Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW #15: Ice Cream Is A Topping.

30 Comments

Hello Wednesday.

AKA: What I Ate Wednesday! Thanks to Jenn for hosting.

So, I feel like a lot of my meals yesterday fit in quite well with Laura’s #StrangeButGood campaign. Weird, yes. But delicious.

Breakfast

This has become my newest breakfast addiction. As in, eating 5-6 days a week right now.

DSCF2808

Oats made in the microwave with half water, half almond milk and cinnamon/vanilla stevia mixed in. Topped with strawberry jam, nut butter (I went with Justin’s Vanilla Almond this time….and killed the jar. Sadness) and 1 sunny side up egg + splash of egg whites. Seriously, in love right now.

DSCF2811

Followed by the advent calander chocolate, of course. Although, could someone please explain to me what a mushroom has to do with Christmas? (added: oh wait, I think it’s supposed to be a bell…nevermind).

After breakfast, I had a bit of shopping to do. Not Christmas shopping, mind you – I  managed to get that done last week. That’s a bit of a Christmas miracle right there, I’m usually shopping up until a few days before.

DSCF2822

Nope, I needed a new phone.

My mom, my brother and I had been on a family plan with another company for years…since I was in high school. Well, contracts kind of suck. So we all decided to get new phones/plans.

DSCF2819

I finally own a smartphone! Seriously, I’ve been behind on this trend for a long, long time. Anyone else have an HTC One V? So far, I’m really liking it.

One of the first things I did?

Joined Instagram, clearly.

Instagram

Follow me @betterwithsprinklesblog !

I’m still figuring out the fine points, but I can tell I’m going to get addicted to this thing fast. Time sucker, yes?

Highlight of the trip to the mall:

DSCF2024

Eric modelling what may be the worst hat I’ve ever seen.

Seriously, reminds me of this:

Whoever buys that hat does not need to worry about aliens, apparently.

(Side note: Abigail Breslin is a freakin’ doll in this movie. Then she grew up. Between her and Dakota Fanning, I just feel old).

Lunch

For lunch yesterday, I decided to break out the tempeh I bought last weekend.

DSCF2813

I made an open faced tempeh sandwich with spinach, a bit of mayo, honey mustard and pickles. On the side I had steamed broccoli, carrots and the rest of the tempeh.

It was ok – I don’t think I’ll be in a huge hurry to buy it again though.

Snack

So…my camera ate my afternoon snack picture. So this is what you get:

Snack

Your welcome.

Yes, that is some elite Paint skills right there.

The afternoon/evening was spent playing around with the phone, catching up on TV, and wrapping Christmas presents. Seriously, loving vacation.

Dinner:

DSCF2825

Continuing with the Asian theme of the last few days, apparently. A brown rice stirfry with chicken, veggies and my homemade stirfry sauce. Hit the spot!

Snack

For my before bed snack, I couldn’t decide whether I wanted yogurt or ice cream. So, I went with the only logical option:

DSCF2827

Chocolate casein yogurt with an ice cream topping. Open-mouthed smile Yea…I’m an interesting one.

Jenny’s Christmas Challenge:

Oh, stockings. Seriously, one of my favourite things about Christmas. In our stockings, there’s usually some combination of the following:

  • chocolate (usually Reese’s, because everyone in my family is a huge peanut butter and chocolate fan)
  • socks and/or underwear
  • deodorant/hygiene stuff
  • clementines
  • other odds and ends (nail polish for me, chips/pringles, energy drinks for my brother, pens)…really, whatever my mom can shove in there!

Have a great day!

<— What sort of stuff do you find in your stocking?

<— Anyone on Instagram/know of anyone I should be following?

<— Would anyone wear that hat?

30 thoughts on “WIAW #15: Ice Cream Is A Topping.

  1. i suck when it comes to instagram, I have one but i need to get better. such delicious eats!!!

  2. That is one hot hat 😉 That is one day of delicious looking eats, too, darlin….oh and ice cream on top of yogurt>??? why in the world have i not thought of that sooner?! genius 🙂

  3. I don’t have a smart phone, so I’m not on Instagram. I feel like I’m the only one! 😛

    I’m not a huge fan of that kind of tempeh either – tempeh is so much better when you just buy the plain kind and make your own marinade!

  4. I love Jennys 25 Days of Christmas, I kinda just do mine in chunks, so I need to catch up! Cute homemade picture 🙂

  5. Haha, you rule, Yogurt topped with ice cream? Awesome. Not to mention the smartphone! Woo hoo!! It will be your best friend and your mentor, enjoy it 🙂 It’s too bad you didn’t like the tempeh. I get the Tofurky brand coconut curry marinated stuff and I love it, but I know you can’t force a non-tempeh-lover 🙂

    • Oh, I am definitely enjoying it! (and realizing that I need to upgrade my plan..apparently, I’m on the internet a lot).
      I think it was just the flavour that didn’t do it for me – I’ll try a different one next time I pick it up.

  6. The title said it all for me. Ice cream. Is. Anything. Especially in mass quantities 😉
    Congrats on joining the smartphone world!

  7. Welcome to the wonderful of Instagram- it is addictive! I tried tempeh once and wasn’t a fan either….I think I’ll stick with tofu or beans & rice as meatless protein options!

  8. You had me at ice cream 😀 Although I have to admit that I’ve never tried the yogurt and ice cream combination… something I need to look into, perhaps? And woop for joining Instagram! Seriously love that thing, but yes it’s a time suck… although not as bad as Pinterest 😯 Following you already!

  9. Strange but good is the best type of food. I never got an advent calendar!! But I do have a huge bowl of Christmas Hershey’s kisses sitting out in my kitchen at all times and grab a few every day so I guess that makes up for it. Just requested to follow you on instagram 🙂

  10. All of your meals look great! I love your blog! Definitely agree sprinkles makes everything, well at least desserts, better! My parents call me the sprinkle queen! 🙂

  11. Ice cream is definitely a topping. If I’m not mistaken, that is peppermint ice cream? That would be amazing with anything!!

    Congrats on the smartphone! How exciting 🙂

  12. Welcome to the IG addiction. 🙂

    thanks for the SBG shout out! does this mean you’ll join up Friday?! I’m loving that ice cream and casein combo. It may be my dessert tonight too!

  13. AGREE ON THE BRESLIN/FANNING FRONT!!!! I watched the movie I Am Sam not too long ago and pretty much squealed every time she was on-screen (until it started to get sad, and then I started to get teary). Seriously LOVE Signs though. And YES to feeling old. I feel terribly old whenever there are girls who come in for pre-natal bloodwork who are younger than I am. I’ll look at their birthdates and be like, hey now, you’re my brother’s age, aren’t you still twelve?! My brother is 19, so obviously not, but ahhhhh. Don’t want to get old. boo. haha. Good thing I love fun kid food, it keeps me young. 😉

    • They were so cute! And now they’re teenagers! Freaks.me.out!
      Definitely understand, my cousins’s 3 years younger than me and I’m having a lot of trouble grasping the fact that she’ll be 20 in a week. She’s my BABY cousin!

  14. Love your drawing… maybe you should think of going to school for your skills, Ha Ha =) Seriously though, everything looks delicious.. especially your dessert =)

  15. HAHA what, you haven’t heard of the Christmas mushroom?! 😛 guess you’re just a foodie.
    I was shoe shopping with a guy friend the other day and saw a pair of sneakers the same colors as that hat ERic is rocking, I kid you not. Sneakers for GUYS. Obviously meant to be a matching set.
    I was wondering what prompted your IG joining! YAYYY welcome to the addiction.
    That tempeh sammie looks so great, love the broc and pickles! I adore that drawing of your snack. I think I might frame it.
    Yogurt + ice cream = heaven.

Leave a Reply

