Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Five Things Friday: 01/03/13.

41 Comments

Yay Friday!

Anyone have any exciting plans this weekend? Right now, my plans involve heading to the laundromat on Sunday (ugh). So…maybe less than exciting weekend for me. But in more exciting news: It’s March! Yes, February is the shortest month, but I think we’re all ready to see it go. Now, just give me Spring!

But here’s my Friday lists:

5 Things I Ate This Week:

1. A microwaved cinnamon apple with almond butter. You can always tell when I eat a snack at home – clearly, there was more effort put into that than my usual grab and go snacks.

 DSCF3907

2. Salmon, quinoa and salad. AKA: Dinner Monday night.

DSCF3912

3. Valentine’s sucker. That is some child-like deliciousness right there.

DSCF4003

4. Another waffle-wich. an egg, a slice of ham, strawberry jam, and goat cheese. Must get more waffles – these are amazing.

DSCF3984

5. Chopped all-beef hotdogs tossed in roasted red pepper and tomato soup.

DSCF3991

One of those “crap, those have been in the fridge for a while” sort of meals. It was actually really tasty.

5 Other Happenings This Week:

1. I channeled Caitlin when I got home yesterday – she talked about taking time to relax in her post, which is something that hit home with me. I’m the type that always finds ‘something’ to do; I’m not so good at just relaxing. I have been stressing out and working really hard lately, so I knew an afternoon to just chill was necessary. Do you remember when I mentioned a few weeks ago what my favourite chick flick was?

DSCF4018

Yup. Definitely watched Josie and the Pussycats yesterday afternoon. I promise I’m not 12 years old…

2. A few days ago, I  gave Caitlin some knee-problem advice. Apparently, I jinxed myself – I woke up Wednesday with a bit of an aching knee. I took the day off from working out Wednesday, and did an upper body + elliptical workout Thursday without problems. Depending on how it feels this morning (as I’m typing this up the night before) I’ll either hit the gym for a none-knee-stressing lower body workout, or I’ll declare it a yoga day. Between my finger and my knee, clearly not my best week as far as injuries go.

3. I gave the xanthan gum I bought a try in my smoothie yesterday.

DSCF4007

I did see a difference in my smoothie texture – more velvety, almost. I hear that it gives it an ice cream-like texture, but I thought it was almost like Marshmallow Fluff, in a weird way. I liked it! You guys also told me to try it in baking and in sauces, so I’ll be playing around with it a bit (but only in small amounts – I was also warned that it’s not the greatest thing for digestive problems).

4. I am obsessed with Mexican food right now. Fajitas and tacos last week, and enchiladas for dinner last night.

DSCF4022

Everything tastes better when coated in guacamole.

5. I have officially gotten my mom hooked on Downton Abbey. I put on the first episode when she and my dad came up on Family Day, and she went home and ordered them all. Now I just need her to catch up so we can complain about the season 3 finale together…

5 Things I’m Looking Forward to in March.

1. Going home next weekend! I’ve been making more of an effort to make trips home this semester, and I’ve been loving the extra friend/family time. Said trip home will include a burger date with my favourite munchkin! We’ve been talking about going to The Works, which has some of the craziest burger toppings I’ve ever seen. One option has banana slices, peanut butter and bacon as toppings, and another has kraft dinner. Yup, I am excited Smile

2. Eric and I have an hour-long couples massage booked for the 16th. Seriously counting down the days for that – I think it’s been almost two years since I had my last professional massage. So overdue.

3. Hopefully going to make a trip to hang out with and do some shopping with this girl! Seriously excited to meet Devon in person.

4. Easter! Family + food. Cannot go wrong with that.

5.

GoT

 

Season 3. Need I say more?

Have a great Friday!

<— What are your happenings this week?

<— What are you looking forward to in March?

img source

41 thoughts on “Five Things Friday: 01/03/13.

  1. A couples massage sounds amazing! My birthday is in March, and even though I have no big plans, it’s always fun to celebrate! 🙂

  2. Awww thanks for the two shout outs girl (although I really hope you didn’t curse yourself in helping me 😦 ). I am sooooooooo happy that you watched Josie yesterday (which is a classic…early Rosario Dawson <3). I found myself reading on the couch a little after 8, and it was sooooo weird not to be on my computer haha…but also felt amazing 🙂 I love that you have such fun stuff planned with your family and friends…shopping, burgers, AND a massage?? Can we be friends in person too so I can do fun things like that with you?

    • haha I’ll just have to remember to knock on wood the next time I’m offering injury advice to anyone :-p

      And oh goodness, I love it. Tara Reid before shit hit the fan.

      I’ve been making a point to shut down my computer early and curl up with a book before bed – it’s so relaxing!

  3. A couples massage sounds like the perfect treat to be looking forward to in March! I recently started using xanthan gum in my smoothies and love how it changes the texture, I had not heard it can cause stomach upset. I will have to look into that, I have a really finicky stomach. My big march plans include my first half marathon!

  4. So many blog meetups! Definitely going to be awesome! You have so many awesome things to look forward to. My first, of course, would be going home. I’m a little skeptical about xanthan gum. It freaks me out because it’s all chemicals. I do want to try it though- It would be perfect in my frozen hot chocolate. I haven’t found it in a store yet. Oh, and I’m totally making an ice cream waffle sandwich. You’ve inspired me 😉

  5. Ok Sam, that’s it…when are you inviting me over for dinner? I would especially like enchiladas or a wafflewich ;)- looks seriously yum and I promise to bring cookies for dessert! Can you believe I’ve never actually seen Josie & the Pussycats- I might have to check it out this weekend…love watching old movies! At the risk of sounding 80, they just don’t make movies like they used to!

  6. I love watching old movies even if they aren’t the greatest! I liked the pussy cat dolls too haha:) but I remember the last time I watched it I was thinking man was it this cheesy before ha!

  7. Josie and the Pussycats is DEFINITELY on my ipod for those sunny day rocking out moments. And that’s fiiiiine by me. 🙂 I have got to try xantham gum. Sounds so intriguing, but so so good!

  8. dude I am so jealous you get to hang out with Devon! I am all about taking some down time, but like you I tend to not apply it to myself. I need to work on that. I hope your knee starts to feel better, that is a total bummer. the texture of marshmallow fluff is totally calling to me. drool

  9. So glad you’re loving Downton Abbey! I’m so addicted. I’m only on season 2 though! Ah, I feel like I need to catch up before I learn all the juicy details of season 3. Hate being behind ha.
    Ah, jealous of your bloggy meetup! I should fly on over to Ontario and join you;) I mean I’m not tooooo far away.
    A couple massage would be awesome! Glad you’ll get in that relaxation!

  10. I want to buy some xanthan gum, i heard it really makes a difference 🙂

  11. Your microwaved cinnamon covered apple looks almost like apple pie!

  12. Gosh, your food looks absolutely delicious! I’ve been loving Xanthan Gum. Makes a big difference to the consistence of the smoothies. And that couple massage sounds wonderful. What a great idea.
    Isn’t family time the best?? I will visit Berlin, Germany with my Mom over Easter. Doing some sightseeing, shopping and trying new food- can’t wait!!

  13. My boyfriend and I had a couples massage a few months ago and it was the best money I’ve spent in AWHILE. Enjoy 🙂

  14. I’ve been wanting to try microwave apple for ages but as its summer here in Australia it’s not really the right weather but your pic makes me want to try it now 🙂

  15. I’ve been wanting to try microwave apple for ages but as its summer here in Australia it’s not really the right weather but your pic makes me want to try it now

  16. I love microwaving an apple with cinnamon and serving it with almond butter! I also like adding some granola – it’s like apple crisp that way (only not really because obviously apple crisp is way better).

    I’m seriously obsessed with Mexican lately too! I’ve eaten it at least 7 or 8 times in the past 3 weeks. And I’m still not sick of it! Maybe our next date should be at Under the Volcano? 😉

    Speaking of dates, I can’t wait for our burger date next weekend! Shoot me a text to let me know when works for you!!

  17. I’m so glad I have my own washer and dryer! It was a pain to go somewhere to do it.

  18. Two years since you had a massage??? I die if I don’t have one at least every two weeks. Now that I’m not working out I don’t need them as often but lifting just makes me so sore. I’m sure you will be hooked now!

  19. I thought I was one of the few who enjoyed the absolute tastiness of a waffle-wich…they’re too yummy! What are you favorite waffles to use?

  20. Pingback: Yoga, Pizza Night and the Meal Plan. | Better With Sprinkles

  21. Pingback: Pinterest Fail and Blog Updates. | Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

