Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Rebellious.

57 Comments

So…I think I looked quite the part of a rebel when I was younger.

(and…time for the awkward high school pic).

200286_4710285893_5795_n

Yup…black hair (when this picture was taken, it was also purple, dark blue, and black/red throughout my high school years), really pale skin, lots of eyeliner, and way too much jewellery. I didn’t so much act the part (except the time in Grade 12 when I got suspended, but that’s neither here nor there), but I had the look down.

While I don’t really dress the part anymore (clearly, that’s a good thing…I’m better as a blonde) I’d like to think that I still haven’t lost that rebellious attitude.

We all read ‘healthy living’ and ‘diet’ tips…I read them religiously for years whenever I’d stumble across one. I don’t really do that anymore – they’re all the same, aren’t they?

They can have some good points and some habits that I try to stick too – eat mainly whole foods, whole wheat over white most of the time, eat as many colourful foods as possible…but some of their advice, I just can’t take seriously/have no interest in following.

So, I’m rebelling.  I remember most of the tips that I’ve come across in various points of my life…and I choose to ignore them.

1. Don’t keep treats in the house.

DSCF3500

(the current stash)

 

2. Never eat fast food.

DSCF1709

(Wendy’s burger last fall!)

 

3. Always plate your food. Never eat directly out of the container.

PicMonkey Collage

Peanut butter is best when eaten off a spoon.

4. Don’t eat complex carbs after lunch.

DSCF3512

(Last night’s dinner: chicken, rice and beans).

 

5. Go to bed a bit hungry. Don’t eat after 6 pm, 7 pm…or whatever random o’clock some people come up with.

DSCF3516

Last night’s yogurt, casein and cinnamon swirl peanut butter snack. For the record, I go to bed around eleven.

 

6. Wheat is the devil. Some people are intolerant, but everyone else should stop eating it too.

DSCF3507

Hello, bread and pasta.

 

7. Avoid refined sugar at all costs.

DSCF3503

Except I keep a big bag of it on the fridge. You never know when you need to bake some cookies.

 

8. Don’t eat processed food.

DSCF3486

Among the cereals and granola bars, I have sprinkles, vanilla wafers and a giant-ass box of Frosted Flakes. Win.

 

What I’m saying here is – don’t overthink it. And don’t think that you have to follow a set of someone else’s guidelines or ‘rules’ on how to eat. Eating chocolate when you want chocolate is really not the end of the world. Neither is eating fast food once in a while. Obviously, we should try to stick to mainly wholesome meals and snacks, but it doesn’t have to happen all the time.

Ate too much Superbowl weekend? Or had a bowl of ice cream just because it sounded good? It’s fine. You don’t have to ‘make up’ or punish yourself for anything.

You let your body make the decisions about what’s best for you and your eating habits, mmk?

<—What did you look/act/dress like in high school?

<—What’s your favourite diet rule to break? I’ve been a happier person since I started keeping a chocolate stash at all times.

57 thoughts on “Rebellious.

  1. mmmkay, I agree 🙂 YOU should SEE my pantry!!! I have an 11 year old step son, so if I dont keep the sugary cereal, poptarts, regular 2% milk, and cookies, all hell breaks loose!

  2. Sam I LOVE this post! Totally agree with you – I’ve seen so many bits of advice that seem impractical or just crazy. One girl tweeted the other day “I’m so hungry but its 10pm and therefore I am NOT eating anything. Deal with it body!” and it made me so cross and sad. I always keep treats in the house, eating out is the highlight of my weekend, why wouldn’t you eat almond butter straight out of the container, I never go to bed hungry – I wouldn’t sleep! and sugar is very needed in my life, thank you very much. I don’t eat a huge amount of wheat because I was diagnosed with an allergy but I never tell others to avoid it. I looked like a rebel in school too, hair dyed pink/red/blue/purple, crazily baggy jeans and band hoodies.

    • I hate it when I hear people say things like that! Seriously makes me sad.
      And I totally understand avoiding wheat because of allergies, but I feel like everyone’s going ‘gluten-free’ just for the hell of it?

      And glad I wasn’t the only one :-p

  3. This post made me smile…and chuckle! Isn’t it crazy the amount rules eating healthily allegedly comes with?! It’s eating for goodness sake…not school! Although I have adhered to a few of them in the past, I am rather rebellious later too! All 3 of my meals had/will have gluten today, chocolate will be consumed in a bit, I’ve drunk multiple cups of coffee, noodles are part of dinner, and I will most definitely be having a bed-time snack….sorry but I ain’t sorry ;)!!

    Great post, Sam!

  4. Haha I love this! I especially hate the “don’t eat after 7 pm” rule. I loathe it! I always must eat before bed 🙂

  5. I LOVE IT 🙂 Seriously, you just made my day with this post! My favorite rule to break is having dessert…I fully believe in having it every night (and usually after breakfast too…trader joe’s frozen powerberries, get in my mouth!) and I do 🙂 As for high school, I was random haha. Sometimes I dressed the part of the prep, sometimes I lived in t-shirts, jeans and hoodies…completely depended on my mood!

  6. Love love love this. I love how honest you are. I’m the exact same way with healthy living ‘rules’; most of them are crap in my opinion :p

  7. My mom is obsessed with following the rule “no food after dinner”. I have to eat another mini-meal around 9 or else I wake up starving. I can’t go to bed hungry.

  8. Absolutely ADORE this post, Sam! You’ve proven that it’s clearly possible to fall more in love with someone 😉 ❤ ❤

    My favorite diet rule to break is… all of them. I used to adhere to every single one of those crazy rules you mentioned, and not only did it make life a lot less enjoyable, but it ended up making me a lot less healthy as well. These days I'm never without treats, I won't say no to processed/fast food, when the craving hits, I eat straight from containers, I eat carbs like they're going out of style, and I couldn't even imagine going to bed without a snack first. And lo and behold, I'm healthier and happier than I've ever been. So here's to being a rebel – it's far tastier and more enjoyable :mrgreen:

  9. I read this, threw up my hands and yelled “THANK YOU!” a little too loudly in my office. I won’t pretend like I don’t get sucked in to some of these ridiculous “diet rules” but in general, my thought is – everything in moderation. Chocolate in the house is fine (like you, I always have a stash handy)…what’s important is that I don’t sit down and devour the entire bag in a sitting and then go get another bag haha None of these things you listed will kill you!

    I like the rebellion. Rules are made to be broken 😛 But seriously, awesome post. I think it’s a great reminder for a lot of us.

    • Thanks so much Molly, I’m glad you liked it!
      That’s my thoughts too…I don’t attack the stash every day, but usually have a piece or two. It’s all in moderation – not completely eliminating that sort of stuff from your diet.

  10. As I said, these are some kick ass rules. I break the eat after 7 pm daily. Don’t know how people do it. Plus processed foods are always in my apartment, hey I am a convenience queen! This just makes me want to meet you in person even more, we are so much alike and I just am constantly in awe of your insight. You don’t understand how much I needed to read this today

  11. I love this post and I completely agree. There’s no point in trying to deprive ourselves from something if we really want something. I definitely break the keeping sweets in the house rule. I’ve tried my hand at keeping sweets out of my house but I noticed that I would eat a ton whenever I did get the chance. I think it’s all about moderation too. My Mom’s friend swears by this new diet she’s on where she doesn’t eat any wheat/carbs. I think it’s kind of funny really but whatever floats your boat!

  12. This is one of my favorite posts from you! Love it! I’ve probably broken all of these rules, and they are a rules I had for myself in my very disordered phase! Isn’t it such a relief to be past that! I still have a few things I need to break, but you better bet I’ll be doing it:)

  13. I am the same way…when I was younger I would always read the “healthy tips” and guides in magazines or what not but they are all pretty much the same to me now and common sense. AND most of them I have no desire to follow because if I did I would not be happy or healthy! The worst are the holiday tips because if I stuck to “eat an apple and drink a ton of water so you won’t want your favorite holiday treats at a party” I would be miserable during the holidays. So ridiculous! I am a big fan of breaking the no food in front of the TV rule. I am sorry but watching the 2-hour Bachelor episode is not complete without something chocolate and a glass of wine.

  14. Haha I love all of these! I read so many tips and I’m like uhhhh no thanks. I’d rather eat a pint of ice cream thanks.

  15. everything is fine in moderation! I think that is the most important “diet rule” around.

  16. I seriously love this! As a recovering anorexic I love posts like this. I’m so going to recover as amazingly as you 🙂 hmm well I am in college now (British high school college) and I kind of follow trends/dress like a fairy. And eating chocolate for breakfast, that is the best rule, especially as anorexia HATES it!

  17. HAH! Love this post!

    And I completely agree. I never deprive myself–and hence enjoy it all –the great stuff and the ‘fun’ stuff 🙂

  18. I so love this post Sam and it inspires me to do a similar one sometime! Really eating should not be dictated by black and white rules and these rules reigned supreme for me at the worst of my ED. I almost always have to eat a nighttime snack 30-60 min before bed, I just love it, it’s so cozy to do so while I read my book. And my ED voice still kinda whispers to me whenever I sit down with a big bag of pita chips or what have you to eat it. It says “you’ll eat the whole bag”. But why can’t I trust myself to just stop after a moderate amount?! Same with not keeping treats in the house! There are always ice cream sandwiches in my freezer and I’m pretty sure I crave one once a month. (My dad is the daily eater of those haha!)
    I honestly never really want fast food but I remember my first Crunch Wrap from TAco Bell during recovery. A big moment!
    This post really is wonderful. Thank you for the idea and for the realization that I should pat myself on the back for not adhering to these rules so strictly anymore!
    (Oh and I find myself craving almost all my complex carbs during dinner #sorrynotsorry)

    • It very rarely feels like a proper to me if I don’t have rice, pasta or sweet potatoes in some form!

      And I’m glad you liked it Caitlin! I’ve found I’m so much happier NOT adhering to diet rules and just letting my body dictate how I should be eating.

  19. haha I LOVE this! Yesterday I was eating Nutella out of the jar with a spoon, I eat carbs with dinner almost every night, I don’t get home tell after 10 most nights have a quick shower and dive into the fridge. Great post!

  20. Love it love it love it! I need to keep treats in the house. Before, when I absolutely couldn’t I would go crazy the minute my roommates baked something or somebody gave me something sweet. And I mean CRAZY! Now I know it’s always there so I don’t need it all the time. Man, if I don’t eat past 7, I wouldn’t be able to fall asleep I’d be so hungry. I snack at midnight if I need to! Oh, and I totally went through the dress in all black, wear way too much eyeliner phase, haha. It had it’s place and now I wear pink again 🙂

    • I’m glad you love it! And yes to absolutely everything you just commented on – chocolate is necessary for happiness otherwise I’ll binge on it like it’s my job, i need to eat at night, and pink isn’t so bad :-p

  21. You keep sugar… In the fridge? Mind blown!

  22. This is awesome! I break every single one of those “rules” too. Not eating after 7 would be impossible for me!

    And I love the high school pic. 😀 In high school I dressed in a lot of American Eagle clothes. 😛

  23. The “go to bed” hungry thing is ridiculous. I eat a big snack every night about 5 minutes before bed! It helps me sleep 🙂

  24. Favorite diet rule to break: Don’t eat fruit after 2pm (as they are carbs). Um what? Yeah that’s not gonna happen, I just ate a bowl of pineapple and strawberries and it’s almost 9 0’clock.

  25. Pingback: Mambo No. Five | The Run Within

  26. I think this may be the best post you’ve written, Sam. Amen to EVERY word. Even though I’ve never looked the part of a rebel (however, I’ve secretly wanted to die my hair black for years!), I break every “healthy living rule” you listed on a daily basis. I always have processed foods in the house; I eat carbs before bed (and sometimes go to the kitchen for a bowl of cereal in the middle of the night); I dunk my spoon into the peanut butter jar freely; and I most definitely enjoy chocolate every day…multiple times. It sounds cliche, but life is too short to adhere to a set of silly diet/exercise rules. I know I make healthy choices most of the time, so eating a cookie–or four–makes no physiological difference. It does, however, make a difference emotionally. I’m MUCH happier knowing I have the freedom to enjoy whatever I want. 🙂

  27. Love this post! But, also… why do you keep sugar in the fridge?? I’ve never heard of that.

  28. Pingback: Gone Brunette. « Better With Sprinkles

  29. Pingback: Rehashing February. | Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

