Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Loading Up.

22 Comments

Good morning! My final day of couch surfing is upon me. I’m back to real life (well, student life) tomorrow. It’s one of those situations where I don’t want it to end, but at the same time, I’m definitely ready to go back to school. I love my couch, but I’m getting a little restless over here. Smile with tongue out

And I loved the feedback on yesterday’s post! Anyone who picks up a copy of Gaining, let me know what you think.

Groceries

I’m going to be out of town next weekend (heading back to London to visit with my parents for a few days) so I probably won’t have time to do my usual drive-all-over-town-to-every-grocery-store possible trip that I usually do on Saturdays. Yes, I am a bargain shopper, to say the least.

So, I took a bit of extra cash with me when I went grocery shopping yesterday to keep our fridge extra stocked – I’ll do a mini grocery trip when I get back for fresh stuff. but for the most part, my kitchen is jam-packed right now.

Proteins

I’m going to continue to work on muscle gain when I’m back at the gym this week, so a lot of my focus with shopping this week was stocking up on the protein-packed stuff.

DSCF3044

  • canned tuna
  • ground turkey
  • egg whites
  • 2% plain Greek yogurt (not my usual Oikos, but they were 50% off)
  • tilapia
  • lamb chops
  • flat of eggs
  • deli chicken slices
  • whole chicken
  • cottage cheese

Yea…that’s a lot of protein.

Produce

One of these days, I’ll actually take the veggies out of the plastic. But as it so happens, I got home around lunch and I was too hungry to take the time to do so Smile with tongue out

DSCF3051

  • white potatoes
  • spaghetti squash
  • tomatoes
  • bananas
  • broccoli
  • bell peppers
  • cucumber
  • avocado
  • frozen brussel sprouts (I love them, but the boyfriend wouldn’t touch a brussel sprout if you paid him. So it’s easier to buy frozen and heat them up for me once in a while)
  • fresh spinach
  • frozen spinach
  • canned mushrooms

So the boyfriend has lunch:

DSCF3053

  • frozen meals
  • frozen french fries

He likes what he likes!

Miscellaneous

DSCF3058

  • Wetjet stuff
  • peanut butter (mixing it up and going with crunchy this time)
  • no sugar added blueberry jam (easily the best kind)
  • highlighters – I go through highlighters like it’s my job. You should see my textbooks – they’re so colourful. I always end up needing new ones every semester.
  • lasagna noodles
  • ziplock bags
  • mint sauce (for the aforementioned lamb)
  • bagel thins

Yea, I was running out of room to put stuff. There may be a spaghetti squash and a bag of potatoes on the floor…

Meal Plan

Back to regular routine means back to planned dinners every week. Is it weird that planning out the menu and grocery shopping is one of my favourite parts of the week?

  • Saturday: lamb chops with mint sauce, baked potatoes and broccoli
  • Sunday: tilapia, rice and salad
  • Monday: roasted chicken and salad
  • Tuesday: pork tenderloin and veggies
  • Wednesday: chicken and veggies
  • Thursday: my favourite lasagna
  • Friday: whatever my mom is cooking for me Smile with tongue out

Lunch

Back to that lunch: big grocery hauls like this tend to take me about 3 hours, so I’m more than ready to eat by the time I get in.

DSCF3062

Cooked brussels with coconut oil, 2 over-easy eggs + 1/4 cup egg whites, raw baby carrots and peanut butter. Yes, it is random. But it was awesome.

Dinner

I’ve only had lamb a handful of times, and I’m definitely never cooked it. But when I saw it was on sale, I thought it would be fun to test it out.

DSCF3063

I approached it the same way I do steak: salt and pepper both sides (plus I added oregano – I was going for a bit of Greek flavour), cooked stovetop in a bit of olive oil on high heat until pink in the middle. A little dash of mint sauce to finish and it turned out really well! I think it’d be fun to make a sort of cream sauce with the mint. I’ll have to keep that in mind for next time.

I baked a sweet potato on the side – in the oven, for once. I usually go the lazy route and nuke it in the microwave, but potatoes really are much better when you take the time to throw them in the oven for an hour. And some steamed broccoli on the side for some greenery.

Dinner was complete with Saturday night’s movie – Martha Marcy May Marlene. Has anyone seen that movie? The main character is played by Elizabeth Olsen; I think she beats out her sisters in the acting department. Slight frustration: one of those open ended endings-that’s-not-an-ending (annoying, right Caitlin?) Nonetheless, it was an interesting movie.

Todays plans involve a bit of food prep for the week, maybe some yoga/stretching and getting started on my readings for the upcoming week. Enjoy the last day of the weekend!

<— crunchy or smooth nut butter? I’ buy smooth 95% of the time, but I felt like something new.

<— Do you nuke potatoes in the microwave or do you take the time to bake them?

22 thoughts on “Loading Up.

  1. Nice grocery haul, Sam! Love a full fridge like that- meal options are endless! When it comes to nut butter, I am a smooth girl- crunchy gets a bit too messy in my mouth haha! As for potatoes, I always bake them because believe it or not, we have never owned a microwave! My mom is very anti-them because of the radiation!

    Have a great Sunday :)!

  2. I definitely go crunch!! And sweet potatoes if im in a hurry, i use the microwave, but I like to make sweet potato fries more!

  3. Mmm I’m a much bigger fan of smooth nut butters, but I think I’ll get crunchy sometime soon to change it up. And I’m usually too lazy to roast potatoes in the oven (or too hungry) but I usually end up enjoying them more if I take the time to roast them…go figure haha

  4. dude loading up on the protein love it! I know you are doing a meal plan with your fitness plan now and it seems very similar to mine… high protein. I am taking some ideas from your haul for my shops. Cheap protein can be tough to come by.

    • It’s true, I’m hoping I don’t have to raise the grocery budget for the next few weeks. I’m very reliant on eggs and protein powder for my protein sources – and I always look for marked-down meet at the grocery store and throw it in the freezer.

  5. I love grocery shopping and love seeing what others buy at the grocery store! I don’t buy nearly enough protein. Need to start experimenting with different meats definitely. That’s funny what your boyfriend eats but awesome that you guys make it work having totally different needs food-wise!

  6. I’m the opposite of you, I always thought I liked crunchy better, but I’m transitioning into smooth. Do you like the Kraft natural stuff? I always buy PC peanut butter because it’s cheaper and is just peanuts, but the other stuff intrigues me…

  7. I like baked potatoes better when they’re actually baked in an oven, but I never have time! Microwave is almost as good 🙂

  8. I love how I can tell that you went to two different places based on the PC and Compliments brands. haha. I’m a PC/compliments brand lover to, and as such, those are my favourite greek yogurt and bagel thin brands (and lovelovelove those pink 50% off stickers with a passion!!!!) so this haul gets my double thumb-up!! 😉

  9. ALWAYS rake the time to bake potatoes! They taste like poo in the microwave.

  10. Your meal planning is an inspiration, Sam! Can I hire you to do mine, too? 😉 I’m loving this week’s grocery haul – especially all that protein. Grow muscles, grow! I bought two pounds of chicken tenders, 2 dozen eggs + a carton of egg whites, and salmon burgers this week. I often feel like I’m shopping for an army, but nope! Just me!

    I’m definitely a smooth peanut butter gal, however I’ll occasionally buy a jar of chunky to jazz things up. The key is *always* having smooth on hand, just in case the chunky doesn’t cut it.

    I hope you had a wonderful weekend! ❤

  11. That’s a lot of protein!!! Holy crap! Haha, I know what you mean about boys wanting what they want when it comes to food. I have so much trouble cooking for my boyfriend sometimes. He hates almost every single vegetable. It gets aggravating, because I feel like I have to limit myself a lot, but I’ve gotten used to it by now and have found some great healthy meals that we both enjoy.

Leave a Reply

