Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW: Eating Well at Home.

62 Comments

Happy WIAW!

Thanks to Jenn for hosting, as per usual!

Today’s WIAW is from last Sunday, where I was home for the weekend. You will notice that today’s post is almost entirely lacking in green things. But I’m ok with that, because everything I ate on Sunday was freakin’ delicious. I got a burger, I got fries, I got Mexican food, I got a brownie…no regrets whatsoever!

Breakfast

Due to the time change on Sunday, the clock read 9:30 when I got out of bed at my parent’s house. Yay actually feeling like I got to sleep in!

By the time I got up, got in a quick workout (core + 10 minutes on the treadmill) and got organized it was 10:30. I was meeting Chelsea for lunch at noon, so I went with a small breakfast to tide me over.

DSCF4245

Coconut Oikos and Brown Sugar flavoured Mini Wheats. I didn’t like Mini Wheats when I was a kid, but I developed a HUGE obsession with them about three years ago – the only breakfast cereal I wanted for about six months. It was a little bit of overkill so I don’t pick them up too often anymore, but they’re still easily one of my favourite breakfast cereals.

DSCF4244

So good.

Chelsea and I met at the Works, a burger place that popped up in London a few years ago. I’d been a few times before, but it was her first time so I was excited for her to check it out. Basically, it’s a build your own burger place with a ton of insane toppings – check out her post for more details!

I decided to go with a “Down Under” turkey burger on a whole wheat bun. It came with caramelized onions, an egg, beets, grilled pineapple and gouda.

DSCF2258

We had absolutely no idea what was so Australian about this burger, but it was good! Although, the first burger I ever got at the Works still wins out though. ‘The Sweet Ride’: caramelized onions, half of a grilled pear and brie.

Sweet potatoes fries on the side – The Works has fabulous sweet potato fries. Perfectly crispy with the right amount of salt!

DSCF2259

Other burger options that are definitely on my must-try list at the Works:

  • Hunka Hunka Burnin’ Love: peanut butter, banana and bacon
  • Sexy Burger: pineapple, sweet and spicy sauce, cream cheese and hot peppers
  • The Love Goat: peppercorn crust, goat cheese and bacon

So delicious…and definitely filling!

After lunch, Chelsea and I wandered around Covent Garden Market for a while. It’s a gorgeous year-round indoor market in downtown London – I hadn’t been since the summer, which is entirely too long! I was a tad disappointed though – I had hoped to pick up a mini cupcake at the cupcake place, but the stand wasn’t there anymore.

So I bought cheese instead Smile with tongue out

DSCF4273

Thornloe’s Eventural. I worked in a cheese stand during my last year of undergrad, and this one was always one of my favourites. Brie with a line of vegetable ash in the middle – it’s so good.

Chelsea was also kind enough to set aside a jar of coconut butter from Organic Works for me.

DSCF4269

Finally! This stuff is so hard to find, and paying for it online it ridiculous. I haven’t tried it on/with anything yet, but I tried a bite out of the jar and I think it was worth the wait Smile with tongue out

Thanks for a fabulous lunch/Covent Garden date, Chelsea! ❤

Oz

Afterwards, I had plans to meet up with my mom for a movie/dinner date. The movie of choice?

Oz the Great and Powerful in IMAX 3D.

(source)

 

Of course, this movie is pure Wizard of Oz nostalgia. I really enjoyed it! I thought that Mila Kunis’ acting was a little over-the-top and soap opera-ish (which pains me to say, because she’s one of my favourite actresses), but everything else about the movie was great. It was a two-hour long movie and I didn’t get bored once, which is saying something.

And James Franco is just awesome. Could not think of a better person to play Oz. Seeing it in IMAX 3D was really cool too. It was so intense! Really expensive (as if regular movie tickets aren’t enough already) so I wouldn’t do it too often, but pretty fun once in a while. Although the 3D glasses get a tad annoying after a while.

 

Dinner

Our original plan was to go to the Milestones that’s in the same mall in the theatre, but earlier in the day my mom and I got to talking about Under the Volcano, one of the few Mexican restaurants in London that we both really love. So…we went for Mexican.

Under the Volcano actually just changed locations – as in, it was changed over two days before. Unfortunately, they were still getting organized and didn’t have all of their usual options – they didn’t have their extensive margarita list and they were out of a lot of items on the menu. They weren’t quite done the redecorating phase yet either – they had leased a building where an old diner was, and they still had the old diner sign up. The inside of the restaurant still looked like diner-esque, but with Mexican-style blankets everywhere. But the food was still good, which is the most important part, clearly.

 

My mom and I both love sangria, so we split a pitcher.

DSCF2263

I’m not a huge red wine fan, but I suppose if it’s mixed with juice, I’m good to go?

DSCF2265

Hello, chips and salsa. Which, is not complete without guacamole thrown in the picture as well.

DSCF2267

Better.

For dinner, my mom ordered her usual at Under the Volcano – the chicken chimichanga. Basically, a chimichanga is a deep-fried enchilada, but it doesn’t come off as overly greasy.

DSCF2271

I decided to go with something I hadn’t tried before – the blackened tilapia, which came with rice and coleslaw.

DSCF2273

I hadn’t had tilapia in a while, but it’s one of my preferred fish. This was delicious – nice and spicy, which I love.

Dessert

We had hoped to share deep fried ice cream for dessert, but unfortunately, they were out (boo). But…a chocolate brownie with ice cream and chocolate sauce makes for a good second choice.

DSCF2277

We definitely polished it off without trouble Open-mouthed smile

I love Under the Volcano, so I will definitely be back once they get a little more organized in their new location!

After dinner, I went home and collapsed on the couch to digest – so.much.good.food! I need to go home more often…I eat so well! Open-mouthed smile

Have a good one!

<— What should I use my coconut butter on?

<— What’s your usual order at a Mexican restaurant? Quesadilla or crunchy tacos of some sort is usually my first choice.

62 thoughts on “WIAW: Eating Well at Home.

  1. Wow at those sweet potato fries and dessert. I love eating at home and 9.30am is a lovely lie in – nothing like getting a good rest! I’ve never been to a Mexican place, awful I know!

  2. Next time you go home, can I come? Such delicious eats- especially the burger & brownie…there’s always room for dessert in my books! I’ve actually never tried coconut butter but I’m almost certain it would taste fab on a banana…or spread on dark chocolate! As for my usual order at Mexican restaurants- either burrito bowls or fajitas…I’m not fussed as long as copious amounts of guac is involved 😉

  3. mmm you just had the perfect day of eats in my opinion! I love chicken quesadillas or steak tacos at mexican restaurants…oh and lots of chips and guac 😉 throw that coconut butter on some oats stat!

  4. Oh my GOD!! All the food looks soo good, I am drooling. So funny, I just got a jar of coconut butter yesterday in the mail, and when I tried it, I thought it tatses weird. Let me know how you are going to use it since I have no idea and have 3 jars of them! 🙂
    I am a Burrito girl. But never witjout Nachos and Cheese to start! 🙂

  5. That burger sounds awesome, as does the one before! I love burgers with unique toppings. The tilapia also looks perfect, I love blackened fish.

  6. So I’m coming to Canada and crashing your next lunch meet up 😉 hehehe so happy you found coconut butter!!! The BEST!

  7. The burger looks AMAZING! Your entire day actually sounds perfect. Literally you couldn’t have done anything differently that would have made it any better. The food was all so delicious- especially the dessert 😉 I’m glad it was such a successful day!

  8. SO delicious! I thought Oz was really good. James Franco is fantastic.

  9. Too.many.delicious.foods!!! Omigosh. It’s a good thing I’m in the middle of eating breakfast, or I’d have some serious drooling action going on over here. Green or not, your day of eats looks perfect to me… especially with the good company involved. As for the coconut butter, my favorite way to eat it is probably melted over sweet potato with a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar. Orrrrr on toast with honey. It’s also pretty great melted over oatmeal. Gah! Serious coconut butter cravings just hit…

  10. I don’t know why I never think to use yogurt in my cereal in place of milk. That is a fabulous idea! 🙂

    And all of that Mexican food looks amazing! I am such a sucker for chips with salsa and guac!

  11. Coconut Oikos?! I NEED to try that!

  12. dude that burger joint looks amazing

  13. Ah all that food sounds amazing! Omg yay for getting your hands on coconut butter!!! I go through a jar in like one week, it’s bad for my wallet but I love it so much.
    Jealous you got to hang with Chelsea, she’s awesome.
    I can’t wait to see Oz!

  14. Oh my gosh I NEED to try that burger! SO GOOD!

  15. I’m drooling over that burger!

  16. OH my gosh. Those brown sugar mini wheats!! THE BEST STUFF ever. I need to buy some. like yesterday!!

  17. We could definitely dine together – this all looks amazing. Especially that incredible dessert! I love Mexican food. My order depends on how I am feeling – usually enchiladas or fajitas though!

  18. NOMNOMNOM!!! That burger place sounds pheNOM. hehe. I’ve tried peanut butter on a burger before at a place called XXX Rootbeer (an interesting name for a burger joint, but it was featured on the Food Network!) and it was rather delicious. But yours with the gouda and onion sounds amazing. BOOOOO for no margs! That is seriously lame. But YAYY for coconut butter! I found it at TJMAXX for $8 the other day and am obsessed. I melt it and put it on my nightly oatmeal chocolate chip “cookie” snack. And tried it on Kombucha a la Lisa Lately which was also pure deliciousness. Enjoy!

    Miss you!!

    • I really need to try the peanut butter on a burger thing sometime…it just sounds so interesting to me!
      And sangria is an acceptable margarita substitute, at least :-p

      I’ll have to try it with squash! And I might have to put it in a shot glass in honour of Lisa as well :-p

      Hope things are going well with you lady! ❤

  19. That turkey burger and dessert look so good. Good call purchasing the cheese 🙂 I’ve got to try coconut yogurt. I bet you could use the coconut butter in baking recipes!

  20. Ok well now I am officially STARVING haha! This food all looks SO good and I am absolutely dying for a burger right now! So exciting you grabbed some coconut butter too, I’m on the lookout for it as well I’ve been meaning to try it!

  21. I’m glad to hear you liked the Oz movie! I heard it didn’t get great reviews but I definitely want to see it anyway!

  22. Yay I had such an awesome time with you again! And your Under the Volcano meal looks so yummy – especially the dessert. We’ll need to have a lunch date there sometime. And at Veg Out! Also we need to remember to get a freakin’ picture next time lol.

    I like that coconut butter on oatmeal, on smoothies, on toast, on brownies, baked into some baked goods, and just by itself! 😉

    • I think we need to make a list – I need to visit you in Burlington so you can take me to Kindfood! ❤

      One of these days, we will actually get a damn picture! And I'm thinking I need to put on some oatmeal tomorrow.

  23. Umm my goodness what a GREAT day of food Sam! Seriously every meal you had was a hit! Mini wheats are so so good, I used to be obsessed with the original when I was younger, but blueberry is my current favorite! I will be trying the chocolate mini ones soon too and also the new crunchy ones! Gahh I lurveee cereal 😉
    I read Chelsea’s post on the burger place and yeah, I would love to go there one day! You went with a stellar choice for sure.. .I would go with the goat cheese next if you go again
    Too bad about the Mexican place not having everything settled and available, but you two made the best of it 🙂 Tilapia is one of my favorite fishes too, right up there with salmon and tuna
    As far as coconut butter goes, I put it over oatmeal often or dip kabocha squash into it. I’m pretty sure other people would think those are nasty (well outside of the blog world that is haha), but it’s my two favorite ways!

  24. I love coconut butter on anything– It’s great to bake with!!! Your dessert looks like pure heaven

  25. Haha cheese is always a good thing to buy! 😉 You are absolutely going to love the coconut butter, it is heavenly (the chocolate one is just unspeakable). Mom/daughter movie and dinner dates are the best, so glad you enjoyed yourselves!

  26. The burger is Australian because it has beetroot and egg in it, which is what you will typically find in a burger in Australia (disregarding fast food chains).

  27. coconut butter is the best, we love it plain or on just about anything 😉

  28. That all looked so tasty! And it’s always more enjoyable when you have good company with you 🙂

  29. I used to ALWAYS order a chicken chimichanga whenever I went out for Mexican! I think that’s probably the first one I’ve ever seen that doesn’t look super greasy! Your tilapia looks fantastic though! And so does that burger you had for lunch! I’m amazed with that topping combination! 😯

    You have GOT to try warming up your new coconut butter and drizzling it over a thick spoonable smoothie or some ice cream…it hardens up just like magic shell and is WONDERFUL!! You’ll love it!

  30. Pingback: Rehashing March. | Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

