Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Weekly Eats and Workouts: 4/21.

35 Comments

Good morning! I hope you’ve been having a lovely weekend so far. Mine has been busy, so minus a couple of errands today is going to be all about relaxing for me. But of course, I popped in today to share the groceries, the meal plan for the coming week, and the workouts that I did last week.

First up, eats for the week:

Produce

DSCF5112

  • asparagus
  • a bag of discounted bananas (I’m hoping on weather warm enough to give me smoothie cravings. But considering that it was 3 degrees and snowing yesterday…maybe not)
  • blueberries
  • “sassy baby blend” – how can you not buy it, with a name like that? The blend includes baby greens, spinach, arugula, mizuna, and radicchio
  • baby carrots

Proteins/Dairy

DSCF5108

  • sour cream
  • cream cheese
  • 2% plain Greek yogurt
  • ground chicken
  • ground turkey
  • salmon
  • eggs
  • chicken drumsticks

Frozen

DSCF5110

  • frozen meals & chicken strips (boy lunches)
  • frozen pizza – always good to keep one of those in the fridge for “I don’t want to cook” sort of nights.

Miscellaneous

Apparently, my camera ate this picture (or…I forgot to take it) but it included:

  • toothpaste
  • guacamole
  • salsa
  • taco kit (can you tell I’m planning tacos this week?)
  • english muffins
  • olive oil spray
  • plum sauce
  • almond milk
  • pineapple curry salad dressing (I know, I bought prepared salad dressing. But doesn’t that flavour sound amazing)?
  • marinara sauce

Meal_Plan

(yes, I absolutely spent some time playing around with PicMonkey)

  • Saturday: out
  • Sunday: ground chicken tacos
  • Monday: salmon, quinoa and bacon-wrapped asparagus
  • Tuesday: turkey burgers and salad
  • Wednesday: french toast (mmm…breakfast for dinner)
  • Thursday: homemade gnocchi with marinara sauce
  • Friday: ‘fried’ chicken drumsticks and veggies

Last Week’s Workouts:

  • Sunday: gym for an upper body workout
  • Monday: 3.4 mile run. It was an absolutely gorgeous day for it. And I got a little further, going a little bit faster than I did the week before. Yay!
  • Tuesday: lower body workout
  • Wednesday: off
  • Thursday: upper body
  • Friday: a ‘built-in’ exercise sort of day. I did all my errand running in the morning, walked back and forth to school twice, and helped set up for Saturday’s conference.
  • Saturday: I had my conference followed by a social, so when I got home I had no desire to do anything except lay on the couch. So…that’s what I did Open-mouthed smile

Talk to you tomorrow!

<— Do you buy prepared salad dressings, or do you make your own? I usually stick with olive oil/vinegar combinations, but that one just sounded awesome.

<— How were your workouts this week?

35 thoughts on “Weekly Eats and Workouts: 4/21.

  1. A social counts as exercise in my book… 🙂
    Pizza is always a good choice to keep stocked but french toast for dinner sounds pretty amazing right now.

  2. Breakfast for dinner is my favorite 🙂 I usually have some type of balsamic dressing in the fridge but have been seeing some homemade dressings on blogs recently that don’t look to hard.

  3. Haha love that picmonkey image- sprinkles make everything purrrty :)! There’s one sesame dressing that I have to buy bottled- despite countless attempts, I just can’t seem to replicate it at home! Otherwise I tend to stick with homemade vinaigrette like olive oil mixed with white wine vinegar, honey, mustard and garlic powder which is rather delicious!

  4. You can buy some amazing looking salad dressings! I do try to buy my own but sometimes treat myself 🙂

  5. I love how you schedule in breakfast for dinner – definitely a must in my books 😀 And to be honest, I can’t really remember the last time I bought salad dressing 😯 I usually just stick to an olive oil/salt combo or a yogurt/mustard/herb combo.

    Happy Sunday, love! Hope you’re having an amazing one!

  6. Look awesome! Also I love the sprinkle photo 🙂

  7. Oh yaaa Breakfast for Dinner, many of my faovirtes.
    I usually make my own dressings, since so many of them contain mustard and dairy, so I just make them myself to prevent hives and itchiness.
    I love pic monkey, it’s so fun!
    Hope you have a great day!

  8. It’s funny you mention salad dressing as today I bought salad dressing for the first time in years! I usually make my own – the standard olive oil/balsamic vinegar combo.

  9. I love the sprinkled picture, so pretty!
    I ususally just poure some apple vinegar and coconut oil or olive oil over the salad and add some pepper, dill and chives – done! Do you make the Turkey Burgers yourself? If so, do you share the recipe?
    Have a great relaxing Sunday!!

  10. You have some good protein this week 🙂

  11. I usually now always make my own dressings with nutritional yeast as its so delicious.

  12. So, french toast for dinner sounds fantastic. Are you serving it straight up, or making a fancy kind? I think the best french toast concoction I ever made was when I stuffed it with PB and caramelized bananas. Mmmm…. I felt like my workouts this past week were mostly for stress relief and procrastination. My exam schedule sucked big time.

  13. ooh is it the pineapple curry dressing from PC ? let us know how it is!

  14. Can I come over for Tuesday Night’s Turkey BURGERS 🙂 I will make butternut squash “fries”!

  15. I love how organised you are! At the start of every week I say ‘okay, today is going to be the week where I plan!’. However, than never happens.
    I tend to make my own dressings, as I’m not a big fan of garlic, and they usually have some garlic in them. I have to make all my own hummus too because of that reason!

  16. Good thing I had tacos this week, otherwise you would have given me a major craving for them! 😉 Also that’s so awesome you’re making your own gnocchi!

    I usually make my own salad dressings unless I find a really unique delicious-sounding one. Like once I bought that PC avocado jalepeno dressing, which was pretty good.

  17. I stopped buying dressing and usually go for olive oil/rice vinegar concoctions with different fruits. Took some getting used to, that’s for sure!

  18. Pingback: Five Things Friday 4/26/13. | Better With Sprinkles

  19. I’ve never been a huge dressing person in the past, but then I realized it wasn’t because I didn’t like them but because I was “afraid” of them…stupid calorie counting! I used to just go with salsa or plain balsamic vinegar…for obvious low calorie reasons, but since I gave up that thinking, I’ve actually been loving on some ranch lately…I found a brand at the store that’s made with yogurt that’s really tasty! Trouble is it’s like $4 for a tiny bottle so I’ve decided I’m going to try making my own…I attempted once already and it was a bit of a flop but I’m not giving up just yet!

Leave a Reply

