Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Groceries and Glossybox.

41 Comments

Happy Sunday! I hope everyone is having a lovely weekend so far Open-mouthed smile

Of course, my Saturday started off with the usual groceries and meal planning.

What I picked up this week:

Fruits and Veggies:

DSCF4541

  • bananas
  • mushrooms
  • figs
  • arugula
  • grapes
  • baby carrots
  • broccoli
  • orange bell pepper

Proteins

DSCF4546

  • massive grilling steaks
  • ground pork
  • shrimp
  • egg whites
  • frozen chicken breasts (love these from M&M’s)
  • chipotle canned tuna (I was intrigued)

 

Grains/Frozen

DSCF4548

  • fibre 1 (my old lady cereal)!
  • udon noodles
  • frozen meals
  • chicken fingers (all of which are boyfriend lunch options)

 

Miscellaneous

DSCF4553

  • tinfoil
  • The Bee’s Knees peanut butter
  • sugar-free blueberry jam
  • cream cheese
  • cinnamon (I ran out for a few hours. Unacceptable)
  • Mini Eggs (!!!) Quite possible the best thing about Easter. I bought it for a recipe I’m making for the holiday next weekend, so the challenge is keeping the bag unopened until then. No promises.

Meal Plan:

  • Saturday: take-out
  • Sunday: Steak and salad
  • Monday: Pasta with meat sauce
  • Tuesday: leftovers/quick meal (I’ve got a presentation I’m attending that night)
  • Wednesday: shrimp and veggie stirfry with udon noodles
  • Thursday: BBQ chicken breasts with baked potato wedges and broccoli
  • Friday: my parents house for Easter!

Glossybox

So, I am not a beauty blogger by any stretch of the imagination. I have no idea what’s new and popular in beauty products, but that does not mean I’m not willing or able to learn about such things. So, I was pleasantly surprised when a gift from Glossybox showed up in the mail last week.

DSCF4485

Basically, glossybox is a subscription beauty service that will send you a carefully selected box based on your beauty profile, promising at least 5 deluxe-sized beauty products from reputable companies. They sent me a box in celebration of their one-year anniversary in Canada.

DSCF4487

Pretty things!

First up:

DSCF4488

Anatomicals rose shower gel. Smells amazing and has attitude…love it Smile with tongue out

Birthdays and anniversaries require cupcakes, don’t they? I’m always looking for an excuse to make cupcakes Open-mouthed smile

DSCF4491

A Crabtree & Evelyn hand lotion sampler. I’m not a huge fan of anything orange-flavoured, but I absolutely adore the scent – and this is no exception.

DSCF4493

Macadamia oil hair treatment. I haven’t tried it as a full-blown hair mask yet, but I rubbed a little bit on as a finishing treatment the other day and it definitely looked a little shinier and smoothed flyaways. It smelled good too!

DSCF4498

And for the face: Biore pore strips and Eucerin anti-wrinkle cream. I’ve only tried the day cream so far, and it seemed really hydrating on my skin (which tends to be dry). I’m not sure if I have to worry about wrinkles at 23…but I feel like it’s recommended that you start using it in your 20’s?

DSCF4499

Love this eyeshadow! I gravitate towards silvers and neutrals, so this palette was absolutely perfect.

DSCF4501

HOLYSHITGIVENCHY.

DSCF4503

Pretty sure this is the single most expensive makeup product I’ve ever owned. I really like this shade – I prefer a more neutral lip, and this just adds a hint of colour.

So basically…this is amazing and I’m so happy I got the chance to discover that this company is in Canada. Some full size products and a couple little samples thrown in there – can’t go wrong! I remember seeing Birchbox and similar subscription services available in the States, so it’s awesome that Canada has a similar service. I’m thinking I’m going to buy a 3 month subscription (prices are reasonable too…$21 a month or $60 for three months) as an end-of-semester present to myselfWinking smile

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

<— Would you ever use a beauty subscription service?

<— Do you use anti-wrinkle cream? Should I be doing it?

 

**disclaimer: Although I received the Glossybox free of charge, I was not compensated for this post. Glossybox didn’t even ask for a review – I loved it so much that I wanted to tell you guys about it.

41 thoughts on “Groceries and Glossybox.

  1. Great groceries as always Sam, can’t wait to hear what you think about the Bee’s Knees! Thanks for the review, it looks like you recevied so many cool things. I’m not a beauty person at all but I love hearing about different products. I guess with so much choice out there something like this is a godsend for hopeless cases like me haah! The lipgloss looks great – I’d be flashing it at every opportunity!

  2. Awesome beauty swag Sam! I need to check the subscription out! And Easter candy, YESSSS!

  3. Mini eggs are definitely the best thing about Easter, and Eeeeeee! That’s so cool about Glossybox! I love the idea of a subscription service, especially when it comes to beauty things, but all the services I’ve ever seen have only shipped in the States. Definitely going to give Glossy a look 🙂 Oh, and I don’t use anti-wrinkle cream, but I make sure to have a good moisturizer and apply an eye cream to the skin around my eyes. Actually, coconut oil is really good for that…

  4. I love this Glossybox review. It is so fun to receive things in the mail. Especially such great products! Thanks for sharing this. Easter candy, yes please.

  5. I can’t stop buying easter candy! I need to get it out of my house because I can’t stop buying it haha

  6. Love the Glossybox! I’ve never subscribed to one of these services (they’re so expensive!) but I would if I could!

  7. MAN I need to go to the grocery. Thanks for this inspiration. On the list this week: supplies for making my own coconut butter and nutella (or more like Justin’s Hazelnut Cocoa butter…I could never get the consistency of nutella).

    Glossybox looks so fun! So much swag 🙂 Happy Sunday love!

  8. How COOL about the Glossybox! That is something I could benefit from.. I’m similar to you in that I am so not informed as far as beauty products go! I always think I want to go and get a makeup consult and then just know how to do it from there out. But then I see how EXPENSIVE everything is and ehh, my interest suddenly goes flying out the window! Thank you for the review Sam, much appreciated 🙂
    Oh and FIGSSS jealous you have them, you and Chelsea both! I am now on the hunt, though I haven’t seen them around these parts in awhile. I spot easter candy there too, a very nice choice

  9. I am not a makeup gal at all but this box looks awesome, I am always a fan of trying new things to see what sticks. So you will be proud, I won a jar of the Cinnamon Raisin PB and Co nut butter and .. gasp it was good. I am now really wanting to try the other flavors. Like a lot.

  10. Your meal plan sounds great especially Thursday, can I come over? 🙂
    How wonderful to receive a parcel with beauty stuff!! That hair treatment sounds great.

  11. Do you use anti-wrinkle cream? do not use any, not sure if we should be either 🙂
    reminds me that I need to go to the store as I do not have much food in the house, haha

  12. Although I have been eating eggs non stop lately, I think it’s about time I switch over to chocolate egg….and no one does it better than Cadburys ;)! Glossybox sounds awesome- very cool they sent you some products to try. I haven’t started using anti-wrinkle cream yet but I’m hoping all this healthy eating and water pays off later on in life.

  13. There is No way that bag of mini eggs would still be there this weekend, by far my favorite Easter candy!! That box looks fun.

  14. Is it just me, or is meal planning and grocery shopping super time-consuming? I guess it doesn’t help that I normally have to go to at least 2 to 3 grocery stores to get everything on my list. I definitely am happy that I plan once the weekdays roll around, though!

  15. “Ran out of cinnamon – unacceptable” hahah that made me laugh. I think I would die without cinnamon! I put it on everything:) I know nothing about make-up. I buy mine from CVS if I ever wear any haha

  16. Wow that seems like such a good concept 🙂

  17. You damn Canadians flashing your fresh figs around…you and Chelsea make me sick…SICK I tell ya! 😛 So I see you finally decided on the peanut butter…what do you think? Do you regret not getting the chocolate? 😉

    You got a lot of great stuff in that box! I’m always leery of box subscriptions because I’m afraid I won’t end up liking half the stuff in the box and then I’ll feel like I wasted my money! :-/ I don’t use any wrinkle creams but I probably should…I’m not getting any younger and I already have lines I wish I didn’t have! Grr!

  18. Ahh I love Cadbury mini eggs! Definitely going to be picking up some for myself this week. Also I like my grandma fibre cereal too. 😉

    Also that box is pretty awesome! I’ve heard such good things about Macadamia oil for hair, so you’ll have to let me know how it works for you! I definitely haven’t started thinking about using anti-wrinkle cream yet… I don’t feel old enough! I just wear moisturizer with SPF in it every day and I hope that’s enough for now. 😛

  19. Ooo I’ve just been looking at signing up for Glossybox (it’s Glossybox in the UK too!). Our version isn’t as good as this (everything is seriously miniature) but I’m already drawn in by the idea.

    Meh. I haven’t started using anti-wrinkle anything. I have a bit of a baby face anyway so a few wrinkles wouldn’t hurt haha 😉

  20. Pingback: Rehashing March. | Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

