Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

New Header + Travel Bucket List.

47 Comments

1. The obvious: OHMYGOD look at my new header! I played around with Photoshop for a while before determining that I was hopeless, so I got one designed by Jenny at peanutbutterjenny.com. She’s awesome – she figured out exactly what I was looking for and had it to me faster than I ever could have imagined. I will definitely be using her for any future blog design needs.

2. The pumpkin problem: While I got a lot of suggestions for bread or muffins, a few people suggested pumpkin chili. Umm, why haven’t I tried this before?! This needs to happen as soon as possible. Anyone have any favourite recipes they can direct me too?

3. Apparently I jinxed myself with all my oatmeal-and-eggs talk. When I woke up yesterday, all I could think about was cereal and milk.

DSCF3320

Enter Nature’s Path Flax Plus Red Berry Crunch, Peanut Butter Panda Puffs, and a sliced banana. I used vanilla almond milk mixed with a half scoop protein powder to avoid the ‘hungry-in-20-minutes’ syndrome (I didn’t have any regular milk on hand). Of course, there was a bit of milk left in the bowl. So I had to get another handful of cereal. That’s how it works, right?

Yes, we’re in the middle of a hideous cold snap and I want cold cereal and milk. I’m an odd one.

Travel Bucket List

So, my mom is a travel agent. While I haven’t done a lot of travelling myself, I grew up seeing pictures and hearing stories of all the places she’s been to over the years. A few times, I’ve been lucky enough to go with her – to the Bahamas when I was ten, and to Mexico when I was eighteen.

337_29618700893_9413_n

(clearly, this is from the beginning of the ED time period. Ignore that part).

So, it’s pretty much been instilled in me that I want to travel throughout my life. I have a list of cities, countries and landmarks that I would love to see in my lifetime. I am absolutely a tourist at heart – I love exploring and learning about the history of the places I visit. So, to make sure I keep myself accountable for all of it, here’s my travel bucket list!

Canada:

  • Vancouver (check! Went when I was about 13, it was beautiful)
  • Edmonton (12. I miss that mall. Best waterpark ever).
  • Montreal (but I want to go back now that I’m legal)
  • PEI
  • Nova Scotia
  • cities in Ontario don’t really count, considering that I think I’ve been almost everywhere between Windsor and Ottawa

 

The US:

  • California – I actually want to see the entire state. I went when I was three months old, which totally doesn’t count.
  • Hawaii
  • Chicago – check! I need to go back. Such a great city.
  • Boston
  • Pittsburgh
  • Washington, D.C.
  • New Orleans
  • New York City
  • Miami
  • Las Vegas
  • Salt Lake City

Central/South America/the Carribean

  • Mexico – twice!

DSCF0956

(I went again with friends last May – such a fun trip!)

  • Peru
  • Brazil
  • the Bahamas (done!)
  • Cuba
  • Costa Rica

 

Europe

  • England
  • France (Paris!)
  • Italy
  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Switzerland (for the chocolate, obviously)
  • Croatia
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • Vatican City
  • Belgium

 

Africa

  • Egypt (I had such an obsession with Egyptian history growing up. I’m pretty sure I’ve written about 3 different reports on Cleopatra throughout my life)

 

Asia

  • India
  • Israel (I’m not religious, but it’s one of those things I think everyone needs to see)
  • Japan (so I can eat sushi like it’s my job)
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Hong Kong
  • Laos

 

Australia

  • Australia
  • New Zealand

Slowly but surely, I’ll check them all off.

<—Are you a big traveller? What was your favourite trip?

<—Where are you hoping to go next?

47 thoughts on “New Header + Travel Bucket List.

  1. Loove the new header, Sam- your blog looks super snazzy :)! I hope India is next on your travel plans- you already have a travel guide at your service :)! Fortunately I have travelled a lot over the years and one of my all-time favorite places was Beirut- so much culture and such AMAZING food. Two places which I hope to visit soon (or at least sometime in the future) are Australia & South Africa- fingers crossed!

    • Thanks Khushboo, I’m definitely pleased with it!
      And whenever I make it out to India, I will be sure to let you know! African countries have never been a high priority for me, travel wise, but seeing South Africa would be pretty cool!

  2. We went to Cabo, Mexico and that was awesome…Punta Cana was also amazing! I want to travel more…I want to go to Greece!

  3. I realized I’m a little behind on your blog, so I’ll number my comments:

    1. Watched your vlog, loved it. I often feel that maybe I don’t eat “clean” enough or that I don’t work out enough, but then I remember that I’m not a marathon runner and I don’t have 2 hours for the gym everyday. Sometimes I even worry that I will influence people. I try to be very careful about what I post, but you never know what will set some people off, it’s so hard!
    2. Love the new header!! Great look, very “sprinkles” 😉
    3. Pumpkin works in tons of stuff; mixed into oatmeal, eaten on it’s own with stevia and pp spice, mixed with protein powder or mixed with salt, pepper and nutritional yeast for a healthy pasta sauce-type-thing
    4. Your travel bucket list made me want to get up and go. I think I want to go to all of those places. Next on my list has to be New Zealand or Nepal though. They’re big ones!
    xo

    • 1. I’m glad you loved the vlog! It’s definitely hard to determine what’s going to trigger people, but for me it’s just the promotion of a scary-healthy lifestyle that bugs me. I think as long as you add a disclaimer when talking about that sort of thing, it helps!
      2. Thank you! I’m so happy with it.
      3. I like the idea of using it as a pasta sauce! Definitely going on the list.
      4. Yesss New Zealand! Take me with you? :-p

  4. I love your new header! And am loving your travel bucket list. So many fun and interesting places to see!

  5. Love the new header Sam, very snazzy. YES come to England! Paris is also beautfiul. You should also add Berlin to your Europe list, love that city.

  6. I just jumped off my chair when I saw Pittsburgh!!!! YES come here to visit for sure! Love the travel bucket list!

    LOVE the new header! Jenny rocks! She did my diva bump header! Really looks great Sam!

  7. COME TO PITTSBURGH!!! STAT!! And then we’ll road trip to D.C. and NYC….you can knock three cities out in a trip…and I can take you to all my favorite places in NYC! Sounds good? Excellent! I love to travel too haha, My favorite trip overseas was definitely France/Italy right after my freshman year in college, but the past two years, Joe and I have taken these crazy road trips from Pittsburgh to Charleston and Hilton Head in SC, stopping to see friends in Delaware, Baltimore, and Virginia along the way, and it’s been an absolute blast 🙂 And I love the new header as well…very pretty!

  8. Love the header!!! I literally want to travel everywhere. My mom was a flight attendant, so she’s been everywhere, too. I am SO jealous! Definitely go to California – it is AMAZING. I love it so much.

  9. Eee! I absolutely love the new look! Buuuuut I love the fact that Edmonton is on your list of cities to visit!! Seriously, if you ever do end up coming to my neck of the woods, we’re going on a date 😉

    I really, really love to travel. My parents used to cart me around to a whole host of places when I was little so that wanderlust was kind of instilled in me from a young age. Some places I really want to go? Australia, New Zealand, Egypt, Greece, and Hawaii are ones that first come to mind.

    Oh! And as for the pumpkin chili, I may be biased, but I kind of love this recipe 😉 http://www.runningwithspoons.com/for-spoons/pumpkin-chili-mexican-scramble/

  10. LOVE the new header! I’m trying to decide if I want to go self-hosted in the near future but it’s soooo expensive! When I do it, I’ll have to check her out!
    Also, BOSTON BOSTON BOSTON BOSTONNNNN
    Oh, and if you go to Europe, check out Denmark. It’s often forgotten but it’s a pretty awesome city 🙂

  11. Love the new header! It’s super cute.
    Goodness NYC is one of my favorite places in the world. You must go! I went to London this past summer and it was the time of my life. I wish I was still there 😦
    I’d love to go to either Ireland or Australia but that’s prettyyyy pricey. I’d settle for Florida! 🙂

  12. One of my biggest problems with creating a list of places I’d really like to visit is that once you go, you pretty much always want to go back (as you said). There’s always more to do in every place you visit. I wish traveling was my full-time job. I think I could make that work!

  13. we never traveled when I was little so I want to make sure I have time to travel at one point in my life, I have barely been anywhere in the us or out of the country. only once out of the country. love the header, perfect fit!

  14. That’s an intense list, but you can totally do it! Just get a job that pays you to travel and you’re all set :p

  15. Love the new header! And the travel bucket list, great idea to write it all down! And I crave smoothies in the winter and can’t be bothered to pull out the blender in the summer haha. Doesn’t quite make sense!

  16. YAY! LOVE the header. Looks great!

    I love to travel.–I’ve lived in England, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, and I’ve been to Mexico, Alaska, Tanzania (Africa), Singapore, & Bali. I want to go to Greece, Hawaii, on a cruise (carribean), Egypt, Hong Kong, Israel, Paris, and New Zealand!

    Yay–you best come to SLC eventually 🙂

  17. Love the header!!! I made a puckping tempeh chili that was tasty. Here’s the recipe: http://www.sprint2thetable.com/2011/12/pumpkin-tempeh-chili/

    Your bucket list is as long as mine! I get overwhelmed sometimes because there is SO much to see. You must make it to Italy though. It’s my happy place. 🙂

  18. Your new header looks awesome!! Has that always been your tag line? I’ve never noticed it before. Either way, I love it. 😀

    I haven’t been too many places other than the Eastern provinces, a few of the Eastern states (Maine, Massachusetts and New York), Cuba and Mexico. But I’m dying to go to so many places! France, Italy, BC and California are at the top of my list though.

  19. For St Patty’s Day weekend, I’ll be flying to Baltimore for the night and then heading to DC to run the Rock n Roll half marathon — from running my first half in the Canadian capital to running my second half in the American capital, pretty cool! (Also, three and a half days off work will be my longest break since Sept 2011. Insane!!)
    And then in May, I’ll be heading to the Dominican Republic for a friend’s destination wedding. I can’t even begin to express how excited I am.
    I think that you will LOVE Nova Scotia and PEI. I have family down there, so I spent the majority of my childhood summers down east. It’s almost like a whole different world. If you ever want serenity, this is where you should look. I don’t know if you’ve ever read Jane of Lantern Hill by Lucy Maud Montgomery .. if you do (amazing young ladies’ story), it will be impossible NOT to fall in love with PEI before you get there. 🙂

  20. Your header is adorable!! LOVE IT! I love to travel, and I can’t wait to start traveling the world more!

  21. Your header was the first thing I noticed when I came to your blog today. It looks AMAZING! I completely love it!! I’ve been thinking about asking her to do mine, too.

  22. Pingback: Bucket list before moving back to America in summer of 2014 « Journey Around The Globe

Leave a Reply

