Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW: Brunch and Linner.

48 Comments

Hi there!

Yup, it’s Wednesday already.

(Thanks for hosting, Jenn!) Anyone else kind of surprised by that? This week is definitely flying by.

So I’m going to be showcasing my eats from Monday. It was Family Day around these parts, so Eric had the day off as well. And because I’m not going home at for my reading week, my parents came up to visit and treat us for dinner. Always happy to see them!

Pre-Workout

Because my parents were going to be coming by in the early afternoon, I decided to head to the gym first thing, rather than waiting until late morning like I usually do. I downed some BCAA’s and a SimplyWhey Apple Cinnamon Bar (look for my review tomorrow!) about 45 minutes after I woke up, and headed off.

DSCF3776

My usual gym (at the university) was closed on Family Day, but I had heard that the YMCA a few blocks away offers two free guest passes per person, so people get a chance to check it out before committing. So, the Y it was.

DSCF2172

Monday was an upper body day, followed by 15 minutes of intervals on the treadmill. Overall, it was a decent gym – the locker rooms were nice and the equipment was in good shape. It was a little crowded, but I think that had more to do with the fact that it was a holiday than anything else. I liked it, but I don’t think I liked it enough that I would switch from my current (free) gym. I was glad I got the opportunity to go though, and I’m sure I’ll use up the other free pass in the near future.

Brunch

By the time I got home and put breakfast together, it was almost 11:00. So…brunch?

DSCF3778

I mixed about 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder with about 1/2 cup 2% Oikos Greek yogurt in vanilla, then plopped it on two toasted Nature’s Path Apple Cinnamon waffles. Made me happy.

I’m So Disorganized.

I always go back and forth on what to do on holidays (especially a random one, like Family Day). Take the time to relax, or take the time to get shit done? I went with the latter, and tackled something I have been putting off for a LONG time.

s

I’m pretty sure I can hear the collective shudders.

In my apartment, the couch is pushed up against the stairs, making under the stairs the perfect spot for storage. When we moved here, we would toss random stuff back there in an attempt to get it out of the way (notice empty wine bottles, boxes, dumbbells, my yoga mat…) and we have just kept it up for the last 6 months. So Monday I finally got it done:

DSCF3784

Still not beautiful, but a vast improvement. (And Eric decided to bottle wine for the first time. Hence, the massive amounts of wine bottles).

I needed something to munch on after that:

DSCF3786

Bigger than a snack, not quite a meal. A piece of slow cooker banana bread with almond butter, baby carrots, grapes, and shaved ham. I went back for more carrots and another piece of banana bread.

My parents showed up around 3, so we hung around and chatted for a bit. We also watched the first episode of Downton Abbey so my mom could see it – she loves anything to do with historical fiction and Coronation Street (anyone/anyone’s parents watch that show? My mom’s been watching it for decades) so I knew she would love it. Of course, now she’s asking for the rest of the season!

 

PSA

I need to mention something here – while we were watching Downton, we suddenly heard a loud bang, and the screeching sound of metal on metal. Of course, we rushed outside and saw that there was a bad accident at the end of my street. The scariest part was that a child in the back (looked like about 12-13, a passerby who walked by us later told us) had not been wearing a seatbelt. When the car was t-boned, he spilled out the side door onto the street. He was conscious, but he couldn’t stand up. I haven’t heard any updates on the story since, but I sincerely hope he’s doing ok.

I felt the need to add this in here as a plea to PLEASE wear your seatbelt! When I was 16, we lost a family friend in an accident (she was 17 at the time) because she hadn’t been wearing one. Just do it – there is absolutely no excuse not to.

Linner

So, back to the food.

My mom has been wanting to try the Moose Winooski’s in Brantford, so we headed there for an early dinner. Moose Winooski’s is a strictly Canadian, but nonetheless typical chain restaurant.

DSCF2174

Spinach and artichoke dip with chips and baked pita triangles to share – it’s kinda green, so that means there’s more than 2% spinach in there, right?

I decided to order the chicken fajitas for dinner. You know how when you’re trying to decide between two options on a menu, you pick one, and then as soon as the waitress walks away, you regret it? Yup…that was me. I was looking at the Thai lettuce wraps, I should have gone with those.

DSCF2175

Sizzling plate of onion, pepper strips and chicken.

DSCF2177

The tortillas and the fixings (lettuce, tomato, sour cream, salsa, cheese). I also had guacamole in there (although the waitress did not inform me that the guac was an extra charge…grr).

I made myself two fajitas with everything, and then proceeded to throw some toppings on the sizzling plate and eat the rest of the chicken, peppers and some of the onions with a fork.

Overall…meh. It was a typical chain restaurant experience – the hot stuff for the fajitas were oily and greasy as all hell, and the dip (and my dad’s potato soup) were lukewarm. Serves as a reminder as to why I prefer locally owned, at least! Not my worst dining experience, but still pretty subpar. The company was good, so that’s the important part.

Snack

The before bed snack:

DSCF3796

Cottage cheese, almond butter, strawberry jam. I wasn’t really starving before bed, but if I didn’t eat I knew I’d wake up about 4 hours later feeling pretty ravenous. Before bed snack = necessity.

Today is more thesis reading (I’m almost through my pile of books though!) and heading over to the gym for a bit. Hope you have a great day!

<— Ever do the ‘immediate regret’ thing right after ordering at a restaurant? I blame my indecisiveness.

<— Had a less-than-ideal dining experience lately?

48 thoughts on “WIAW: Brunch and Linner.

  1. The yoghurt and vanilla protein powder on your waffles looks like icing and sound delish. Love a good brunch. I know what you mena about eating at chains.. usually the meal is ‘fine’ but rarely brilliant.. there always seems to be something not quite right about it. I always have to have something sweet before dinner otherwise I wake up in the middle of the night hungry!

  2. Aww I love that you had such a great day with your parents!!! I absolutely love it. I am counting down the days (24) until I see my mom again. It’s never to early to start!

  3. Great job organizing! Looks awesome, it always feels good to get things done, then do lots of relaxing on days off. That’s so scary about that accident! I hope the boy is ok. I’ve had instant ordering regret a few times, not fun. I usually sneak food off my friends plates when that happens!

  4. Yay for organization! That accident story gave me goosebumps 😦

  5. Ugh, I hate when I am trying to order something halfway healthy and it’s drowned in oil….

  6. MMMMMM, all of your eats look awesome! Sometimes the snacks, eat at odd times days are the best! I am the worst with going to a new restaurant, I hate getting “trigger happy” with menu items!

  7. Ugh I can be sooo indecisive! I usually change my order at the last second and I definitely regret it sometimes!

  8. gah that car accident is so scary. chips and dip, best thing ever. i am a salsa queen

  9. I just had the Apple Cinnamon SB yesterday and it’s so good! Ah, the perks of being a blogger 🙂 I’m totally craving fajitas now too, just trying to think of where I can get them in Guelph… Definitely with you on the before bed snack. I didn’t eat enough before I went to bed last night and I got so hungry that I couldn’t fall asleep. I had to get up for several spoonfuls of pb.

  10. Cottage cheese with almond butter? I will have to try this combo 🙂

  11. Oh my goodness that spinach artichoke dip looks so good. I’ve never seen it green before- how sad is that? So good though!

  12. I loooove pita! This made me miss it big time! I think I may need to go buy some now.
    That’s fantastic you had such a great time with your Parents, although I find it’s hard not to these days.
    I can get a little disorganized at moments too, at least you fixed it up!
    Oh no, that story is not good! Ah, that’s so scary! Hopefully everyone is okay!!

  13. Oh man that’s really scary about the little kid 😦 I hope that he’s okay. I was just thinking the other day as I was waiting on a traffic light how I don’t understand how people can drive without seatbelts… I put mine on before I start my car, mostly because the feeling of driving without them and not feeling like something is securely holding me in place just skeeves me out.

    • I don’t either! It always makes me ridiculously nervous when I’m driving with someone and they don’t have their seatbelt on. If I’m the driver…then the car doesn’t move until everyone is buckled up.

      It is scary, I’ve been checking the news but I haven’t heard anything.

  14. I am horrible when it comes to getting things organized around the house! I love the idea of mixing protein powder with yogurt for a pancake or waffle topping!

  15. I hate the regret thing at restaurants. That definitely happened last week. I was excited about my order and super depressed when it arrived 🙂 well, better luck for next time 🙂 Good job on organizing!

  16. Brunch and linner are honestly the best. I love them! Good job with your organizing! My boyfriend and I are slowly taking steps to have an organized apartment and it feels GREAT!

  17. oh yes! I have that happen at least once a month haha. I think you’re right about indecisiveness playing a big part! I’m glad some extra time with your family! That always makes my day, especially when they take me out for food, even if it is sub par…free is free, right?

  18. I’ve never heard of that chain restaurant before! Sorry it was sucky though. I tend to have really bad experiences at chain restaurants too. The meat is always overcooked, the vegetables are flavourless, the salads are boring… clearly I don’t have many nice things to say about them. Oh, except Milestones. I love their sweet soy salmon and cheesecake. 😀

    Also that’s really scary about the accident. I hope the kid is okay!

  19. I LOVE fajitas! Haven’t had them in forever.

  20. I love linner! It’s my favorite meal 😉 The artichoke spin dip looks outta sight! Happy WIAW!

  21. I know it’s pretty simple, but I am loving the greek yogurt and protein powder combo on the english muffin! What a perfect post-workout snack… okay yes, most definitely going to have this later TODAY! Plus it looks light frosting so heck yes to that 😉
    That is so scary about the accident, I am hoping the person is okay, yikes! Keep us updated if you hear anything as well, I am curious now. Yesss always wear your seatbelt, it really can make the difference. On that note, I am very sorry to hear about the family member that you lost, just awful

  22. immediate regret order at a restaurant haha yes that has happened a few times. since we have such food sensitivities when a menu does not list everything that really comes on the meal, makes for a regret order and regret feelings of not asking what is exactly on it 😉 it happens

  23. yum yum, that simplewhey bar sounds like something i need to try. i always love having yummy and healthy snacks on the go 🙂

  24. Pingback: Five Things Friday: 01/03/13. | Better With Sprinkles

  25. Pingback: Rehashing February. | Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

