Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Groceries and Meal Plan: 2/24

22 Comments

Hello loves! Smile

Just popping in to show off my purchases and meal plan for the week. I’ll see you tomorrow with a weekend recap!

Proteins/Dairy

DSCF3862

DSCF3863

  • frozen pot roast (woot convenience food! Eric loves it and it was on sale this week, so I picked it up)
  • deli ham
  • egg whites
  • salmon
  • ground turkey
  • mozzarella (I had planned on Monterey Jack, but they only had it in shredded. For whatever reason, I don’t like buying preshredded cheese – I feel like in stores they add stuff to it to make it last longer in the fridge, or if you buy if fresh it turns more quickly. So mozzarella had to do).

 

Produce/Veggies/Hummus

DSCF3883DSCF3885

  • bananas
  • blueberries (they always disappoint me in the winter, but I buy them anyways. Why can’t it be berry season yet?!)
  • red bell pepper
  • no salt added diced tomatoes
  • potatoes
  • green onions
  • artichoke and spinach hummus – I was having a huge hummus craving this week, so I picked up a tub. It’s good, but I think my favourite would have to be either Summer Fresh Sweet Potato Hummus or Sabra Supremely Spicy.

Breads and Shelf-Stable

DSCF3865

  • Pepperidge Farm Cracker Chips – never tried them before, but they were on sale this week. Pretty good, especially the Zesty Chili and Lime flavour.
  • Taquera sauce – the closest thing I could find to red enchilada sauce. Hopefully it’ll work as a substitution.
  • tomato sauce – I’m planning on making a from-scratch meat sauce this week. I need to get the recipe from my mom, so I bought a bottle just in case I don’t have all the ingredients.
  • english muffins
  • whole wheat pizza crust and sauce
  • whole wheat spaghetti

Miscellaneous

DSCF3869

  • body wash
  • toothpaste
  • boyfriend lunches
  • face-cleansing cloths – never actually tried these before. I’ve been breaking out a bit lately, so I thought I’d give them a shot
  • tortillas (only in this picture because I forgot to through them in the one above). Anyone else in Canada have a ridiculous amount of trouble finding corn tortillas? I can never find them!

Meal Plan

  • Saturday: out
  • Sunday: pot roast, mashed potatoes and broccoli
  • Monday: salmon, quinoa and veggies
  • Tuesday: spaghetti and homemade meat sauce
  • Wednesday: tuna melts
  • Thursday: How Sweet It Is Buffalo Chicken Enchiladas (!!! Open-mouthed smile)
  • Friday: pizza

I was feeling somewhat uninspired when I was putting together this week’s meal plan, but I think I managed to get some good meals in there. Nonetheless, I need some inspiration for next time! I like experimenting and getting creative with my meals, but I feel like I’m lacking a little bit right now.

Have a good Sunday and I’ll talk to you soon!

<— Do you buy cheese pre-shredded or by the block?

<— How do you handle a lack of kitchen inspiration? Any recipes or ideas you want to throw my way?

22 thoughts on “Groceries and Meal Plan: 2/24

  1. No breakfast for dinner this week?!! Disappointed.
    😉

  2. I love seeing your groceries and the brands I don’t normally see around here. For your lack of inspiration I would say your meal plan for the week looks pretty good 🙂 Whenever I need to inspiration I look to other blogs for new things to try or pinterest.

  3. I usually buy cheese pre-shredded. Moment of truth, it’s out of pure laziness. Although, I do buy Mozzarella fresh for the pizzas I make. And yes, blogs and pinterest for recipe ideas for sure.

  4. You have a brand of hummus that makes sweet potato??? WHYYYYYYY??? I must find something like that in the states!! As far as cheese goes, I do both haha. Shredded makes things a little easier sometimes, esp if I’m in a rush, but you may have a point about the stores adding stuff they shouldn’t. Ugh, I wish I had a better way to handle lack of kitchen inspiration haha, but I usually just try to keep it simple if I don’t have anything good/feel like making something too hard. Brinner is a great back up as are stir fries, sandwiches, and crock pot meals!

  5. oh man that hummus sounds bomb. I am so boring and when I buy hummus tend to do just do plain and add in my own flavors but boy do I need to find something tasty like that

  6. Corn tortillas are always so hard to find :l I’ve only ever seen them in some natural foods stores, stores oriented towards a local “ethnic” population… and sometimes they just randomly appear with the lunch meat and tofu in some No Frills? Weird.

  7. Looks like a great meal plan for the week!
    I’m like the least inspired person to put together a meal plan…what’s wrong with me haha. I feel like everyone has a meal plan, but me 😉

  8. We don’t eat that much cheese because neither my hubby nor I do well with dairy, but we’ll usually have some grated parm, brie, feta, or goat cheese – a little of those can go a long way! I really should get better at planning out our meals but usually I don’t because we change our minds so often 😛

    • Those are all some of my favourites – and yea, definitely flavourful enough that you don’t need a ton!
      Haha that makes sense! I don’t keep everything 100% set in stone…if there’s something I want to change up or switch last minute, I’ll do it.

  9. I never buy pre-shredded cheese either. I think it’s silly to pay the labour costs for someone else shedding it when I could easily shred it myself. Plus shredded cheese = more surface area = faster rate of going bad. 😛

    And what is UP with it being so hard to find enchilada sauce in grocery stores? Loblaw doesn’t carry any either! My friend had to go on a hunt for some when we made enchiladas together and she ended up finally finding some at Remark.

    And psh I don’t know what you’re talking about – your meal plan looks pretty inspired to me! I’ve taken a break from meal planning for the past week so I’ve just been eating leftovers from the freezer and easy stir fries. I need some inspiration too!

    • Exactly! Waste of money and it goes back faster. No thanks.
      It’s ridiculous, isn’t it?! I can usually find green if I go hunting in a couple stores, but red is impossible. I miss Remark…that store is amazing. I definitely have to hit up Remark or Covent Garden (or both!) when I’m home in a couple weeks.

      And thank you! haha besides the enchiladas, I just feel like I’m relying on my old fallbacks this week. Need to try something new!

  10. I always buy my cheese and shred it myself. So much fresher that way!

  11. I’m not sure those are corn, they look like wheat? The only corn tortillas I find in Canada is by Dempsters, and it’s the one that looks really yellow.

Leave a Reply

