Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The Simply Bar Review.

34 Comments

Good morning!

Today’s post is all about The Simply Bar, who graciously sent me their products in exchange for an honest review. Founder Cathy Richards (who suffers from Crohn’s Disease) wanted to create a snack that was easy to digest, so she created bars that were:

  • high protein (16 grams)
  • gluten free 
  • kosher
  • vegan
  • non-dairy
  • low sugar (made with brown rice syrup, and no artificial sweeteners)
  • low calorie
  • 4 grams of fibre
  • made with a short list of non-GMO ingredients.

The company has recently expanded to include two new product lines: Simply Whey bars and Simply Protein Chips.

So first up: the traditional Simply Bar. The bars are made with soy protein crisps, so they’ve got a good crunchy texture to them. The overall flavours were good, if not a little mild; the low sugar count made them not quite sweet enough for my palate. I found that I usually needed to throw a bit of nut butter on top to make them calorically dense enough to satisfy me – but really, doesn’t nut butter improve everything?

Caramel Peanut: I didn’t really get the caramel, but I loved how it had big peanut chunks scattered throughout. One of the better flavours for sure.

DSCF3816

Cocoa with Raspberry: I’ve never been a huge raspberry fan – I like them fresh, but freeze-dried (which this bar had) or frozen don’t do it for me. I did enjoy the cocoa flavouring though.

Cocoa Coffee: Somehow, my hatred of coffee does not extend to coffee-flavoured things – I liked this flavour a lot! Strong taste of coffee, without being overbearing.

DSCF3601

Lemon Coconut: Probably my least favourite of the bunch. I’m picky about lemon-flavoured things (lemon bars and lemon meringue pie are the only ones I really like) and I found that the lemon really overpowered the coconut.

Cinnamon Pecan: Considering my tendency to dump cinnamon over everything, clearly I loved this flavour. The big chunks of pecan definitely helped too!

DSCF3659

Peanut Butter Chocolate: This is where my Reese’s addiction fails me – this bar was not sweet enough or peanut-buttery enough for me. Good as a snack, but wouldn’t do it for peanut butter and chocolate cravings.

Simply Whey Bars:

Unlike the regular Simply Bars, the whey bars are nut-free and made without soy or tree nuts. So, these babies are safe for my nut-free people!

Coconut: really simple, subtle coconut flavour. Really liked it!

Apple Cinnamon: the unexpected favourite! The cinnamon flavour was right on, and I adored the apple chunks throughout. I’m definitely going to be hunting for these in the future.

DSCF3776

Simply Protein Chips

Even though I’m not typically a savoury snack kind of girl, I was very intrigued by these. Made with pea protein, these chips are gluten, dairy and soy free. And 15 grams of protein – what other chips can say that?

Texture wise, these were closer to Fritos or Hickory sticks than they were to traditional potato chips. They had an awesome crunch to them, but without the greasiness of traditional chips. Of course, they were best when dip of some sort was added to the picture.

DSCF3758

They offer two different kids: Herb and Chili. Both were good, but I preferred the chili flavour – they had a hint of a sweet spice to them. Like the bars, the flavours were good, but a bit on the mild side. I think the chips are such an interesting idea; I haven’t seen them in stores around me yet, but I’ll be on the lookout.

DSCF3749

Overall, these were some tasty snacks! The Apple Cinnamon Whey bar, the Chili Protein chips, and the Cocoa Coffee Simply Bar won out for me – I’ll definitely be looking for them in the future. Have a great day!

<— Have you tried any of the Simply Bar products? Do you want to?

<— Favourite portable snack?

 

Disclaimer: although I was provided with the products free of charge, I was not compensated for my review. All opinions are my own.

34 thoughts on “The Simply Bar Review.

  1. Woah these are all really interesting. I’ve seen simply bars before and I don’t know why I haven’t bought them. The chips definitely sound like something I might try. Who doesn’t want to eat chips that are healthified?

  2. !! I’ve seen a few of these bars before, but each time I checked them out, I was disappointed to see that I couldn’t eat them because of the peanuts 😦 I’m not sure if I came across those peanut free Simply Whey bars, but I’ll have to keep my eyes open because I’m always looking for a good nut free bar.

  3. I haven’t tried any of these but I’d be curious to do so if I ever found them in Pittsburgh. My favorite portable snack would probably be my snack baggies full of pretzels, pb pretzels, nuts, popcorn, dried fruit, etc….get a little bit of everything 😉 luna bars work in a pinch though…esp lemon zest! My new fav 🙂

  4. The bars seem like a great idea. It is very hard to find high protein bars that are not loaded up with fake sugars. My favorite portable snack would be hard boiled eggs or almonds.

  5. Luna bars are one of my favs! I’ve never heard of this particular brand, though. In your opinion, do you feel like the more “natural” companies try to make their products, the more likely the taste of the product is jeopardized? It sounds like these are great, which is why I’m so curious! I think it solely depends on the company producing the product, personally.

    • Yes and no – it depends on what kind of flavour they’re going for! I mean, if you’re looking for a chocolate bar replacement or something super sweet, than no, the more natural products usually aren’t quite going to cut it. But if you’re just looking for a more generic-but-tasty flavour (cinnamon, fruit, nuts) than I think the more natural companies ‘usually’ do a good job.

  6. I was on a major Simply Bar kick several years ago, and would order them by the box. It wasn’t the flavor that was the selling point, though–because I agree–there are tastier bars out there–but the nutrition stats. Lower sugar options that aren’t laden with artificial sweeteners are hard to find! I no longer eat nearly as many bars as I used to (I was a bar QUEEN), but occasionally buy Quest Bars when I need something quick.

    I’d love to try the Simply Whey Bar; I didn’t know they existed! And those chips look like a great way to satisfy a crunchy craving. 🙂

    Happy Thursday, Sam! ❤

  7. I adore their chips, I just wish they sold them near me. I have never had their bars, or at least those flavors.

  8. I tried the lemon coconut Simply Bar when I was traveling – spotted it in a store and was intrigued since I had never tried it before – but I wasn’t impressed :/ But after reading your reviews [and that it was your least fave flavor], I’m interested in trying one of the chocolate varieties! It’s hard not to like things with chocolate…

  9. I have seen the simply bar on a few blogs but have never tried them. I try not to eat bars because I find they are often really high in sugar and leave me hungry again too soon.

  10. I love that the whey bars are soy free. This is often difficult to find in a protein bar.

    And those chips? They sound awfully tasty!!

  11. Your opinions were almost the same as mine! I actually liked the peanut butter chocolate, but you’re right, it is NOT a Reese cup (nor is a low-carb, sugar-free Quest THING!). The only one I really didn’t like was caramel peanut. Bland, not sweet AT ALL, bleh.

  12. Oh man, I’m reading this right as my afternoon hunger strikes! Wish I had one of these, I guess I’ll settle for my banana. Speaking of, a banana is one of my favorite portable snacks, or a bar of some kind!

  13. The Simply Whey bars are peanut free, but are they free of all nuts? That would make me SO happy if they are! I’ve never been able to find a satisfying nut-free granola bar!

  14. I’m intrigued by these. Definitely worth trying -Thanks for the review!

  15. Sound yummy! I’m definitely loving the protein count. I need to try ’em!

  16. Hello! I recently just started a youtube Korean food channel, EasyKoreanFood, where you can learn how to make fast and easy Korean food! It would mean the world to me if you took the time to check it out because I’m just starting out! Thanks!

  17. The chips look good! Not sure about the bars though… not chocolate-y enough for me 😛

  18. Pingback: Rehashing February. | Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

