Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Froyo Prepares You For Anything.

38 Comments

Happy Monday! For all my fellow students going back to school today, I hope it’s getting off to a great start!

Week of Workouts

So I had planned to ease back into workouts last week, buuut…it didn’t really happen. I went for a couple of walks and did a bit of stretching, and otherwise enjoyed another couch week. This last week was the true definition of “staycation” for the boyfriend and I, so I made sure to enjoy it.

When it came to stretching, I wanted to focus on my hips. I am the least flexible person on the planet, but it’s particularly bad there. I followed this routine from Paige, which seemed to help a lot – I felt nice and stretched out afterwards.

But, I am ready to head back to the gym and get some intensity going again. I’m starting This Fit Chick’s Slim and Sculpt Elite program with an upper body workout this morning. I haven’t been to my gym in almost 3 weeks, I’m starting to miss it!

Dinner

The boyfriend and I are big salmon eaters, but I rarely cook other fish at home. So when I saw fresh tilapia on sale at Zehr’s last weekend, I decided to mix it up.

If you’re going to drink wine with a fish dinner, it makes sense to go for white, right? So I decided to incorporate that into the dish itself.

Wine-Poached Tilapia

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2-4 tilapia filets
  • 1 cup white wine (a good one – something you would actually drink)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning (if you don’t have that, use 1/4 teaspoon basil and 1/4 teaspoon oregano)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. On the stovetop, add olive oil to a cast-iron skillet and bring to medium-low heat. Add lemon juice and white wine.

2. Season tilapia with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning and add to skillet. Cook for approximately 5 minutes, until fish is white around the edges.

DSCF3068

  • 3. Carefully flip fish and place skillet in the oven. Cook for about 15 minutes or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

And that’s it!

DSCF3069

Super simple. I love the flavour wine brings to fish – simple and light.

DSCF3071

A side salad and brown rice to round out dinner.

Yesterday, I spent a good chunk of time getting ready to go back to classes. Beginning the assigned chapters and getting my stuff organized. After dinner, I mentally prepped myself the best way I know how:

DSCF3075

Froyo prepares you for anything, right? And yes – there is froyo under the mountain of candy. I got a mix of peppermint snowflake and ginger spice cookie froyo, with mini turtles, peanut butter chips, Reese’s Pieces, iced animal crackers, sprinkles, and dark chocolate sauce. I have a ridiculous amount of froyo gift cards (courtesy of the boyfriend…yay Christmas presents!) so this is just the beginning :-p Easily a great way to wrap up Winter Break!

Have a great Monday!

<— Are you flexible? Any muscle that’s particularly tight for you? My hamstrings are pretty awful as well.

<— Are iced animal crackers actually a thing? Because I’m a tad obsessed with them.

38 thoughts on “Froyo Prepares You For Anything.

  1. Fro yo is the answer to anything– that looks like a cup of heaven :)! I am so tight in my adductors right now- I’ve been stretching them and staying off running so hopefully they’ll loosen up ASAP…I am dreading doing squats in the state they are in now! Hope you have a great first day back Sam!

  2. Um froyo most definitely does prepare you for anything and everything, and I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who sometimes gets more excited to load up on the candy bar over the froyo (Joe always teases me about my candy to froyo ratio…if I don’t have a huge mix of candy in each bite, I am not a happy camper 😉 ). I am incredibly inflexible, so I’ve been working on that with yoga and foam rolling (which was both a fabulous and horrendous Christmas present, since owwwwwwww it hurts sometimes)…and iced animal crackers are one of my favorite treats around 🙂

    • I’m the same way! A little bit of froyo, massive amounts of candy. :-p And yes! So painful but you know it’s working!

      I’ve never seen the crackers around here, I may have to see if I can order them online or something!

  3. Ummm you’re right. Froyo prepares you for anything. I don’t even want to tell you how much froyo I can down… It’s embarrassing. Yours looks exactly like mind would if I got froyo. Which reminds me… I should probably get some soon 🙂

  4. Talapia is my favorite fish! This recipe looks great!

  5. Oh my, that fro yo looks incredible! Yum. Great job on the fish, I love trying new things and looks like it was super tasty.

  6. Glad the routine helped you!
    I really need some froyo in my life. I think there’s a Menchie’s in my new town, too. I think it’s time to explore that 😉

  7. I’ve never seen iced animal crackers, but I’m a sucker for frosting on anything so I hope they’re becoming a thing! I prepped myself for going back to work today with chocolate cupcakes… I almost, aaaaaalmost had one for breakfast this morning, but I figured I should probably try something a little more nutritious… so I packed one with me for a morning snack instead 😀

  8. Yum I love tilapia! I never cook fish for myself – it scares me – but always order it at restaurants. That froyo is totally my style, especially the pb chips. Yoga has helped my flexibility immensely and I have a super bendy spine, but my legs are still really tight most of the time.

  9. I am soooo not as flexible as I used to be! Stretching really helps, I need to get back into doing it more regularly. And your froyo looks sooo good! I’ve been craving it like crazy lately, a new place is supposed to open a couple blocks from me and I can’t wait to try it! I’m all about the toppings too 🙂

  10. Haha, is there even any yogurt under there? I seriously need to find a self-serve froyo place, I’ve never even been to one! Flexibility is a great thing to work on. I’ve always been flexible because I was a dancer, but my dad has noticed a huge improvement in his mobility since he started yoga

  11. It’s been far too long since I’ve had frozen yoghurt.

  12. Ineed to do batter about stretching. I got a massage last weekend and the guy told me my quands and IT bands are bad. which I knew.

    Love that tilapia! Iusually marinate mine in tequila… need to try wine!

  13. That fro yo is from Yogurty’s, isn’t it? 😀 I went there last week and tried the peppermint snowflake flavour – LOVE!

    Also your fish looks good. It makes me want to give tilapia a second chance. I tried tilapia a few years ago from the Saugeen cafeteria (bad idea!) and it was terrible so I haven’t had it since. 😛

  14. I don’t really like tilapia! I prefer something like Salmon or Halibut! If I’m going to spend money on seafood, it’s gotta be the good stuff 🙂

  15. I have never heard of wine poaching fish but what a cool idea. now all I want is froyo, drooling over here

  16. Your dinner AND especially your dessert look awesome! The tilapia sounds delicious, and my boyfriend and I are also big on salmon. Good luck on being back at school!

  17. Pingback: WIAW: Messy Bowls and Cooking With Booze. « Better With Sprinkles

  18. Bulk Barn has chocolate covered animal crackers — working up the nerve to try some!! 😉
    I think that actuallly starting to REALLY miss the gym means that you rested a perfect amount, regardless of your plan. Your body knows what’s right.
    And hoooooooly heck are my hamstrings ever tight!! I need to be stretching them more diligenly FOR SURE!! I am flexible, so I often forget to stretch as well as I should. Need to get on that!!

    • I actually got chocolate covered animal crackers at a chocolate shop a month or two ago, and yeah – they were amazing. I totally recommend them!

      That’s what I figure too! My body and mind have rested adequately, so now I’m all good to return.

  19. Pingback: Rehashing January. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

