Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

I Wish I Could Sing Like That.

32 Comments

Hello hello!

Everyone who was in the storm’s path this weekend, hopefully you got yourself unburied. As I mentioned Friday, my university was shut down for the day, so I got an impromptu day off.

DSCF3622

The view from my window. Fortunately, that is not my car.

 

Wintery days require a hot, slow-cooked dinner, don’t you think? So Friday night I made Julie’s crock-pot curried lentils, except I used canned lentils, chicken breasts instead of thighs, and broccoli instead of cauliflower. I added everything except the lentils (and I left out the broth entirely) in the morning, and added them about an hour before we were ready for dinner.

DSCF3630 Lentils are delicious, despite the fact that they never look particularly appetizing.

It was a tasty dinner, especially with a scoop of sour cream on top.

Let’s get into this week’s grocery shopping and meal planning, shall we?

Proteins/Dairy

DSCF3637

  • shaved ham
  • chicken breasts
  • pork chops
  • salmon
  • lobster tails
  • smoked salmon (I was really feeling the seafood this week, wasn’t I?)
  • whole chicken
  • egg whites
  • cream cheese

Produce

DSCF3640

  • Fuji apples
  • blueberries
  • minced garlic (hey, sometimes I’m lazy)
  • applesauce
  • bananas

I promise I still eat vegetables! I still have spinach, bell pepper, carrots, yellow beans and frozen veggies to eat up, so I kept it light on the produce this week. Trying to bring down that grocery bill by making sure I’m eating up what I have.

Miscellaneous

DSCF3645

  • english muffins
  • frozen meals (for the boy)
  • almond milk
  • church key can opener (I had to google that to figure out what it was called)

I didn’t really have a lot to buy this week, so I managed to come within budget. Yay!

Meal Plan

  • Saturday: wing it
  • Sunday: salmon, rice and salad
  • Monday: pork chops, potatoes and veggies
  • Tuesdays: pancakes and bacon (Open-mouthed smile!!!)
  • Wednesday: wing it
  • Thursday: lobster tails (whether or not you like Valentine’s day, you have to appreciate all the chocolate and the lobster that goes on sale that week)
  • Friday: stuffed chicken breasts

Should be good! I’m trying to make a point of having two nights a week where we either pick something up, make leftovers, or eat something simple. It’s cheaper than trying to make beautiful dinner every night of the week, and makes things a little bit easier for me.

Pitch Perfect

I had the apartment to myself last night (Eric went for a boy’s night) so I decided to throw on Pitch Perfect – I’ve seen so many people rave about it that I had to watch it. It is rare that I find a musical/music-focused movie that I do not like (pretty sure I could recite Rent line-by-line) so I figured it’d be a good choice.

(source)

 

So…I get why so many people rave about it. That was a fantastic movie!

It makes me wish that:

1. I could sing acapella. Or at all. To say that I am tone-deaf would be putting it pretty mildly.

2. I could add start adding aca’ as a prefix to everything. Allison was watching it at the same time I was, and her thoughts?

Aca-Awesome

Well played Allison, well played. (See? It would just make everyday conversation more entertaining).

 Have a good one!

<— What dinners are you planning on making this week? Planning on having pancakes on Tuesday?

<— Any singers out there?

<— What did you think of Pitch Perfect (if you’ve seen it)?

32 thoughts on “I Wish I Could Sing Like That.

  1. ahh gosh I loved that movie. I am dying to see it again just so I can sing along because now I listen to the soundtrack on pandora. no shame

  2. Your Tuesday night dinner is my favorite 😀

  3. I’m so glad you liked it. We need to have a mass movie-watching night where we all watch it and tweet at each other at the same time.
    Also, pancakes for dinner is something I keep saying I’ll do but I actually need to get on that.

  4. I’m loving the sound of all that seafood, especially the lobster tails! I’m hosting a dinner party on Wednesday so a lot of cooking will be going down this week including a quinoa & avocado salad, prawn cocktail, chicken tikka, Indonesian rice, a pesto pasta, Thai basil tofu…yeahhh I have a busy few days in the kitchen up now ;)!

  5. Whew. Now that is definitely one serious storm. Is it wrong that my first thought was something along the lines of: “Holy crap. I’m glad that wasn’t me?” :mrgreen: And I have yet to see Pitch Perfect, but with the way everyone seems to be raving about it, I think it’s something that I need to look into. Aaaaaand no pancakes for me on Tuesday probably, but I DO plan on baking cinnamon rolls, which I think is an acceptable alternative 😉

  6. I’ve not seen that film but you sell it very well so might have to give it a go! Pancakes on Tuesday is a must!

  7. My meal plan got a little messed up so I’m making pizza quinoa casserole this week!

  8. I watched it on FRIDAY! Sooo close to being there with you two haha, and I loved it. I downloaded some songs to my iphone, added them to my running playlist and was acapellaing it up on my long run yesterday…I’m sure the citizens of Oakland, Squirrel Hill and Shadyside appreciated it. Pancakes for dinner is always a fav…I had waffles and eggs last night and it was fabulous…might have to do that again tonight 😀

  9. That movie = amazing!! I repeatedly get renditions of songs from the movie stuck in my head! It was AcaAwesome!

  10. I had lentils with eggs and veggies for breakfast, looked horrible but tasted great! I saw lobster tail and thought you were getting really fancy, what a special valentines day dinner you are going to have! This Tuesday is the only day my stepdad Will eats pancakes. He is from England and apparently there lots of people only ever eat pancakes the day before lent. I love pancakes and can’t imagine only getting to eat them once a year.

  11. Wait is it Pancake Tuesday this week? Darn I totally forgot about that! I might have to make some changes to my meal plan now. 😛

    This week I’m making pork tenderloin with an orange pan sauce + a wheatberry salad, salmon with a beet, grapefruit and goat cheese salad + quinoa on the side, pasta with pesto and goat cheese, and some other meals I can’t remember off the top of my head.

    I loooooved Pitch Perfect! I was laughing the whole time. 😀

  12. I loooved Pitch Perfect! Rebel Wilson has been fantastic in every movie she’s appeared in–especially Bridesmaids! I’m not sure what her next production is, but I’ll most definitely be in the theater watching. 🙂

    You inspire me with your meal planning skills (I think I’ve told you this…a zillion times?), but I’m most intrigued by the pancake and bacon dinner on Tuesday. Sounds perfect. I think I’ll be following your lead.

    Hope you had a lovely weekend, Sam! ❤

  13. Wow, that’s a lot of protein! Are you going to eat that all in one week??

  14. If I sang… Dolphins would kill themselves – AHHH HA HA HA! What does that even mean? Exactly.

    And no, I haven’t seen Pitch Perfect. I hate MUSICALS but… you say you’re no fan of them either yet you liked this movie, so maybe I just need to SUCK IT UP and watch!!

    • haha that might be the best quote I’ve heard all day!

      And I do love musicals! I don’t know if this quite falls under the musical category though, in the sense that all the songs are covers. Even if you’re not a musical fan, the pure hilariousness of it makes if worth it!

  15. I sing! I have an audition tomorrow that involves it, and I’m SUPER excited 🙂 Pitch Perfect is the funniest movie! I feel like its the new Mean Girls!

  16. Great post! Pitch Perfect was so unexpectedly awesome

  17. Pingback: Gone Brunette. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

