Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Five Thing Friday.

30 Comments

Wow. I am SO GLAD it’s Friday. It’s only my second week back to school, but it was insanely busy (my own fault, I did absolutely nothing school-related last weekend). I spent the entire week playing catch-up. But…almost the weekend!

Five Things I’ve Eaten Recently:

1. Tuesday night’s dinner: tuna melts on an english muffin with a side of green beans.

DSCF3203

2. The Simply Bar in caramel peanut (seen on Instagram). Peanut Butter Chocolate is still my favourite, but this one’s up there.

3. Yesterday’s lunch: 1 egg + 1/2 cup egg whites, a sliced apple with chocolate PB2 and steamed veggies.

DSCF3225

4. Last night’s dinner: Lamb, roasted potatoes and more green beans.

DSCF3228

Ketchup added to the potatoes post-photo, of course! Smile with tongue out

5. Last night’s Greek yogurt with casein and peanut butter, topped with Reese’s Minis. Best idea ever.

DSCF3241

 Clearly, I had another handful straight from the bag.

Five of my Favourite Childhood Movies:

1. Beauty and the Beast. I’m pretty sure I watched this movie at least once a week for about 5 years. And Belle is still my favourite of the Disney Princesses.

2. Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. Yup, Disney kid right here.

3. The Nightmare Before Christmas. Even as a kid, I absolutely loved it.

And I still need to watch it on/near Halloween every year.

DSCF2067

4. Tom and Huck. JTT, I miss you.

5. Fantasia. I had no idea what the hell was going on, but I still adored it.

(source)

The Pastoral Symphony was always my favourite!

Five Songs I’m Listening to Right Now:

1.Stone Sour – Taciturn. Corey Taylor will always be my favourite vocalist. Always. And this song actually gives me goosebumps.

2. Sum 41 – Motivation. It’s randomly been playing at the gym lately, and I love it.

3. The Offspring – You’re Gonna Go Far Kid. Ditto at the gym. I don’t even wear headphones anymore, because the music has been so fun.

4. Glee – Holding Out For A Hero. Noooo shame.

5. Memphis May Fire – Grenade. Yes. Just yes.

Five Herbs/Spices That Get the Most Use in My Household:

DSCF3235

1. Cinnamon. Of course!

2. Stevia extract. It’s derived from an herb, so it counts, right?

3. Cumin. I seriously add it to everything. My favourite way to use it is on sweet potato fries before I roast them. So good.

4. Chile powder. I do like to add heat to pretty much everything.

5. Dried basil. My favourite thing to add to scrambled eggs.

Hope you have an awesome Friday!

<— What was one of your favourite childhood movies?

<— What’s your song of the moment?

30 thoughts on “Five Thing Friday.

  1. That lamb looks unreal…and that Greek yog/Reeses concoction ;)! Peanut butter really does make everything better! Home Alone 2 takes me back to my childhood…I went through a phase where I must have watched it every single day for like 6 months straight!

  2. I used to love tuna melts but I haven’t ha done in ages! those look so good! Beauty and the Beast was pretty much my favourite movie as a kid too. Also, I dump about a half cup of cinnamon on everything I eat. So, sooo good

  3. That Greek yogurt dessert looks insane!

  4. Oo yum Reece’s minis! They look so tasty 🙂 One handful can never be enough!

  5. how do you make your tuna melts, looks good 🙂 I want to make one now, Im thinking greek yogurt since I dont like mayo.

  6. Your lamb dinner looks just like my favorite dinner- except instead of lamb, steak 🙂 Yummmm!

  7. Beauty and the beast all the way girl! Still watch it every now and then 🙂 and i really like that scream and shout song for some reason…don’t ask me why haha bur i do

  8. Oh man, Beauty and the Beast and Nightmare Before Christmas will ALWAYS be among my top favorite childhood movies. A few other favorites include The Last Unicorn, Balto, Land Before Time, All Dogs go to Heaven, and The Lion King. Squee! Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy just thinking about them.

  9. dried basil is such a hidden gem. Loving the music, those were some of my classics in middle school. I don’t really listen to them anymore but man this is a good throwback . and tuna melts make me so happy, yummy

  10. Mm all your meals look delish!
    My favorite childhood movie is Aladdin, or Parent Trap. Aladdin is on ABC Family this weekend though so I hope I can watch it!

  11. I agree with you on this week feeling LONG! It’s only my second week back to work & I’m ready for a break again! Those mini Reese’s are dangerous, don’t even have to pause to unwrap them! I’m going with “Muppets Take Manhattan”, we watched that until the tape broke when we were younger 😉

  12. Mmm I LOVE tuna melts! I always used to get them at this one cafe when I was in high school. And I had them a lot in rez too. I want one now!

    My favourite childhood movies were Little Giants, The Parent Trap, and It Takes Two!

    • I don’t think I had ever made one until a few months ago – I was convinced that I hated canned tuna for years (maybe because my mom uses a 80/20 mayo-to-tuna ratio?) but I’m glad that changed, because they are awesome.
      hehe The Parent Trap – before Lindsay Lohan went nuts :-p

  13. both the lamb and the tuna on english muffins have got me DROOOOLING! i haven’t heard any of those songs you posted, wow! i never liked fantasia BECAUSE i didn’t know what the hell was happening 😛 haha! and i never got into huck finn or JTT. i feel like maybe i was 1 or 2 years too young but who knows. snow white bored me! same with cinderella. the biggest snoozer, of course and appropriately named, is sleeping beauty IMO.

  14. I love tuna melts! So good with gruyere cheese.

  15. JTT, be still my beating heart. In my mind, he’s still that awkward pre-teen with MBop hair. 😉 Which would make me a pedophile if I think he’s adorable … but in my mind I’m still 14, so really, it’s okay. Right?

    And Belle was BY FAR the best vintage Disney princess. A bookworm princess who only advocates treating people kindly? Talk about a badass rebel from the traditional DP lines!!

  16. Pingback: WIAW: G o Tea. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

