Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Christmas in Pictures.

32 Comments

Christmas Eve

DSCF2878

Christmas Eve with the boy’s family.

DSCF2881

Brothers!

DSCF2882

Awesome spinach salad with blueberries, mandarin oranges, feta, almonds and a poppyseed balsamic vinaigrette.

DSCF2887

non-traditional dinner of orange chicken on basmati rice.

DSCF2889

Cheesecake for dessert!

Christmas Day

IMG_0586

IMG_0595

IMG_0593

DSCF2891

Mom loving her new gravity chair!

IMG_0604

Dinner time!

DSCF2906

DSCF2908

Turkey, a root vegetable bake, mashed potatoes and peas. Gravy and cranberries added post-picture.

DSCF2898

A Bouche De Noel I made for dessert.

DSCF2917

Delicious.

Boxing Day

I had my extended family celebration yesterday. I didn’t really break out the camera, except to grab a picture of the dessert I made (the most important part, right?)

IMG_20121226_224625

A gingerbread trifle made with vanilla pudding and chocolate whipped cream. Dinner was fantastic – turkey, roast beef, ham, scalloped potatoes, roasted potatoes, deviled eggs, and cooked carrots. To go with my trifle, there was a peanut butter and chocolate dessert and a pecan apple cheesecake – of course, I tried little bits of everything.

Overall, I had an amazing Christmas. Of course, Santa was good to me (AKA: I got spoiled!) but the most important part was spending time with family and loved ones. I approached the holidays with the attitude that they only come once a year, so I enjoyed them to the fullest – overdoing it on desserts and all. But no regrets – that’s what the holidays are for.

IMG_0585

But today Eric and I are heading back home and back to routine. Well, almost – we still have a week and a half of vacation left! I hope everyone had a truly fabulous holiday.

<— How was Christmas? Favourite gift given/received?

<— Anyone have New Years plans yet? I have absolutely no idea what we’re doing this year.

 

P.S. The pro-looking pictures from Christmas Day? My dad. He’s turning into quite the budding photographer!

32 thoughts on “Christmas in Pictures.

  1. Yummmm so much good food! It sounds like you had an awesome holiday! I agree that while presents are nice, spending time with family is more important.

  2. That looks lovely, hun! I’m glad that you guys had such a nice holiday together with all your friends and family! Have a safe trip home 🙂

  3. I’m so glad you had a great time, loved and was loved, and truly ENJOYED yourself. It really does look fabulous. 😀

  4. Looks wonderful. My favorite present was an ornament of the chapel where we were just married. I love hanging memories on the tree. 🙂

  5. It’s great to hear that you had such an amazing Christmas and let yourself enjoy every minute of it, Sam 😀 We’ve got another year to go before the next opportunity, so making the most of it is definitely important! My Christmas was pretty awesome, and I definitely got spoiled, but it was the time with my parents that I loved the most.

  6. Looks like an amazing time with family. I think the spread looks bomb!

  7. Yum, that all looks so good! The dessert you made looks great.

  8. Love all the pictures! What is A Bouche De Noel? It looks delicious!!

  9. That bouche de noel is beautiful! Good for you enjoying every minute of the holidays with no guilt – I did the same thing, and it’s the best feeling. I am trying to get back to a normal routine too, but only for a couple days until this weekend! My college friends are visiting and we have big new years plans in the city. January will be a huge wake up call 😉

  10. Your Christmas looks amazing! Especially all those desserts. 😉 I’ve never heard of a Bouche de Noel though. What is that? Translated it means “Christmas mouth” haha.

    My favourite gift that I received was a Cuisinart 12 cup food processor! I can’t wait to start making my own almond butter with it.

    • Definitely just looked it up again – it’s “buche” – my bad! It’s also called a Yule Log; a rolled-up chocolate sponge cake with chocolate whipped cream in the middle.

      So jealous! I’d love to make nut butters at home, but I just have a mini processor so it would never work. I’m sure yours will be delicious!

  11. I had a wonderful Christmas. Glad you did too!

  12. Glad to see you had a great Christmas, Sam! That dessert looks divine…as does that cheesecake! I can’t believe New Years Eve is already upon us! Although my plans are still up in there, I would be pretty happy with something low key- NYE is always so overhyped and hey, we have 52 more weekends coming up to go crazy ;)!

  13. Is it weird I’m drooling over that salad? LOL.

  14. Looks like you had a wonderful Christmas! Yum to all of those desserts, they sound and look amazing!

  15. Yum! That spinach salad looks great:) Glad you had a good Christmas:)

  16. What a beautiful Christmas! The spinach salad looks amazing, as does the Buche de Noel! I’m so impressed! It’s a dessert that has been on my “to-do” list for years. It’s safe to say that you’ve officially inspired me!

    I hope you made it home safely today! ❤

  17. Pingback: Rehashing December. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

