Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.


42 Comments

Six Months and Goal Talk–January.

So…I’m a believer in half birthdays. Mine is April 24th, and I fully acknowledge that every year. Because really, I’m always looking for an excuse to eat cake.

So in that spirit, I need to point out that today is my 6-month blogging anniversary (blogiversary?).

(source)

I can’t believe I’ve already been at Better With Sprinkles for six months! The connections I’ve made and support I’ve received in the blog world makes me so happy, it’s ridiculous. Thank you SO MUCH for supporting me and finding value in my daily ramblings. Smile with tongue out Seriously, I love you guys! ❤

Special Delivery

I got a pretty fun delivery yesterday morning.

DSCF3014

A package of Nature’s Path goodies I won over at Life After Bagels a few weeks ago! I didn’t expect to get it this early, so that was a lovely surprise. The package includes:

  • Que Pasa Chips and Salsa (I was happy to see that it was medium – I like a bit of spice!)
  • Two kinds of granola: Coconut Chia and Love Crunch Red Berry
  • Breakfast cereal: Cranberry Qi’a
  • Three kinds of granola bars: Berry Strawberry Chewy bars, Maple Pecan Chewy bars and Apple Pie Crunch bars
  • Red Berry Crunch Cereal

Such an awesome bundle! Thank you Morgan and Nature’s Path!

Breakfast

Of course, I had to open a package for breakfast.

DSCF3016

I made a quick peanut butter, chocolate and banana smoothie (cottage cheese, almond milk, a frozen banana, chocolate PB2 and cocoa powder) and added some of the Coconut Chia Granola on top.

I loved the granola! I’m a huge coconut fun, so I loved that it came with a good amount of big coconut flakes. It was sweet without being overpowering – and only 9 grams of sugar for 3/4 cup serving, which is pretty impressive!

Lunch

And…broke into the stash again for lunch.

DSCF3018

I used the chips and salsa to make homemade nachos. I added turkey (chicken nachos are amazing…turkey is a little iffy, but it worked), black beans, yellow bell pepper, cheddar, and a bit of sour cream on top. Both the salsa and the chips got my approval! The chips taste a little plain (they’re low salt) so you definitely need something to dip them in, but once I had the salsa, I was happy. Smile

December Goals

I know it’s January, and everybody makes New Years Resolution. But…not me. I find I do much better when I think about goals as they come, as opposed to the whole “tomorrow is the new year, so I can be a brand new person” approach. And in all honesty, I’ve usually forgotten what my resolutions are by March, or they become less of a priority. So I’m going to stick with my monthly goals approach.

Let’s review how I did in my goals this past month, shall we?

1. Blog Redesign

Clearly…this did not happen. Same header as always up there. But I did update and reorganize my recipe page, so I get half points?

Recipe Collage

2. Read a book.

Accomplished!

DSCF2023

I read both Gone Girl and Gaining at the end of December. And I finished reading Room yesterday…after starting it the day before. I was actually up until 2 am reading Room the other night. Such a great book! Actually…they were all pretty awesome. This is just showing me that I need to make time to read for pleasure more often!

3. Enjoy family time over the holidays.

Done and done! I had an amazing holiday, both with my family and Eric’s.

4. Enjoy a much deserved deload week.

This has been the Christmas vacation of laziness, and I’ve been loving it. The deload week has pretty much turned into two weeks – I’ve got one yoga session and a foam rolling session under my belt for the week, and that’s it so far. I am planning a walk today though – I was going to go yesterday to pick up my books for this semester but the store was still closed from the holidays. I’m completely fine with the time off; it means I’ll be bursting to get back in the gym next Monday!

And the new goals:

1. Blog redesign.

Yup, this is a rollover goal. I’m hoping to see what I can do with it over the next couple of days!

longbanner3 

2. Learn more about photography and my camera.

I’ve been using the same camera since the spring, and I’ve never picked up the manual or made any sort of attempt at learning how to become better with it. Considering that this is (somewhat) of a food blog, I should probably learn about that aspect of it, shouldn’t I?

(source)

 

3. Follow my nutrition plan…in a way that works for me.

When I purchased my new fitness plan, I took the plunge and bought the nutrition plan to go with it. I‘m still working on gaining muscle, and obviously, nutrition is a big part of that. That being said, I’m not going to follow it 100% to a tee. I know what my body likes and doesn’t like, so I’m making a couple of minor adjustments to make sure that I’m meeting my personal needs, preferences and daily routine. While I want to reach my goals, I want to do so in a way that’s comfortable and enjoyable to me – I don’t want a lot of restriction or a “no-sugar-allowed” sort of diet. And if there’s a day (or a weekend) where the plan goes completely out the window, that’s cool.

Yea…I could probably use more of those.

(source)

4. Remember to take my vitamins.

Currently, I take a multivitamin and fish oil twice a day. Buuut…most of the time it’s only once a day, because I keep forgetting to take them with dinner. So I want to make sure I’m remembering to take them!

The multi’s I’m taking currently.

(source)

Overall, I’m happy with how I did in my December goals and I’m excited for what I have planned in January! 

<— Would you rather make yearly goals, or take it month by month?

<— Do you take multivitamins? Do you tend to forget to take them?