Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Zombies + Fast Food = Date Night.

35 Comments

Hello loves! I hope everyone’s weekend has gotten off to a good start.

No complaints here – I had a great meeting Friday with my thesis supervisor, and I’m actually really excited to get started on the project. That’s probably a good thing; it’s basically going to be my life for the next year, so good thing I get excited doing the research for it!

Friday Dinner

DSCF3442

I had left a pork tenderloin marinating in salt, pepper, apple juice concentrate, olive oil and basil during the day, and then I threw it in the oven at 350 for about 40 minutes. With roasted potatoes and green beans, it made for an awesome meal. I basically just used Friday night to get some work done, then collapsed in bed around midnight. I’m impressed with myself I made it that long – I was feeling pretty sleepy by about 8:30. Yup, party animal right here.

Saturday

Breakfast Saturday morning made me so, so happy.

DSCF3443

Banana oats in a chocolate peanut butter jar. Nut butter, banana and chocolate – I’m pretty sure it is actually impossible to beat that combo.

Grocery time!

Animal Products/Proteins/Fats

DSCF3448

  • canned lentils
  • canned black beans
  • egg whites
  • strip sirloin steak (on sale at the Farmer’s Market. So excited!!)
  • spreadable butter
  • olive oil spray
  • cottage cheese
  • tomato basil turkey sausages
  • eggs
  • cream cheese
  • peanut butter

Produce

DSCF3453

  • lemon juice
  • broccoli
  • yellow beans
  • blueberries (not in season. Don’t care, I had a craving!)
  • green pepper
  • spinach
  • canned green chilis
  • corn
  • sweet potatoes
  • baby carrots

Pantry/Miscellaneous

DSCF3454

  • English muffins
  • tortilla
  • brown basmati rice
  • ketchup
  • Triscuits
  • no sugar added strawberry jam

And a little extra something for me…

DSCF3458

I went to the LCBO today and picked up one of the wines that I tried at the Food and Wine Show a few weeks ago. Voga Moscato – Italian, with a little hint of bubbliness. So good.

And speaking of good…

DSCF3459

This will not be lasting long. I’ve had the White Chocolate and the Dark Chocolate PB & Co and adored them, but Cinnamon Raisin was a new one for me. When you consider my inclination to dump a ridiculous amount of cinnamon on my food daily, it’s not really surprising that I’ve already inhaled more spoonfuls than I care to admit :-p

Dinner

So when it came time for dinner yesterday, someone had a craving (and I had a coupon)…

DSCF3461

We got A & W coupons in the mail a few days ago, and Eric specifically requested we go this weekend. And who am I to say no to a craving?

While I don’t think fast food is something to be eaten on a regular basis, I’ll eat it every once in a while (maybe a few times a year). Everything in moderation, right?

DSCF3468

I got the veggie burger, which came with swiss on a whole wheat bun. Hey, at least they’re trying to healthify things, right? Obviously not the best veggie burger I’ve ever had, but I’ll take it. And for the record, the best fast food veggie burger is from Harvey’s. Hands down. I also split an order of onion rings with Eric.

DSCF3470

I’d say he’s happy!

We ate dinner while watching 28 Days Later. Fast food and zombies…we’re romantics, aren’t we?

Talk to you later!

<— In your opinion, what is the best nut butter ever? This one might actually beat out my precious Skippy Natural.

<— Zombie movies/tv shows, yay or nay? I’m a tad obsessed…

35 thoughts on “Zombies + Fast Food = Date Night.

  1. Yummm I love roasted potatoes and green beans! My favorite nut butter is Teddie creamy peanut butter… it’s heaven!

  2. I haven’t had potatoes in weeks. You just convinced me to buy potatoes instead of my nightly pasta addiction. It’s time to change it up a bit! Paired with green beans, you can’t go wrong!
    Date night sounds fabulous. I could always go for a big juicy burger now and then 🙂

  3. I love a ton of nut butters! Almond butter coconut butter and smart balance chunk pb are my favorites!

  4. I need to make a grocery store trip like this soon! I am an old fashioned Jif girl. I know, it’s not the healthiest. But, it’s still my go-to!

  5. Mmm best nut butter ever?? Right now either Justin’s chocolate almond or chocolate hazelnut butter…I love anything with chocolate 😉 And I am not a zombie fan, but your date night sounds lovely! I’ve never been to A+W…don’t have a ton around here but I think it’s cool they have a veggie burger option!

    • Yea, I’ve had it a couple times, it’s a good fast food option! They don’t usually have it on the menu though, you have to ask for it!
      And Justin’s has chocolate hazelnut? Yes, definitely going to be looking for that!

  6. Obsessed with zombies. I love 28 Days Later and can’t wait for Walking Dead to start back up in one week!! That voga moscato is wonderful. My favorite nut butter is cookie butter from TJ’s even though it doesn’t technically have any nuts in it.

  7. I love that you said Skippy Natural! Despite all the fancy nut butters available, that will always be my number 1! I am normally a “smooth” girl but after trying “super chunky” this weekend, I am not sure I want to go back! I’ve only ever tried PB & Co’s Dark Choc Dreams (which was yum) but Cinnamon Raisin Swirl sounds awesome too!

    Have a great Sunday, Sam!

    • As much as I like my all-natural chunky nut butters, Skippy’s definitely has my heart – a little but of sugar/natural oils never hurt anyone.
      Definitely recommend trying this one – it’s amazing! Enjoy the rest of your weekend Khushboo!

  8. I love nut butters! Almond butter, peanut butter, cashew butter yum! I love TJ’s crunchy pb and usually buy whatever almond butter is on sale. I’m glad your excited about starting your thesis! I’m in grad school and doing mine and so far loving all the interesting things I’m finding! No to zombie movies, freak me out!

  9. I’m definitely with you on the nut butter, chocolate, and banana combo – I’m pretty sure nothing beats that one. Although I have to admit that ketchup and fries/chicken comes in a close second. Lol. Sorry. I’ve kind of been crushing on ketchup lately and seeing the huge picture of the Heinz bottle kind of did me in. I don’t mind zombie movies, but like fast food, only in moderation 😉

  10. gosh that pork looks amazing, my mom makes a killer pork tenderloin. killer!

  11. A whole wheat bun at A&W??? I’m impressed. I’m also very happy for you to be excited over your thesis. I love when I can actually get excited about a project, although it doesn’t happen very often… I’m almost at the bottom of my cinnamon raisin swirl. *Sniff*

    • I know! I didn’t even ask for it, it came with one…craziness.
      Believe me, I’m counting the days until I can spend all my (schoolwork-related) time focusing on it…I’m sure I’ll post about it eventually when it’s in a further stage, but it’s a good one!
      Oh noes…you’ll definitely have to get some more. Stuff is crazy good!

  12. Mmmm cinnamon. Haha, I dump it on everything too. I seriously crave the stuff!
    Hmm…you know what, I don’t think I’ve ever seen any zombie movies or shows!! I’ve heard good stuff about the walking dead, and some of those movies, but I’ve never tried watching them. Maybe this shall change?

  13. Mmm I love pork tenderloin! I haven’t made it for myself since last semester though – that needs to change!

    Ugh I wish they made a cinnamon raisin swirl soy nut butter or almond butter! That flavour sounds amazing. Obviously I’m pretty limited in my nut butter choices, but my favourite would have to be just the original soy nut butter from The Soy Nut Butter Company. I never get sick of it.

    Also I really want a burger. Like soon.

  14. Best nut butter = TJ’s organic crunchy!

  15. Cinnamon swirl peanut butter?? That looks ridiculous! My favorite bread is cinnamon swirl.

  16. I don’t have a favorite nut butter brand or anything, but I do love when Almond butter tastes salty! So dang delicious!
    And I totally agree that Harvey’s makes THE BEST hamburgers in the world. When I was living in Canada, that was the only fast food I would ever have. I’ve never had a hamburger as good, and unfortunately there is no Harvey’s in Michigan 😦

  17. I don’t have a favorite nut butter brand, but I do love almond butter that tastes slightly salty!
    And I totally agree that Harvey’s makes “hands-down” the best hamburgers ever; when I was living in Canada, it was the only fast food restaurant I would really eat at. Unfortunately there are no Harvey’s in Michigan 😦

  18. Pingback: Sunday Wine + Goal Talk-February. « Better With Sprinkles

  19. Pingback: WIAW: I Have a New Obsession. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

