Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

MIMM: Staying In.

37 Comments

Good morning and happy Monday! Hope yours has started out marvelously Winking smile

Thanks to the Diva herself for her fabulous weekly linkup!

So, I had a quiet weekend. Lots of relaxing and hanging around with Eric – exactly what I was hoping for! Last weekend was busy and we’re back in London next weekend, so I was all too happy to keep this one quiet and (mostly) confined to our apartment.

Friday night started off with a tasty dinner of homemade “fried” chicken (skinless chicken drumsticks breaded in cornflake crumbs), sweet potato fries, and salad.

DSCF5216

I found myself with a froyo craving and it was pretty nice out, so we took a walk down to Yogurty’s (A few days ago, Amanda was talking about those sorts of cravings where you’d run someone over that got between you and the desired food. Yea, it was one of THOSE cravings).

DSCF2379

In the mix:

  • a combo of cookies and cream, snickers, and birthday cake froyo
  • frosted animal crackers
  • yogurt covered pretzels
  • s’mores topping (!!!!) – definitely a new one, and of course I went a tad nuts with it.
  • caramel truffles

And then we managed to stumble across a random fair. Kind of surprising – I thought fairs were a fall thing?

It made for a nice walk, anyways.
Side note: how awkward is it to be a couple walking past all the carnival games when there isn’t a lot of people around? I’m pretty sure every single one of them tried to play off the “win the lady a prize!” thing. I’m pretty sure I could never do that job. That’s some intense sales pitches right there.

Saturday was shopping…so much shopping. April-June is pretty crazy around here, birthday/holiday wise. In a time period of about 7 weeks, I have 4 birthdays to buy for, plus Mothers Day and Fathers Day. Insane.

I usually don’t cook Saturday nights, so when Eric requested Harvey’s for dinner, I went with it.

DSCF5239

That would be a veggie burger with everything, onion rings and a diet Coke. Yup, I eat fast food sometimes. It’s obviously not something I would eat all the time (or even more than once every couple of months) but once in a while, it’s fine. And Harvey’s actually does a pretty decent veggie burger, whole wheat bun and all. It used to be something I was absolutely terrified of and would not touch, but now I’m fine with it.

It’s interesting how healthy living bloggers are fine with decadent desserts and sweet potato fries once in a while, but fast food seems to be completely demonized. Just something I’ve noticed!

Sunday

Sunday involved so tasty snacking:

s

So I was powering through those all afternoon. They are awesome – definitely reminded me of Nacho Cheese Doritos. Right down to the orange powder that gets everywhere afterwards.

DSCF5247

And some homemade applesauce. I swear, I will never buy commercial applesauce again. Just does.not.compare.

And I spent some time doing a bit of blog work behind the scenes. I’ve got some exciting changes and announcements for Better With Sprinkles coming up soon – so keep an eye out Winking smile

And I put that applesauce to good use for dinner – pork chops with applesauce, quinoa, and green beans.

DSCF5248

Yes, that pork chop is massive. And yes, I dominated it. Open-mouthed smile

So the weekend for me was basically: relaxing, reading, eating, shopping, and couple time. Absolutely what I needed – an easy weekend smushed in between two busy ones. Now I’m feeling charged and ready to go for the week ahead. Sometimes, you just really need a simple weekend at home!

Hope your day is fabulous!

<— Do you have a certain couple of months that are just full of celebrations? Everyone in my family is born between April-June, and I’m over in October. Awkward.

<— Fast food: once a week, once in a while, only in emergencies? 

<— What did you do this weekend? Best thing you ate? I’d say the froyo, of course.

37 thoughts on “MIMM: Staying In.

  1. I had froyo for the first time a few months ago and am kicking myself that it took me so long to find it. SO good! That homemade applesauce also looks delicious. I try not to eat fast food TOO frequently, but every once in a while I’ll indulge 🙂

  2. I always love your froyo because it looks so similar to mine! You do not mess around, I don’t either! Go big or go home! Loving the yogurt covered pretzel topping!

    Looks like a great weekend full of good eats! Glad you had a great one and cheers to a great week!

  3. Your love for homemade applesauce makes me smile…and that cup of fro yo makes me drool! Talk about some killer toppings, especially the yogurt-covered pretzels! My weekend too was filled with plenty of delicious eats including some freshly baked choc chip cookies with hazelnut ice cream- almost tasted like nutella on cookies i.e. heavenly!

  4. I really like staying in sometimes. After a really busy weekend away, it can be exactly what you need. Plus, it’s hard to argue that froyo doesn’t contribute to a good weekend. Your froyo looks delicious. No such thing as too many toppings!

  5. Prok chops and applesauce is the best!! I’m thinking froyo needs to be in my future 😉

  6. Mmm your weekend sounds amazing…I want a quiet weekend haha. I’m praying for one in two weeks! I’m torn between froyo, pizza, and margaritas (totally a food) for the best thing I ate this weekend 😉 April and May are really busy for me birthday and holiday wise…both my parents plus mother’s and father’s day…Joe’s mom…and some friends…crazy!

  7. Yum that froyo looked great!

    Yes my friends have birthdays in may/June and we refer to it as birthday season.

    I’m with you I think fast food every so often is ok 😉

  8. That froyo concoction looks so good! The pork chops look amazing too! And that’s so funny, the next couple months are a busy time for me birthday wise too. My mother, sister, brother, boyfriend and me are all in may and june. I also have a cousin and uncle in that same time frame, but luckily they don’t expect gifts, just a phone call 🙂

  9. Sounds like such a nice weekend! Staying home is so nice sometimes, I do it pretty often (I am also a little older :-)) I absolutely love homemade applesauce too and you just reminded me to make some.
    We just got a new FroYo shop in town, the FIRST!! Switzerland has no idea about FroYo so I am excited it finally arrived!
    Fast Food – I never eat it. Not because I am scared, but I just don’t like the taste and the food. I think Mc Donald happened the last time when I was a kid 🙂

  10. I want that froyo so badly! It looks soo good!

  11. Frosted animal cookies in your froyo?? Um, yes please! That sounds absolutely amazing. I used to be obsessed with those babies.

  12. Looks like a great weekend for you!
    Staying in is definitely sometimes just what we need. I kind of can’t wait until my next weekend like that since this weekend was so intense haha.
    I never eat fast food, I always have food with my since I’m hypoglycemic and never crave it. To each there own!
    That applesauce looks so delicious, I think I need to make some asap:) Have a great day lovely!

  13. I can’t remember the last time I had frozen yogurt…I like it but usually pick good ole fashioned ice cream if I have the choice! And I get fast food from time to time (either Taco Bell or In n Out). I don’t see a problem with it and definitely don’t think it’s “bad”, unless you eat it every day of course. Glad you had a relaxing weekend like you needed!

    • I definitely like your attitude when it comes to fast food, I’m the same way. Although I have to disagree with you on the Taco Bell, I can’t eat that stuff. Harvey’s or Wendy’s is all good with me though 😉

  14. My weekend was pretty much exactly like yours – just a whole lot of marvelous nothing 🙂 But instead of froyo with animal crackers and s’mores, I had chocolate chip cookies and ice cream… and I made a trip to McDonald’s a little earlier in the week. Fast food isn’t something that I would eat on a regular basis, but when the craving strikes, I don’t really see a problem with eating it every now and again. Life’s too short to sweat the small stuff.

    Hope you’re having a great Monday, love! So excited for your exciting news 😉

  15. Popchips are super addicting… and FROYO every day any day!

  16. Now I’m craving fro yo too! I have fast food about once a month – I love a good burger and fries 😀

  17. still have yet to try those popchips, they are on my list of need tos. that pork total yum. and faux fried chicken. even better. I think we both have our heads in the right place with toppings overpower froyo all the time

  18. That yogurt looks awesome!!! 😀

  19. So many great things here! I loveee putting chocolate covered pretzels on fro-yo. Scratch that, I love putting ALL the toppings on my fro-yo. I seriously need to try the different flavored popchips. I tried the regular, but wasn’t a fan. Maybe I need some nacho cheese in my life!

Leave a Reply

