Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Grocery Cycles.

31 Comments

Good morning!

I apologize for the lack of post yesterday…but really, it would have been me telling you how much homework I’ve been doing this weekend, and how I was eating ice cream out of the container and watching season 2 of Downton Abbey Friday night. Not exactly the most thrilling post ever, is it? Smile with tongue out

Plus, I’m trying to take the pressure off of myself to blog daily. I love you guys and I love what I do, but considering that I’m paying money to be in school, it should probably be my first priority, don’t you think?

(source)

I’d tell you that wasn’t that case but…it kind of is.

 

But, I am back today to fill you on my groceries/meal plan of the week! I’ve noticed that my shopping seems to go in cycles: a week where I don’t pick up too much, followed by a week where I’m seemingly out of everything and go over-budget. But, it all seems to work out in the end.

 

Produce

DSCF3349

See? I didn’t really need a lot of produce this week.

  • canned pumpkin
  • broccoli
  • celery
  • red bell pepper
  • spinach
  • bananas

Proteins/Animal Products

DSCF3350

 

  • chicken burgers (I was going to pick up veggie burgers, but chicken was sounding really appealing to me) (and note to self: make homemade veggie burgers!)
  • 2% plain Greek yogurt
  • stewing beef
  • light spinach cream cheese
  • pork tenderloin
  • deli ham
  • salmon
  • chicken thighs

And some that escaped the picture the first time:

DSCF3359

  • egg whites
  • old cheddar (can I just say how in love with this company I am? Jensen cheese – about 20 minutes away from me, and everything they produce is fabulous. I sampled a goat cheddar at the market that is definitely going to have to be picked up soon)

Miscellaneous

DSCF3353

  • sprouted grain bread
  • Zevia (I do not turn down a sale on Zevia!)
  • tomato sauce
  • vanilla almond milk
  • apple juice concentrate (for a recipe)
  • canned tomatoes
  • sausage buns

I’m excited to try the sprouted grain bread! I used to buy Ezekial products once in a while, but it became too pricy. It’s nice to see that Country Harvest is jumping on that bandwagon.

And I’ve decided that canned tomatoes might just be my favourite pantry staple ever. I go through a can or two a week – easily one of the most versatile things in my cupboard.

And the meal plan for the week:

  • Saturday: out
  • Sunday: Annie’s Mac & Cheese with hot dogs (yesss childhood throwback!)
  • Monday: chicken, sweet potato fries and salad
  • Tuesday: Beef stew
  • Wednesday: Salmon with dill sauce, rice, and veggies
  • Thursday: a modified version of Jessica’s Homemade Chicken Cheesesteaks
  • Friday: Pork tenderloin, roasted potatoes and veggies

Today is going to consist of more homework (joy) and a quick run over to the gym. Enjoy the end of the weekend!

<— Bloggers: Do you put pressure on yourself to stick to a blogging schedule?

<— Any meals planned for the week?

31 thoughts on “Grocery Cycles.

  1. Yes, I definitely struggle with blogging everyday. I want to, and since I’m new to blogging, I feel like I should, but some days I just don’t have anything worth talking about! I have to remind myself that it’s okay to skip a day or two if necessary than start back up after.

  2. I think you were smart to not post yesterday when you weren’t feeling it! I used to feel the pressure to blog X number of times a week but I realised that it wasn’t worth stress. Blogging is a hobby of mine, not a source of income so I should actually enjoy doing it! I blog about 3 times a week which works well for my schedule.

    On a separate note- your header is making me crave fro yo real bad…..thanks a lot ;)!

  3. I think it is great you realized you needed some time away from the blog because you had other stuff to do. I feel like these days I spend less time blogging overall and it just works for me. glad you found that balance as well

  4. I like to post every 2-3 days, and sometimes I start to feel really anxious if 2 days have passed and I don’t have an idea for a post yet. It’s silly though and I know I should lighten up on myself. 😛

    I was so excited when I saw that sprouted bread too! Let me know how you like it!

    This week I’m planning on making BBQ chickpea burgers from Oh She Glows, bison with mushroom sauce, and a goat cheese and sun dried tomato frittata. Also I’m going out to a restaurant with my mom for Londonlicious – I can’t wait. 😀

    • I start to feel anxious too! I feel like I go through cycles with it…a week or two where I’m bursting with ideas, and a week where I feel like I’ve got nothing. I’m afraid of this week being the later!

      That frittata sounds amazing! And I’m so disappointed I’m missing Londonlicious…I’m going to have to live vicariously through your dining adventures :-p

  5. As a new blogger I do feel like I need to post something every day but I’m so busy that I might try and start doing every other day…

  6. The blogging balance is something I definitely feel like I struggle with, but I’d like to think that I’ve gotten better with time. I used to put a lot of pressure on myself to get a post up, putting off doing things in ‘real life’ and freaking out if I had writer’s block, but now if it doesn’t come easy, I just walk away. After all, if you keep turning down having a life in favor of blogging, then eventually you’re gonna run out of things to write about, right? 😉

  7. I have so much respect for people who meal plan. I really need to get into that, but I always seem to somehow forget.

  8. I usually plan out our meals for the week. And my fiance gets mad when they’re not written on our calendar lol. This week I MUST try butternut squash mac and cheese!

  9. Ehhh who cares if you don’t post every day. It is your blog. I know it can feel like you have to but I still don’t get that feeling. Do what you need to do. Although I’d LOVE to hear about you eating ice cream straight from the container since I definitely do that on a regular basis 😉

  10. That sounds like a wonderful way to spend the day/night to me! Ice cream and downton abbey…BEST COMBINATION EVER!! As far as scheduling blogging, I typically post every day, but also don’t mind taking a day off, especially on the weekends. I figure if something can wait for another post, it’s not necessary to post something just to post every day, you know? And as far as meals planned for the week, I’m kind of winging it haha, which could be good or bad. I’m roasting some veggies tonight and baking some chicken, but other than that I’m going to see what I feel like eating each night. Anything else I want to add to those will only take a few minutes, so I feel good having some staples ready!

    • Hehe it wasn’t too bad, once you take out all the schoolwork I was doing in between! And I’m kind of adoring Downton Abbey so much right now. It’s an awesome show!

      And I do want to keep up posting almost every day, but I’m not going to worry anymore about the occasional skip day.

  11. I love zevia! I can only find it at my health food store and when it’s on sale I def stock up !

  12. Haha, I could totally relate to the first part of this post because 1) I spent Friday night watching Downton Abbey and eating ice cream and Reece’s peanut butter cups, and 2) because I completely understand the “I want to blog, but have tons of reading/homework and should really make grad school a priority right now” scenario. Story of my life for the past two years! 😉

    When I first started blogging, I put tremendous pressure on myself to blog regularly, however I quickly realized that it was stressing me out, and that sticking to a schedule took the fun out of blogging. Now I try to post at least twice/week, but sometimes even that doesn’t happen. I admire bloggers who post every day, but I’m not quite sure how they do it!

    I go through grocery cycles as well…Last week I did a huge shop, but my list this week is much shorter. I’m on my way to the store now, so we’ll see if I truly do keep it as minimal as I’m planning! 😉

    • Definitely making me wish I had pb cups to go with my ice cream! And while I keep blogging a priority, I want to keep it as something I do for fun rather than have it just become another obligation…so I’m not going to worry so much if I’m not posting as often as I want to.

  13. No pressure for me to blog. Hence why I don’t really do it anymore…

    Having a life is more important!

  14. Ha, well I just posted about blogging less, so I can definitely relate! It’s important to keep your priorities in check. At the end of the day, I have a lot of other time-consuming jobs and hobbies that unfortunately take priority over blogging. It’s important to remember that so I don’t stress myself out!

  15. Pingback: Cookie Butter: Delicious and Durable. « Better With Sprinkles

  16. Next time you do one of these posts, you should link up with my Shopping List Friday link-up! Any post with groceries or shopping can be linked up! The link-up is open from Fridays 7am – Sundays midnight.

Leave a Reply

