Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Five Things Friday # 2

38 Comments

I had fun with this last week, sooo…I’m doing it again. Enjoy!

 

Five Awesome Things I’ve Eaten Lately:

1. Dinner Wednesday night: homemade beef burger with spinach, pickles, honey mustard and ketchup. Parsnip fries on the side.

DSCF2831

2. Banana and egg white oats in a jar. The only positive thing to running out of Justin’s Vanilla Almond Butter.

DSCF2844

3. Clementines. Is anyone else getting addicted to these things?

S

4.The baked coconut shrimp I made for dinner last night. I followed this recipe: while good, I’m probably use unsweetened coconut next time – the sweetened was a bit of an overkill.

DSCF2855

5. Ginger Root Beer Zevia. Favourite flavour!

DSCF2856

My Top Five Restaurants Right Now:

1. Bella Jacks – In St. Thomas, Ontario. A little hole-in-the-wall, but quite possibly the best Mexican food ever. I don’t get the chance to go too often, but it’s been my favourite for years.

2. Fellini Koolini’s – London, Ontario. Eric and I held a dinner here before we moved, and it’s also where I had my graduation dinner when I got my undergraduate degree.

IMG_0283

My graduation dinner. Speech! Speech!

3. Wondersushi – Wonderland road, London. It’s where Eric and I had our first date, so of course it gets a mention. Smile

4. Sushi Eight – Brantford, Ontario. Considering that I’ve been going at least once a month, clearly it’s become the favourite in my current city.

5. Ben Thanh, London. Their Seafood Pad Thai is incredible.

Five Things I’ve Been Doing Since I Finished the Semester

1. Catching up on all my favourite TV shows. I’m now officially up to date on How I Met Your Mother, Dexter, Top Chef, and Glee. Priorities, people. I’ve also got the first season of American Horror Story ready to go – I’ve heard good things so I want to try it out!

2. Reading. The first day of vacation, I went to the library and loaded up:

DSCF2023

I’ve already finished Gone Girl (yay December goal!) and I loved it. While I love what I’m taking in school, it’s nice to be able to have time to read fiction again.

3. Deciding on what recipes I’m baking this weekend. I have a few weekends of cookie baking to make up for! I kind of live for Christmas cookies.

4. Getting all my Christmas wrapping done. And telling Instagram about it (follow me @betterwithsprinklesblog).

5. Coming down with a cold. Eric’s had one the last week or so, so of course, I’ve managed to catch it. Right when vacation starts. Le sigh.

Five Blogs I’m Particularly Adoring Right Now.

1. Amanda @ Running With Spoons – quite frankly, who doesn’t adore this girl? I’m pretty sure she’s actually a mind-reader, her posts are so relatable.

2. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin – Clearly, she gets points for living in London and going to the school I graduated from Smile with tongue out. I had been considering starting a blog for a long time when I stumbled across Chelsea’s. At the time, I had been reading a lot of the “big” blogs which all seemed so far away and untouchable to me. Finding Chelsea was a little bit of a “hey, maybe I can do this too!” So really, she was my blog inspiration Open-mouthed smile

3. Devon @ Health in Equilibrium – Brand new blogger, but already a fantastic one! Her mindset and her determination with her recovery is so admirable, and I know she’s going to kick the ED straight out her life. And I’m going to go up to Guelph sometime soon and she’s going to take me to the burrito place I’ve heard so much about Smile with tongue out

4 & 5. Courtney and Katie for their baby announcements! I was so happy for both of them reading their posts…I’m such a baby person, it’s ridiculous. Congratulations ladies!!

I may have to make these a weekly thing…there’s so many more blogs I want to talk about! But, then it would have to be fifty things Friday, and then we’d be here all day.

 

Christmas Challenge time!

I messed it up yesterday, so today I’m answering question number 20.

In my family, we usually do the traditional sort of meal for Christmas – turkey, potatoes, stuffing, veggies (sounds kinda Thanksgiving-y, doesn’t it?) but of course, I always look forward to the desserts. I usually make the dessert for my immediate family gathering, plus one for the extended family on Boxing Day. I never make the same thing twice!

Happy Friday!

<— Current favourite restaurant?

<— What are some blogs you’ve been loving lately?

38 thoughts on “Five Things Friday # 2

  1. GINGER ROOT BEER?? I have to find that stuff asap! I don’t know that I could pick a favorite restaurant (completely indecisive and dependent on my mood haha…although cheesecake factory is up there because that’s where boy and I had our first date and I’ve never had somethign I don’t like there), but maybe within the next two weeks…I know we’ll be eating out a fair amount…and blogs I’ve been loving besides yours, Devon’s, Amanda’s, and Chelsea’s? Mm Alex (therunwithin), Liv (lifeasliv), Jessie (jessielovestorun), Sarah (pickyrunner), Megan (runningonjava) and Hayley (runningonpumpkin) to name a few 🙂

    • All great blogs! And don’t forget yours too! Like I said, definitely going to have to be doing that again, I’ve got way too many that I love that need mentioning. 😀 And I think I’ve only been to cheesecake factory once or twice..I should try it again sometime!

  2. Thanks so much, Sam!! 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Thank you so much!! You are the sweetest ever!!! We are pretty excited over here too!

    I am almost out of my justins vanilla! So sad! I can’t get it around here! Boo! They need to sell online!

    Happy weekend girl!! ❤

  4. Aww I’m seriously blushing right now! 😀 I’m so glad you found my blog so that I could “meet” you. Your blog is one of my favourites too because you seem so down to earth and real – and your meals always look awesome. 😉 Some of my favourite blogs other than yours are Running with Spoons, Nourish and Flourish, Life’s a Bowl, and The Real Life RD.

    I’ve never been to Fellini Koolinis but I really want to since I LOVE Italian food. Bertoldi’s has always been my go-to Italian spot in London. My favourite restaurants are Blacktree, Garlic’s, Organic Works Bakery, Ichiban Sushi, and Spencer’s on the Waterfront.

    • Aww, well I’m glad you like mine too! I might have to find those other blogs, I don’t think I’m read them before.
      Bertoldi’s is another great one…it would make my top ten for sure. And now I’m going to have to add all those to my list of must-try’s!

      And I will let you know when I’m going to be in London for the Food and Wine show…a real life meetup needs to happen soon!

  5. I love that you listed some blogs to read. I already read most of them but it’s nice to get some more from bloggers I read, which means I’ll probably enjoy reading those ones too! Especially when you said the thing about not being able to relate to most of the big bloggers. They overwhelm me a little. I’ll admit, I have an entirely separate folder for them in my reader called “Big Time Bloggers” hahaha Have a great weekend 🙂

  6. I really want to read Gone Girl!! I must get a copy of it before I leave for my trip next week 🙂

  7. i couldn’t agree more with the blogs you love, I have been reading all of them for a while now. dude i adore parsnip fries, like how had I not have them before? I am dying to read Gone Girl, really want to read that one

  8. Squee! Oh girl, you don’t even know how much you’ve just made my day. I’ve got the big goofy grin happening, and I can’t even begin to tell you how much I adore you and your blog. I’m so, SO thankful to have stumbled across it because not only are you ridiculously sweet and wonderful, but the strength you’ve shown in overcoming your past struggles is absolutely amazing and never fails to inspire. Love you, girlie ❤ ❤

  9. Oh no I hope you feel better soon. Getting a cold around the holidays is the worst! I have been reading a lot lately too and I always get such new insights from books. Also, how good was the Dexter finale? I love that show and was seriously shaking in my boots watching the last episode haha

  10. Thanks for the shout out! Your blog will always be one of the ones I’m loving. That’s my fave flavour of Zevia too, so good! And can you get Justin’s in Canada or was that a Chicago find for you?

  11. I read Room! You have to let me know what you think… I had a hard time getting into it but after I got half way through I was addicted.

  12. This was a fun post- I might have to copy it soon if that’s okay with you :)! I LOVE Amanda, Chelsea and Courtney’s blog…another great one is Tara at sweatlikeapig.com! We have the same kinda Christmas meal planned but we also might throw in some gammon! Especially as we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving, I sure am excited to get my turkey fix along with all the trimmings! Have a wonderful weekend!

  13. WAIT Courtney is having a baby too?! I’m so flipping behind. Off to congratulate her like WHOAAA. It’s inspiring that both of these women who backed off intense exercise to reach this goal have reached it. Amazing!
    That coconut shrimp sounds awesome but you’re right about the sweetness of the coconut, I prob would’ve thought that was overkill too, and would have wanted unsweetened.
    That graduation dress is hot!

  14. I read Gaining a few months ago during the earlier days of my ana recovery. It was very insightful and helpful. Great choice!

  15. A homemade burger for dinner just can’t be beat!

  16. Love these type of posts. Your homemade burger dinner looks delicious!!!

    Have the most wonderful holiday weekend, Merry Christmas & Happy New Year hunnie xoox

  17. Parsnip fries? Awesome indeed! I specifically requested parsnips with Christmas dinner, I can’t wait 🙂 Room was SO good (and I asked for Gone Girl for Christmas, I can’t wait to read it!)

  18. Forgot to say, you will love ROOM! I read that book in 2 days!! Happy Saturday!! ❤

  19. Ahh!! I looooooooved the seafood pad thai at Ben Thahn. Mind you, at that point in my life I definitely divided the plate into four … I have yet to go looking for a good pad thai joint in Ottawa, but I should definitely get on that. It’s been too long!!
    Also, I’m going grocery shopping tomorrow and you may have very well convinced me that I need to be making some homemade burgers. 😉

Leave a Reply

