, yoga! Oh, and yay for leftovers! Sometimes I find that Chinese food tastes better the next day 🙂

  4. I love shopping online, nothing in particular though 🙂 Also we haven’t done Christmas cards but I really want to. It’s prob too late now. 😦

  5. i always buy bathinsuits online bc i no my sizes at certain stores, anything else the sizes are always different so its really all i buy.. sorry about your knee! perfect time for your workout break then.. enjoy your relaxing day!

  6. I do a lot of holiday shopping online lol Sometimes I buy specialty peanut butter online bc it isn’t sold in stores around here. My family doesn’t do a Christmas card picture, but we do send out cards

  7. great plan of attack, way to listen to your body. no need to kill it now!

  8. Woop for being done with school work for the semester! I always loved the feeling of having that weight lifted off my shoulder so that I could finally enjoy the holidays… it was like a huge sigh of relief. And I’m definitely with you on having to start shopping online more often… I enjoy going in to the malls, but I tend to get soooo overwhelmed with everything that’s in there (and big crowds!) so I don’t go shopping as much as I’d probably like to. Shopping online would be the perfect solution, but at the same time I worry about my wallet – it’s so much easier to spend a tonne when you’re just happily clicking away!

    • That’s what I’m afraid of too…I like to use cash when I shop so I can actually see the money leaving my hands. When I use my credit card it just doesn’t feel as real – I’m very much like, “it’s ok, I don’t have to pay it right now!”

  9. Yay!!! Congrats, Sam! Hope you’re celebrating in style!!
    Those two weeks are going to be awesome for you — can’t wait to hear all about them.
    And I fell back in love with broccoli this past week, so seeing it here got an automatic smile and two big thumbs up from me. Have to get back on the meatloaf train though, I think. Or at least meatball train. I think that the balls will be the way to go. haha. 😉
    Take care of yourself!! You deserve it.

  10. Pingback: These Ladies are Loving This Fit Chick’s Programs! | This Fit Chick

  11. Pingback: Slim and Sculpt + What Happens Next. « Better With Sprinkles

  12. Pingback: Rehashing December. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

