Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Would You Want To Know?

37 Comments

Good morning! I hope everyone’s been having a fabulous weekend.

Today, I’m having a day of pure relaxation. After a busy holiday week, I’m looking forward to nothing but lounging today. That’s what Christmas break is for, right?

Yesterday I was up early and off to do my grocery shopping. By the time I got home, I had approximately 20 minutes to put groceries away, change and be out the door again, so no grocery layout for you this week. I do, however, have a meal plan:

  • Saturday: spaghetti
  • Sunday: Tina’s tortellini soup
  • Monday: lobster tails, rice and veggies (seems like an appropriate New Years Eve dinner, doesn’t it?)
  • Tuesday: turkey meatball subs
  • Wednesday: chicken, sweet potatoes and veggies
  • Thursday: Pork and sweet potato gumbo
  • Friday: leftovers/out

After almost a full week off from cooking, I’m happy to get back in my kitchen again.

DSCF2971

Evidently Smile (Yes, seriously loving that apron).

Baby Shower

Although it was snowing yesterday, the roads weren’t too bad, so I made the trip home for the shower. My cousin’s wife (what is it when your cousin gets married? Are they now your cousin, are they your cousin-in-law…?) had a bit of a health scare earlier this week, but fortunately she and baby are both doing great.

When we arrived, I hadn’t eaten in about 5 hours and was starving.

DSCF2031

Hello, cookie tray. I went right for a peanut butter blossom – quite possibly one of the best cookies in existence. After I had eaten my cookie, I went for the rest of the food. Hey, dessert first is ok once in a while!

DSCF2033

Baked brie (cranberry sauce and puff pastry. So good!), crackers, and mixed fruit. I finished this plate and went back for another.

Of course, you need games for a baby shower, right? The first game we played was a guessing game for how big the mom is – we had to cut a ribbon at the length we thought Melissa was around her stomach. Apparently, I have a good eye; I had it almost perfect. So I won the first prize! They were wrapped, so I went for the one with the most interesting shape.

DSCF2036

A cute little candy dish filled with mints! I showed it to Eric when I got home, and his response was “it’s like a Grandma jar!” It kind of is – I just need to fill it with Werther’s originals and you’ve got my childhood and my grandma’s right there. Smile with tongue out

The second game was a “what’s in the diaper?” game. Kind of gross, but clever! My foodie skills failed me at this one – I only got one right.

DSCF2034

My mom ended up winning that one – she got a cute little pen and notebook set.

While Melissa opened gifts, we played baby shower BINGO; seriously, I love games. I need to play board games or something more often.

DSCF2038

Melissa got a lot of really nice gifts! Because she and my cousin are keeping the gender a surprise, they got a lot of whites, greens and yellows for clothes and blankets. I love that – I’ve never been a fan of strictly blue or pink.

Would you want to know?

Between my family and seeing all the pregnancies/new babies popping up in HLBs, I’ve been thinking lately about whether or not I’d want to know the sex of the baby. While I love surprises, I think the wait would drive me absolutely insane! But at the same time, I’d want to keep the baby’s things as gender-neutral as possible, which is hard to do when everyone knows the baby’s sex.

I think I know what I would want to do though; last spring, I went to a “gender-reveal” baby shower.

I love this idea! One person knows the gender and orders the cake for the shower. When the couple cut into the cake, pink cake means it’s a girl and blue means it’s a boy. Such a fun way to figure out the baby gender! And if it’s at the shower, gifts have already been bought so you don’t have to worry about excessive pink or blue. Seriously, adorable.

It should also be noted that I am nowhere near being ready to have kids yet (23 and still in school? I think I’ll wait) but I have a planning sort of personality so I tend to think of these things really early. It’s just fun to think about!

Lunch Part 2

Of course, I can’t be at my parents without my mom offering to make me food. We’ll call this lunch, part 2.

DSCF2041

An open-faced turkey and tomato sandwich with a bit of Miracle Whip. Seriously, the best thing about leftover turkey is turkey sandwiches. It would have been perfect if there had been a bit of cranberry sauce left over too!

Dinner

After my drive back (which actually wasn’t too bad. I kind of love long drives by myself) I took a short nap on the couch before putting together a late dinner.

DSCF2975

I made a beefed-up meat sauce (a jar of tomato sauce, an onion, 2 garlic cloves, 1 chopped bell pepper, 1 lb ground pork, 1 can of mushrooms, spinach, and Italian seasoning) over whole wheat spaghettini with Parmesan on top. Not bad, considering that I hadn’t made a proper dinner in a while.

Now, I’m off to enjoy a lazy Sunday. Hope you have a great one!

<— What you want to know the gender of a baby beforehand? What do you think of gender-reveal cakes?

<— Do you like long drives? I find them pretty relaxing, but anything over 2 hours and I’ll be needing some sort of break in the middle.

37 thoughts on “Would You Want To Know?

  1. Haha my grandma always has a jar of Werther’s Originals around too!

    And that looks like a fun shower. I’m glad your cousin’s wife and the baby are doing well! 🙂 I would definitely want to know the sex of the baby beforehand – it would drive me crazy not knowing!

  2. Such a fun afternoon and I LOVE the idea of a gender reveal cake…first time I’m seeing it! I don’t think I want to know the gender of my baby-to-be. Although I usually am not a fan of surprises, my baby will be an exception! I say all this now but who knows when the time comes if I’ll be able to stand the suspense!

    Love long drives too- so nice to just get lost in my thoughts and listen to music. Fortunately I am never the one driving (no license yet) so I can afford to zone out without it posing a health risk :)!

  3. Ahhh showers are so fun!! I think I’d want to know too… I can’t keep secrets or stand feeling like I don’t know everything!

  4. I had a werthers the other day! First one in like a year!

  5. First off, that apron in adorable on you. And I LOVE the idea of a gender reveal cake. If an important announcement needs to be made, why not say it with cake? Students should get their marks via cake, people should get hired and fired via cake. From now on, all things should be communicated via cake!

    • lmao I just died laughing a little. I need to suggest this to my professors for next semester. And tell the boyfriend that he needs to propose with cake. And my landlord that I will deliver cheques via cake. This could work.

  6. Starting with dessert? I definitely like your thinking, Sam 😀 I’ve never had a peanut butter blossom (for obvious reasons), but soooo many people say it’s one of their favorite cookies, so I wonder if I could make one with almond butter? Definitely something to consider.

    And as of right now, I’m leaning towards not wanting to know the sex of my baby, but seeing as I really don’t like not knowing things, that might all change when I’m actually in that situation. That gender reveal cake is seriously one of the neatest ideas ever!

  7. I love your apron, super cute! And the idea of a reveal cake is a great one. Did you see what Steph at Steph’s Bite By Bite did? She had a big box full of balloons. She opened the box and everyone saw the sex of the baby (boy) by the blue balloons floating in the sky. So sweet!

  8. That’s an awesome way to spend a Saturday! And you look fabulous in your new apron 😉 I would definitely want to know the gender of the child…too much of a planner to be surprised, but I LOVE the idea of a gender reveal cake so that I don’t end up with a ton of pink or blue stuff…I’ve never heard of the before but I will definitely keep it in mind! And I don’t mind long drives by myself, since then I can sing at the top of my lungs without any complaints…but I also like company since I get bored easily so I’ll go with a nice mix of both 🙂

  9. I am loving the idea of that gender-reveal cake, it’s the first time I have seen anything like it! And goodness, what a most perfect way to spend a Saturday, how fun! Everyone looks happy and you are rocking that apron for sure 😉 Lovin it
    Hmm, I say I would want to know the sex of the baby… I think… Ahh now I can’t decide! My mom never knew before and she was happy with her decision x3. So I say YES I would for now, but I am sure my mind could change as the years go by!

    • That’s true, I go back and forth on my decision all the time! My mom didn’t find out either, so it was a surprise both times. My doctor actually predicted that I was going to a boy and smaller than my older brother when he was born…and she was wrong on both counts!

  10. I loooooove that apron!!! I have been cupcake (design) obsessed lately 🙂

  11. Baby showers are so exciting. I haven’t been to one in forever and I think it will still be quite some time before any of my friends start having them! I definitely want to know the sex of my baby as soon as I can find out. I do like the idea of the cake reveal at the shower so you get more gender neutral gifts. So cute!

  12. i love the idea of gender revealing cakes.looks like a lot of fun!

  13. I hate road trips! I think gender reveal baby showers are cool. Makes it exciting for everybody.

  14. PB blossoms are seriously the best! That brie and cranberry pastry looks to die for too. So does the leftover turkey. I love the gender reveal cake idea! Although colored cake kinda freaks me out 😛

  15. Sounds like fun! And OMG baked brie is literally the best 🙂

  16. It was my great aunt and great grandmother who rocked the Werther’s. They always made us ask “Am I worth a Werther’s today?”. (Answer: How can you say no to cuties willing to say that?!)
    I’d like to say that I wouldn’t want to know the gender of my kid (which is true), or that I’d like to keep it a secret from everyone else (which is also true), but honestly? Don’t think I’m physically capable. haha.
    And fabulous dinner — I love how much you inspire me to do awesome things in the kitchen. 😉

  17. I completely agree with you about peanut butter blossoms – they’re definitely a leading contender for best cookie ever! Also, I adore your cupcake apron. How cute!

    When/if I get pregnant, I’m SURE I’ll want to know the gender of my baby as soon as possible. I would go nuts waiting in anticipation, and I’d also want to begin buying cute baby clothes and nursery furniture. That’s the fun part of pregnancy, right?! I think the cake idea is really cute!

    Hope you enjoyed the rest of your Sunday! The spaghettini you made last night looks amazing! ❤ xoxo

  18. I HAD to know early with my son. I don’t know how people can wait! Talk about patience!

Leave a Reply

