Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas.

39 Comments

So, I think it’s pretty fair to say that I’m absolutely hooked on buffalo sauce.

DSCF4437

Lately, I cannot stop adding it to everything. Everything! But for my tastes, it’s absolutely perfect – tangy and spicy.

A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I love going to gatherings and finding a big container of Buffalo Chicken Dip. It’s pretty obvious how much I love it – a family friend would always bring to our house for get-togethers, and I was such a fan that she started bringing me my own personal little pot of it. Obsessed much?

So of course, thinking about that gave me a huge craving for that dip again. While I didn’t think it was the greatest idea to make a big pot of it and call it dinner (although, give me a few weeks and we’ll see what happens) I decided it would work well in quesadilla form. Creamy chicken dip with lots of cheese, except sandwiched in a tortilla instead of served with chips. The recipe came together easily and was absolutely delicious – and allowed me to combine my buffalo obsession with my current Mexican food obsession Open-mouthed smile Win-win.

Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas

(Serves 2-3 as entrée, 4-5 as an appetizer)

Ingredients:

  • ~2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
  • ~3 tablespoons light cream cheese
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/4 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 large whole wheat tortillas
  • buffalo sauce to taste (I used about 3 tablespoons, which was spicy without being overbearing
  • 3/4 cup shredded mozzarella or montery jack cheese (or, if you’re a blue cheese fan, do a mix of shredded cheese and crumbled blue)
  • toppings of choice – guacamole, sour cream, Greek yogurt, green onions…

Directions:

1. Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onions and bell peppers, cook until soft. Add chicken.

DSCF4322

2.Add buffalo sauce to taste and cream cheese. Mix until incorporated – mix should be a bit clumpy.

DSCF4326

3. Spray a large pan with cooking spray and heat to medium. Place 1 tortilla in the pan, and add 1/3 of chicken mixture to one side, topped with 1/4 cup cheese. Tip: make sure that a lot of cheese is near the outside of the tortilla. This will act as a seal when you press the two sides together.

DSCF4331

4. Flip the empty side of the tortilla to cover the filling and press down. Cook until crisp, then flip. When both sides are crisp, set aside and repeat with other tortillas/fillings. Cut quesadillas into thirds or quarters. Serve with desire toppings.

DSCF4337

Mmm…finger food.

DSCF4341

Quick, easy, and fulfilled my buffalo chicken dip craving. Cannot beat that!

And speaking of amazing things that can’t be beat…

DSCF4478

Please tell me I’m not the only one who thinks Icy Squares are the best thing ever. We got a little care package of chocolate from the university yesterday (Wellness week…chocolate = wellness. Fact). And one of these was tucked in there. So good! They always remind me of Christmas, because my dad goes to Bulk Barn and absolutely stocks up on them to put in little festive container around the house. It was definitely enjoyed as dessert last night – they’re mind-numbingly sweet, but that’s how I like it.

And in other news, I’ve got an interview for a summer job today! Send me good vibes, alright? Smile with tongue out

Have a good one!

<— What’s your current favourite sauce/condiment?

<— Is there such a thing as ‘too sweet?’ I never understand it when I hear people say that something is too sweet for them. But then again, I could eat buttercream icing by the bucket, so clearly I can handle sweet stuff.

39 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas.

  1. Things are never too sweet. Good luck on the interview!

  2. Our supermarket has just started stocking that sauce! Will have to buy it for the boyfriend who loves super hot things :). Best of luck for the interview, sure you’ll do great! There is never such a thing as too sweet, load me up with sweetness!

  3. My son loves that buffalo sauce too! He loves it with chicken nuggets, haha!

    I am loving Trader Joe’s hot and sweet mustard, the best!

    Good luck love!!

  4. Those quesadillas look awesome! I’m gonna have to try that recipe

  5. My vibes are flying over to you, good luck!
    Oooh, these look so good and I wish I had them for dinner tonight 🙂 Well done, a must try!!
    I don’t like when somwthing tastes artificial sweet. WHen you can actually taste all the fakes, that is gross. Anything else, sweet, sweeter, sweetes please! 🙂

  6. I love buffalo sauce! My boyfriend and roommates don’t like it so I rarely ever make anything with it since I know i will end up eating the whole thing by myself. Sending good vibes for the interview, i’m sure you will rock it!

  7. I love buffalo sauce but it’s been far too long since I’ve bought a jar- I’m all the more inclined to…love how easy and delicious these quesadillas look. Lately I’ve been all about Chipotle flavored Tabasco…I can’t stop adding it on almost everything- love the smokey flavor!

    As for “too sweet”, I’m afraid to say I’m one of those people ;)! As much as I love my dessert, there’s only sugar I can handle in one sitting. Stuff like jellybeans is too sickly sweet for me- I’m crazy, I know I know! Keeping my fingers crossed your interview goes well, Sam!

  8. Guac or tomato sauce! This looks awesome btw…joe would like it and i would get credit for making dinner…win 😀

  9. oh man what is the summer job? Well good luck, no doubt you will rock the interview. I heard on Kiss this morning that they made a sweet hot sauce… have you had it?

  10. I’m embarrassed to admit two things. One – I’ve never tried icy squares, Two – I’ve never had buffalo sauce. At least I can say I like quesadillas;)
    These look great!
    Yay for your interview! Sending you major positive vibes!!!

  11. Buffalo sauce is amazing, and quesadillas are most definitely a favorite of mine. I need to try this, but with a vegetarian substitution (seitan or tempeh, maybe?) instead of the chicken!

  12. Definitely sending you good vibes for the interview! You’re gonna blow their socks off 🙂

    I’d have to. Sy that my current condiment obsession is salsa. I love Mexican food in general, but lately I’ve been putting salsa on things that aren’t even remotely close to being related to Mexican cuisine; and I have to admit that a lot of the time I just end up eating it straight out of the jar 😉 Too good to resist.

  13. Those quesadillas look delicious! 🙂

  14. I really like buffalo sauce too, but I’ve never cooked it with before. These quesadillas look seriously fabulous though!

    My favourite condiment is the spicy tahini sauce that the chef makes at work. It is seriously like crack!

  15. I love anything with buffalo chicken 😉

  16. I really do not understand when people say things are too sweet… NEVA EVA will you hear those words come out of my mouth 🙂 Buff chick anything is so so good! My sister-in-law would adore this recipe (obsessed with the flavor) and I am def going to share it with her!
    Best of luck on the interview!! Err wait, you probably have already done it by now, so I hope it went so so well! Which of course it did because well, it’s YOU 🙂

  17. CONGRATS on that job interview! I’m sending you good vibes, and a hug for extra luck. 🙂

    Okay, so now I feel silly for asking whether you’d tried Buffalo chicken dip yesterday. OBVIOUSLY! And I obviously missed that buffalo chicken dip post! 😦 Since you already know that I love the stuff, you probably can guess how I feel about this recipe…Holy yum! I am definitely going to try this soon, seeing as I have all the ingredients on hand except the tortillas. However, I’m thinking it would probably be pretty fantastic as a grilled sandwich, too.

    The term “too sweet” is one that I don’t understand, either. I have always had a huge sweet tooth, and always will. My use of sweeteners is kind of embarrassing, actually.

    Happy almost-Friday! ❤

  18. Hmm, that close up shot is to die for!! You can’t go wrong with chicken, cheese, and more cheese! And you just reminded me that I happen to have a bottle of buffalo sauce in my cabinet that I’d forgotten about! Hmm….wonder if I have any cream cheese? 😉

    Current favorite sauce/condiment: Ricotta! I know it’s not ACTUALLY considered as such, but I’ve been mixing it up with all sorts of things lately and loving it!

    And you can most definitely have something that is too sweet! At least if you’re a sensitive gal like me! I once had a bite (just a single BITE) of a piece of fudge, and got dizzy from the sweetness! Yuck!

    Aww, I hope the interview went well…ya know, since I’m too late to wish you good luck! Boo!

  19. Pingback: Rehashing March. | Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

