Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The Plan for the Week.

27 Comments

Hello there Smile

Just wanted to pop in on a Sunday morning and show you guys my shopping and my meal plan for the week! I’ve been trying to take this weekend to relax and unplug a bit, but I will be back tomorrow morning with recaps. I hope this weekend (hopefully a long one for you!) is treating you well!

Proteins/Dairy

DSCF3741

  • turkey sausage
  • flat of eggs (every two weeks. Like clockwork).
  • shrimp
  • garden vegetable cream cheese
  • sour cream
  • 2% Greek yogurt (which was supposed to be plain. Apparently, I grabbed vanilla – good thing that’s usually my second choice)

Fruits and Veggies

DSCF3738

  • guacamole (usually I make my own, but sometimes laziness wins out)
  • romaine
  • broccoli (a lot of it…yay 2/$4 sale!)
  • grapes
  • baby carrots
  • sliced mushrooms
  • baby onions (I was looking for pearl onions but they didn’t have any. Hopefully these will work just as well?)
  • buttercup squash (never heard of it before, but the label said that it’s one of the sweeter varieties. Looking forward to testing it out)
  • tomato paste
  • tomato

 

Breads/Grains

DSCF3746

  • whole wheat pastry flour
  • sprouted grain bread (seriously enjoying this stuff)
  • rice cakes
  • English muffins

Pasta

DSCF3748

  • egg noodles
  • soba noodles

Into the Freezer

DSCF3752

  • frozen waffles (I used to live off of the things in high school, but I haven’t bought them in years. Katie and Amanda have got me craving them again, so I picked up a box)
  • frozen meals (the boyfriend will have one of these for his lunch if there’s no leftovers in the fridge)

Miscellaneous

DSCF3753

  • red wine (for cooking…I’m usually a white wine drinker. I really have no idea how to buy wine specifically for cooking – I ‘ve heard that as long as it’s something you would drink, it’s ok? I like XOXO and it’s cheap, so I figured it would work)
  • ziplock bags
  • aluminum foil

I kind of live for no-tax weekends at Zehr’s. Just saying.

Meal Plan 2/16-2/22

  • Saturday: out for dinner
  • Sunday: turkey sausage on a bun with side salad
  • Monday: out for dinner
  • Tuesday: Slow Cooker Coq Au Vin – excited to try this!
  • Wednesday: shrimp tacos
  • Thursday: slow cooker chicken with roasted squash and broccoli
  • Friday: chicken stirfry

Talk to you later!

<— What are you planning on cooking up this week?

<— Frozen waffles: yay or nay? While I prefer waffles out of my waffle iron…these are so much simpler.

27 thoughts on “The Plan for the Week.

  1. I just bought sprouted grain bread for the first time yesterday and LOVE it! Seriously, can’t believe how good it is haha…i’m planning on making this crockpot mediterranean chicken dish which i will post if it turns out well and i have frozen waffles in my freezer too…i should prob finish those puppies haha…they’ve been there for a while 😛

  2. I love the veggie picture! I’m going shopping this morning, but I’m particularly looking forward to my veggie enchiladas this week! I gave up meat for Lent, so my boyfriend and I are getting creative. 🙂 Also, there’s just nothing like a frozen waffle. Sure, fresh ones are amazing…but frozen waffles will always have a special place in my heart!

  3. Those maple cinnamon waffles look great! I say yes to waffles of any type.

  4. I haven’t had waffles in years, I used to eat them all the time in high school. I love having the fridge/pantry stocked after a grocery trip! Hope you enjoy your Sunday!

  5. I eat frozen waffles every morning. I feel like there’s such a stigma with them that they’re “unhealthy” but they’re not at all!! Especially if you get the more natural ones like you chose. Also, totally eat egg noodles every night. Favorite kind of pasta hands down 🙂

  6. Van’s frozen waffles are the best, esp. the apple cinnamon ones. Delish

  7. Buttercup squash is probably my favorite sweet squash. Or maybe my lazy self just appreciates a squash that can be microwaved, if I’m short on time, that will still taste sweet without true caramelization. I’ve noticed that in most [Loblaws company] stores I’ve been to they label it interchangeably with the perennial blog world favorite kabocha (actually, it’s usually just kabocha, not buttercup). Although I will always seek out a T&T if I want cheap cheap kabocha 🙂

  8. That vanilla Oikos is the best! I literally always have a tub of it in my fridge! And I’m excited to hear how you like buttercup squash. I really like it – it’s pretty similar to kabocha.

    Also I love coq au vin! I’ve never made a slow cooker version before though. I’m excited to see how you like it!

    I actually haven’t made my meal plan for next week yet – I might just wing it! I have a few meals in my freezer I need to use up.

    • I don’t think I’ve had the Oikos vanilla before, but you can never really go wrong with that flavour.
      And I am too! it calls for chicken, bacon and wine – sounds like deliciousness to me. 😀 I’ll let you know how the recipe turns out!

  9. omgosh I swear you’re the only one that posts on Sundays! Which I’m super glad because you’re one of my favourite bloggers!
    And I can bet that buttercup squash and kabocha squash are the same varieties, or at least extremely similar .. sometimes I think the grocery store mislabels them at times because they’re so similar! When I buy kabocha at one store, and buy “buttercup” as it’s labelled at another, they bake and taste and look exactly the same .. let us know how they turn out!

  10. First thought that popped into my head when scrolling through your grocery haul was: “You got the waffles!!” 😆 I love fresh waffles too, but these are great in sp pinch. Hope you’re enjoying your weekend unplugged. I did the same and it’s quite wonderful 🙂

    • lmao you do inspire me :-p And I can’t even remember the last time I broke out the waffle maker, so I’ll definitely take the freezer variety.
      It’s definitely nice to step back a little bit, I think I’m going to be doing it more often!

  11. I don’t have a meal plan for the week yet! I should get on that.

  12. I haven’t made a weekly meal plan yet, but I have plans to make a plan in the morning. 😉 Since it’s a long weekend in the U.S., I decided to wait and do my grocery shopping tomorrow. Your slow cooker coq au vin sounds delicious—I may try to find a similar recipe, because thinking about it has set of some serious cravings!

    Huge YAY to waffles. Homemade is always best, but I don’t have a waffle maker in DC, so frozen is my best and only option! I love mine topped with peanut butter and banana, but they’re also good really good with avocado, chicken and cheese. Mmm. Now I’m craving waffles, too. If they show up in my grocery cart tomorrow, I’m blaming you! 🙂

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend, Sam! ❤

  13. Wow your weekly meal plans sounds amazing Sam, can I come round for tea?! Love the slow cooker meals, I have yet to cave in and buy one but I think it will only be a matter of time!

  14. Pingback: Trustworthy Sources (and Fried Egg Wafflewiches) - Nourish and Flourish

Leave a Reply

