Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Tuesday Thoughts.

36 Comments

Good morning!

It’s a short week for most, so I figured I’d start it off with some random thoughts that have been swirling around in my head lately. AKA: I have no ideas for anything coherent today, so you get rambles Smile 

1. At the end of the night when I’m relaxing in the couch (catching up on TV, reading, blogging, or what-have-you) I absolutely have to take off my socks. In my head, I equate bare feet with relaxation/winding down. In fact, I kind of hate wearing socks – I live for flats and sandals.

DSCF2178

and yes…my feet are usually a tad swollen by the end of the day. Sexy.

2. I’ve been locked in a battle with myself for the last year or so over my tongue ring. The best friend and I got them pierced when we were 16, so I’ve had it for…7 years now. I feel like I’m outgrowing it, but at the same time – I’m still so attached. Plus taking it out is the weirdest feeling ever, especially when I try to eat or drink something. Just odd.

3. My greatest blessing in my academic career has been the fact that I am a speed reader. I’m on my 3rd book in about 4 days for my thesis lit review.

4. One day at the gym last week, the Mortal Kombat theme song came on the loudspeakers. And it absolutely made my day. #nerdalert

(source)

 

5. Whenever I eat pancakes, french toast or waffles with maple syrup, I have to put it in a little cup on the side and dip it. Same thing goes for grilled cheese, fries, or anything else I use ketchup with – it must be dipped. Call it my odd little food ritual.

 

6. I am so ready for it to be Spring. I was at the mall last weekend jean shopping (I broke the zipper on my favourite pair…fail) and I found myself trying on dresses and Spring stuff. I seriously kind of hate wearing pants – I want my dress and skirt weather back!

 

7. I’ve determined that coconut butter does not exist in Brantford. Paige and Lisa both have me curious to try it (plus really, it just sounds delicious) but nope – nowhere around here. I’m pretty sure I’ve checked every grocery and health food store possible.

 

8. After spending time in therapy, I’m way more in tune with my emotions than I have ever been before. The problem with this? My eyes have turned into faucets – any time I feel any sort of intense emotion (frustration, anger, happiness, stress) I can immediately feel the waterworks coming. I’m happy that I’m in touch with my feelings, but jesus, it’s annoying sometimes. I’m actually a little scared to think about what I’m going to be like when I get to the baby-making stage of my life and have to deal with pregnancy hormones…I have a feeling it won’t be pretty.

 

(source)

While true…this doesn’t actually make me cry (at least I hope it never does).

 

And that’s all I got for now…hope you have a lovely day!

 

<— Do you have any food rituals?

<— Have you tried coconut butter? Did you have trouble finding it?

<— Anyone else a big crier?

36 thoughts on “Tuesday Thoughts.

  1. I have to dip all my food like that too! No way can the condiment touch my food before I’m ready. I am a huge crier as well. I feel sorry for Luke when I get pregnant.

  2. Haha I always dip my food in syrup or ketchup too! Glad I’m not the only one 🙂 I’m just realizing I hate pants. I used to swear by them but they’re so…. constricting! I am soooo ready for summer. This winter has gone on long enough!

  3. I hate socks too, but my feet get cold in the winter so I usually have to keep them on. Summer, though? You won’t find me in a pair of socks throughout the whole season. And dresses! Yes! Ugh, I can’t wait to get out of these pants. Err. That sounded cleaner before I typed it out 😉

    I’m actually not the biggest crier, but I wish I was. Maybe not wish that I was the BIGGEST one, but that I could cry more often. It’s getting better, but I still have a ways to go. And I’m totally with you on being a dipper. Sometimes I’ll even have the ketchup bottle next to me and individually squeeze it onto each thing that I want it on… like the little kid in the Heinz commercial 😉

  4. I am a big time crier, just like my grandma I will cry at anything. I wish I had your speed reading, I have been doing a lot of research and unfortunately it takes a long time.

  5. Nothing like getting the air between your toes – I know exactly what you mean. I put fluffy socks on every night before bed though, its too cold to have bare feet! I have coconut oil on everything and it is amazing – I’m guessing its the same as coconut oil?!

  6. I think I might have to go through the same battle with my nose ring one day. I love it and so far it hasn’t been an issue, but I have a feeling that in 10 years, I will be in a job interview and someone will say “please get the metal out of your face”. And dude, I don’t think coconut butter exists anywhere is CANADA!

    • Yea, that’s another one I’m going to have to think about. Although I feel like studs are becoming more acceptable though!

      And that is such a pain…and shipping to Canada is ridiculous. I’ll have to add it to the list of things to get next time I go over the border.

      • I don’t know if either of you get to Toronto at all, or know its areas really, but I’ve seen coconut butter in a few natural foods stores in Kensington market, and pretty much always at Whole Foods (more expensive there, but that’s to be expected).

        And I have had great success DIYing it using my Vita-mix, but other bloggers have done it with their food processor. It’s literally a matter of buying unsweetened dried coconut, putting it in, and turning it on. It’s one of the “easy” butters to make because it’s such a high fat content relative to carbohydrates/protein 🙂

      • I have a small, kind of horrid food processor, but it would likely be worth a shot! Thanks for passing on that info!

  7. so I never ever used to cry. i swear since going through treatment and entering treatment I am a leaky faucet. who is this girl? I can’t imagine a tongue ring, I bet it would feel weird without it.

  8. Haha, I’m SO with you on socks!! I love slippers, but socks feel so uncomfortable for so reason! I don’t know what it is about them!
    Which means spring can’t come fast enough! I’d like to live back in dresses and skirts please. I hate pants.
    I can’t believe you can’t find coconut butter where you live!!!! That is a no-no.
    Yessss, now that I’ve been in therapy for years I’m an emotional mess all the time basically. Anything can set me off haha. Well, I guess I also have been working on this issue I have with criticism from others as soon as someone says something to jab at me a little bit I’m a mess. Gosh.
    Oh and we’re also twins with book reading. I’m such a speed reader, I can finish at least one book a week. Which makes it harder to find good books to read.

  9. Yay for a random Tuesday post! These are my favorite 🙂 I am so with you on Spring haha and OMG I LOOKED EVERYWHERE FOR COCONUT BUTTER AND HAVE YET TO FIND IT! I’m so frustrated because I want some so badly! And yeah, as I get older, I become much more of a crier, especially when stressed, mad, or worried about something. I was in tears most of Friday night because of my car…I feel bad for Joe and my family who had to listen ha…pregnancy should be good times haha

  10. I love hearing that you dip your grilled cheese in ketchup! Some people look at me like I am completely nuts when I do this. All I have to say is…don’t knock it until you try it!

  11. coconut butter is the best, we have a recipe on our blog of how to make it yourself. it is really easy- just need plain coconut flakes 🙂
    and yes we sooo ready for Spring!!

  12. I just found ‘Olivio Coconut Spead’ in the butter isle at a grocery store. I’m excited to try it out!

  13. I looove coconut butter! We’re currently out of stock at work, but we’re getting a shipment of it in later this week! Are you planning on coming to London anytime soon? I can put aside a jar for you! 😀

    And YES I am a huge crier too! I never used to be, but these past few years my emotions have gone haywire! I’ve already cried twice today because of stress over internship interviews hahaha.

  14. I always take off my socks to relax too! I favor slippers if I have to move around, so generally they sit next to the couch or my desk. I like to do both, smear condiments on AND dip 🙂

  15. Do you know how much of a relief it is to hear that you cry much more now?! I’ve found the exact same thing — I went something like eight years without crying, and now it’s nearly constant. I honestly thought that there was something wrong with me … Thank you for affirming that it’s normal (at least for us).

  16. I have to sleep with my socks off. I can lounge in them though!

  17. I’m a leaky faucet, too! I hadn’t thought to blame therapy, but I think you’re right—all that counseling made me very open with my emotions. Heck, I even cried on a first date a few weeks ago (in a good, happy way)…Thank God he did as well. Haha. I’ll take the tears, though, because I MUCH prefer wearing my heart on my sleeve than keeping my feelings bottled up. 🙂

    Coconut butter is a mainstay in my diet, which I love and hate at the same time. I love that it can transform toast, pancakes, waffles and sweet potatoes into bites of *amazing*, but hate that fueling my addiction empties my wallet. Those little jars are pricey buggers, so maybe consider it a mixed blessing that you can’t find any?

    You already know ALL about my food quirks, but I think I forgot to mention that whenever I eat hard-boiled eggs, I eat the white first, and save the yolk for last. 🙂

    • My thoughts exactly – I spent years bottling up everything, and I’d much rather be more open with my feelings now…even if it means mascara tears once in a while.
      That is a good point, although Chelsea has promised to put some aside for me from where she works…so at least now I still get to try it, but I won’t be able to buy it too often .-p

      I KNEW someone had done a post about that recently and I couldn’t remember who! And that’s an interesting one!

Leave a Reply

