Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW #16: What I Ate on NYE.

45 Comments

I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday!

I’ve literally been doing nothing all week (well, nothing strenuous or time consuming, anyways) and it’s halfway through the week. Why is it that vacation always goes by so quickly?

But, it’s time for the weekly party that is WIAW.

Thanks to Jenn for doing such a lovely job with her hosting duties, as usual!

As I’ve said before, New Years Eve was definitely a low-key one around here. But, I look for any excuse for a special meal, so I made sure to put together a fun dinner for the boy and I. The rest of the day:

DSCF2808

Old picture, but the same thing. Oats topped with no-sugar-added strawberry jam, nut butter and 1 egg + about 1/4 cup egg whites. Delicious every time.

DSCF2994

Lunch was leftovers of Tina’s tortellini soup that I made for dinner Sunday night. I’m usually not a huge leftover fan, but I make an exception for soup, chili or lasagna. It always tastes better after a night in the fridge.

DSCF2996

A clementine for dessert. Still working away at the 5 lb box I bought a few weeks ago.

DSCF2990

Random handfuls of baby carrots munched on throughout the day. There is nothing better than carrots when I feel like crunching.

NYE Lobster Dinner

When I was at the grocery store over the weekend, I noticed they were having a massive sale on small, 2-3 ounce lobster tails. I love lobster, but I’ve never even attempted to prepare it – no time like the present, right?

DSCF2999

I know people complain about the texture and appearance of raw meat, but really – raw seafood is worse. So gross looking!

DSCF3003

Better!

To prepare the lobster, I pulled out the bottom shell (unpleasant task) and brushed them with a marinade of melted butter, minced garlic, lemon juice, salt and pepper. I cooked them at 425 for about 15 minutes – next time, I would reduce it to about 12 minutes, they came out a tad overcooked. Nonetheless, they were delicious and a fun last meal of 2012!

For the rice, I cooked up brown rice with salt, saffron and a touch of butter. Steamed broccoli on the side.

DSCF3006

M & Ms for dessert – this handful x 4…or 5. Yea, I like M&Ms.

For the majority of the night, we cuddled on the couch and watched TV shows and movies. Over the holiday, we had been watching the first season of American Horror Story.

(source)

This show was seriously intense. I think I preferred the beginning of the season to the end (I thought the general wrap-up of the series was a tad weak) but overall, it was a good show. I’m definitely thinking that I’m going to have to catch up on season 2 when I get a chance!

Before we got to midnight, Eric and I broke out one of his Christmas presents:

DSCF3009

Shots and Ladders! I’m sure you can figure out the premise – when you down the snake, you take a shot. It took us a surprisingly long time to get through our second game – I’d love to get more people together to play. And yes, Black Cherry Zevia as my chaser – I was drinking this, so the flavour combo worked oddly well.

The Countdown

Around 11:30, we walked downtown to watch the countdown. Brantford had a little party/concert going on in Harmony Square.

DSCF2042

They have this rink open all winter – it kind of makes me wish I could ice skate to some degree. Fun fact about me: I did figure skating when I was about 5-6 years old. I did not hold on to those skills whatsoever. You cannot get me in ice skates nowadays; I would give it approximately 30 seconds before I was on my ass.

DSCF2043

Brantford town crier to do the official countdown; I had no idea Brantford had a town crier. He actually looks a lot like the one from London: is it a requirement that all town criers are old guys with a beard?

Of course, what’s a NYE countdown without fireworks?

DSCF2045

Beautiful.

We walked home quickly after that – I realized that the band they had playing was a Tragically Hip cover band. I don’t care if it’s unpatriotic of me, I absolutely cannot stand The Tragically Hip.

I had an unpictured snack when I got home – crackers and cream cheese. My secret for avoiding any sort of hangover or sick feelings after drinking: chug water and eat something carb-y before bed. Foolproof.

I was in bed around 1:30 pm – surprisingly early, because last year I’m pretty sure I was crawling into bed around 4:00 am. But that’s a quiet night for yea! I don’t really have anything big planned today, just thinking that I’m going to head out for a walk and go to the bookstore to buy my books for next semester. I might pull out the yoga or a workout video today too. Should be a nice day – I hope you have one too!

<— Can you ice-skate?

<— What’s a band that you absolutely cannot stand? I’m not a big fan of U2, either…sorry Bono, you do nothing for me.

45 thoughts on “WIAW #16: What I Ate on NYE.

  1. Awesome NYE darlin! I was a figure skater from 9-13 and then again in college haha…still love to go to the rink and mess around every now and then 🙂

  2. gah everyone had amazing seafood on NYE, pretty jealous over here. Skating is so tough, I am pretty bad at it and always end up so sore! haha

  3. I would prob fall on my butt if I tried to ice skate, its been so long! I always want to but dont lol 🙂

  4. Sounds like a great NYE and I am impressed at that dinner…sounds so gourmet and I bet it tasted even better :)! Believe it or not, I was pretty good at ice skating when I was growing up…too bad those days are long gone!

  5. I can’t stand The Beatles. Oh. Or Neil Young. I know, I know. I blame my parents. I was raised that way. OH. And the song The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald. Blahhhhhh.
    I went to Loblaws after work on NYE and there was a lady there selling the lobster tails. The pile on the table in front of her was HUUUUGE!!! I was severely tempted to buy some, but then I remembered that I don’t know how to cook them and that I really didn’t like lobster all that much the only time I had it. haha. What can I say, I’m a girl who loves a sale!! 😉
    I have to say, Sam, your holiday seasons was one of my favourites to read about. Nothing super over-the-top, just good fun all around!! Definitely hope it jump starts a great next semester for you!!

  6. Leftover lasagna. Gah! Seriously one of my favorite things. That and cold leftover pizza for breakfast after a night of partying. Ahh the good old teenage years 😀

    I’m actually pretty sure that I have picture of me skating when I was like 3 years old. I have no idea why my parents decided to start me that early, considering they immigrated from Poland and skating isn’t really big there. I guess they were trying to ensure that I became a legit Canadian? Ha! Either way, I love skating, although I have to use hockey skates because figure skates drive me nuts.

  7. Happy New Year!

    Look at that lobster! You ate well on NYE!

    I also spy zevia, love! Glad you had a great new year love!

  8. That’s so awesome that you cooked lobster for the first time! And the way you prepared it sounds delicious. You’ve given me some inspiration to finally try cooking lobster myself too. 😀

    I’m always a bit wobbly when I first get on skates, but after a few minutes it becomes easier. I’m always SO sore the next day though haha.

  9. Wow! Your breakfast really made me curious. How do you prepare oats with eggs? Do you fry the eggs with oil?

  10. Soup always tastes better the next day! Jealous of your lobster dinner…my NYE dinner was Costco pizza! 😉 I can semi ice skate. As in I can shuffle along without falling but will be on my butt if I try to pick up speed at all.

  11. Sounds like a fun night! I used to be able to ice skate… I probably can’t anymore 😛

  12. I used to take ice skating lessons when I was like 7 but I think I’d be pretty awful at it now!

    I love Zevia, but I haven’t tried the black cherry yet! Is it a good flavor?

  13. YES carbs after drinking and before bed are soooo key! And they really make the tummy feel so very wonderful 🙂
    So glad you had a good NYE and props to you for the lobster making, woman! Lobster is reminding me of Gone Girl since Amy and her husband (why is his name escaping me?) ate lobsters on their anniversary every year, haha.

  14. ugh HATE ice skating
    a) I have no balance
    b) sharp things are not allowed around me
    c) I’ve seen too many accidents
    d) i don’t like falling

  15. sounds like a good nye ! and that game looks awesome i gotta get it! i always overcook seafood a couple mins to much bc it just never looks done to me lol

  16. I CAN ice skate and I am dragging my fiance’s ass with me this weekend to go!

  17. Looks like a fun night! I can’t stand Dave Matthews Band or the band Train. Oy.

  18. Sounds like a great NYE! Um yes, carbs are needed after drinking, they are all I crave ha! I’m glad you watched American Horror Story, I LOVE that show! I agree the ending was a little week, if you start season 2 keep in mind it’s completely different! But, it’s also quite good!

  19. I had lobster on New Years Eve too!! Also, I can ice skate, and I too cannot stand Bono. I also don’t like Nickleback, or many current “rock” bands.

  20. Oh man girl, what an awesome NYE! Shoots & ladders sounds like such a fun game!

  21. What a great day of eats and events ;). Amazing job on the lobster!

  22. looks like such a good time! shots and ladders looks like fun!

  23. Pingback: Rehashing January. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

