Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Thai Sweet Potato and Shrimp Soup.

30 Comments

DSCF3380

So…I’m a little obsessed with the dinner I made Friday night.

As in, calling-dibs-on-all-the-leftovers-and-eating-it-everyday-since obsessed.

I saw a soup recipe in The LooneySpoons Collection that combined sweet potatoes, coconut milk and shrimp. I thought was an unusual combination, but I was instantly intrigued. So I made my own version.

Enjoy!

Thai Sweet Potato and Shrimp Soup

(inspired by ‘Thai One On’ by  Janet and Greta Podleski. Serves 4-6)

Ingredients:

  • one onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 teaspoon minced ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon each ground cumin, curry powder and cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro (reduce if you’re not a fan)
  • 2 cups unsalted or low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 can (348 mL) light coconut milk (of course, if you want super-creamy, use full-fat)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (I used chunky natural for the texture, but smooth is fine too. Non-peanut eaters, almond butter or sunflower seed butter would work)
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1/2 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 lb shrimp, cooked and detailed

Directions

1. Heat olive oil in large soup pot over medium heat. Add onion, pepper and garlic. Cook, stirring occasionally, until softened – about 5 minutes.

DSCF3325

2. Add sweet potatoes, ginger, cumin, curry powder, cinnamon and cilantro. Stir to combine.

DSCF3328

3. Add chicken broth, coconut milk, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, then reduce and simmer over low heat until sweet potatoes are tender, 10-15 minutes.
4. Either by using an immersion blender or transferring to a blender, puree soup (or, if you’re me, puree in small batches in a Magic Bullet). Return soup to pot.

DSCF3330

5. Stir in peanut butter, basil and lime juice. Add shrimp.

DSCF3333

Again – this is so freakin’ delicious.

DSCF3380

I’m a fan of added heat, so I ‘ve been adding a few drops of chipotle hot sauce to mine.

DSCF3387

And it’s been the best decision ever.

There’s one serving left in the fridge (and this is one of those recipes that only improves as leftovers, btw) so I think I know what I’m going to be having for lunch today. Open-mouthed smile

<— Are you a fan of Thai food? I love it – you cannot beat a good Pad Thai.

<— Have you been making a lot of soups this season? My staple salads in the spring and summer become soups and chilis in the fall and winter – absolutely necessary and comforting.

30 thoughts on “Thai Sweet Potato and Shrimp Soup.

  1. Peanut butter in soup form- does it get any more comforting than that?? YUM! I love Thai food too especially pad thai & papaya salad. Although cilantro is a common herb used so I always need to remember to tell servers to leave it out of my dishes- even the smell gets to me!!

  2. I LOVE Thai food! And chipotle hot sauce. This looks fabulous… I need to make more soup!

  3. I love soup too and theres nothing better than sweet potatoes!

  4. girl look at you all fancy smancy! those flavors sound bomb!

  5. Well this soup looks delicious, but I’m afraid that a spoonful of it would probably kill me 😆 Peanut butter and shrimp are both big no-nos for me, which is also a reason I tend to avoid Thai food. I am a big fan of soup, though! Tomato soup is probably my favorite (especially with rice), which a simple chicken noodle coming in a close second.

    • the last thing I would want to do is kill you – note to self: do not make this soup for Amanda. :-p

      Tomato soup is easily one of my favourites, there are few things more comforting than tomato soup (one of those being a grilled cheese on the side)

  6. Pad thai is the best! Also I’m a big fan of coconut milk in soups. I just discovered it this winter and have been using it in my soups. I love how creamy it makes the soup. Enjoy those leftovers. Soup just gets more flavorful the next day 🙂

  7. OMG peanut butter in soup? How has this not happened for me yet. This looks delicious!

  8. This soup sounds SO good! I love sweet potatoes and thai food and peanut butter!! I seriously think I like every ingredient in this soup, I will have to try it soon!

  9. This looks so good! It actually reminds me of this sweet potato, collard, and coconut soup from my Fresh Food Fast cookbook – I made it a few years ago and loved it!

    And now that I think about it, I’ve made tons of soups this season… acorn squash soup, lentil soup, leek and potato soup, turkey sausage with white bean and kale soup, minestrone soup… And I’m sure I’ll be making at least a few more to get me through the rest of the winter. 😛

  10. Oh my goodness, this looks amazing! I love Thai food. I have to try this! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

  11. I love Thai! And this looks fabulous, girl! Thank you for sharing and giving me yet another recipe to put on my must try before it warms up list!

  12. Swoon! When I saw the teaser pic you posted to Instagram earlier today, I immediately knew I’d love everything about this recipe. Peanut butter, sweet potatoes and coconut are three foods I eat on a daily basis. When the three flavors come together, I melt. I’m a huge fan of Thai food as well–particularly curried coconut milk soup and Pad Thai!

    You won’t believe this, but I haven’t made one pot of soup this winter! You’ve given me a very good reason to change my soupless status, though. 😉

  13. Boy oh boy this sounds so fab! Sweet tater and seafood gets me every time and lately I’ve been into curry flavored dishes.

  14. Ooh this looks yummy! I never would’ve thought to pair those two flavors together, but I actually really want to try this haha 🙂

  15. Pingback: Rehashing January. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

