Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.


40 Comments

Food Ninja.

Good morning!

So, the FedEx guy must be thinking that I’m online shopping-crazed. Two days in a row of massive packages delivered to my door.

DSCF3036

I saw a really good package deal at Bodybuilding.com a few weeks ago, so I jumped on it. For everything I got I ended up saving about $40 versus buying in-store. That makes my student-conscious budget happy Smile Everything was Optimum Protein brand, which I’ve used before and like. I ordered:

  • a 5 lb(!! that’s huge!) container Whey protein – vanilla ice cream flavour
  • 2 lbs Casein protein
  • multivitamins
  • essential amino energy in blue raspberry (I’m secretly hoping it tastes like koolaid)
  • a nifty powder dispenser (I bought enough to warrant a free gift)

I guess I’ll be really prepared to go back to gym next week, won’t I?

Brunch

When Eric and I woke up today (at 9:45…yea) he got a phone call from a friend of his who has in the area and wanted to treat us to brunch. I can’t even remember the last time I brunched, but I’m pretty sure it’s my favourite meal to eat out.

We headed over to Sunset Grill, an all-day breakfast chain. It’s popped up quite a bit in the Toronto area, but the one in Brantford is relatively new so we hadn’t gone yet.

I like omelettes, but for some reason I never think to make them for myself. The omelette section of the menu immediately called to me. I ordered the sunset omelette – peameal style bacon, tomatoes, and swiss cheese.

DSCF2047

Yea…that is a huge omelette. Pretty sure that’s bigger than my face. I worked my way through about 2/3 of the omelette, some of the potatoes and a piece of toast before I threw in the towel. It was delicious though! The omelette was absolutely stuffed with the fillings, and the potatoes were crispy without being greasy (clearly not deep-friend, which I appreciated).

Eric went with the pancakes. When they got to the table, this is what he did:

DSCF2050

That is a syrup fountain if I’ve ever seen one. And he quite possibly harbours some secret food-stylist desires Smile with tongue out I stole more than my fair share of bites – pancakes are a particular love of mine (and pancakes kinda count as cake for the blogging anniversary, right?)

Food Ninja

Food_Ninja

(source)

I’m seriously the biggest ninja ever when it comes to meals out. I’m the sort of person who can’t just stick to my plate – I pretty much want to try everything on the table. When it’s someone I’m really comfortable with (Eric or my parents) I don’t even bother to ask anymore. I just swoop my fork in and grab a bite. Eric teases me that I’m a food ninja, I guess that’s because I’m sneaky about it?

It was a great brunch, both my food and what I ninja-d from the boyfriend. Smile with tongue out Thanks Ryan!

In the afternoon, I finally left the apartment and got in some exercise while walking around town running errands. Of course, this happens to be when it’s freezing out.

(source)

I’m seriously the biggest whiner ever when it comes to cold weather. I don’t know if I’m cold-blooded or what, but I absolutely detest it.

But, I survived and my feet only kind of felt like they were falling off. Smile with tongue out

Dinner

For dinner, I made up a Jamaican-style gumbo from The Looneyspoons Collection cookbook.

DSCF3042 

It wasn’t bad, but it didn’t really wow me – besides the sweet potato, I didn’t really see where the Jamaican aspect came from. Still, it was a decent dinner. Made better by a swipe from the leftover Christmas chocolate afterwards. 😀

Movie of the night: Natural Born Killers. All kinds of messed up, but it reminded me of how much I adore Juliette Lewis.

And today is the final ‘official’ day of my Winter break. Hopefully, I’ll make it a good one. Have a great Friday!

<— What’s your favourite meal to go out for?

<— Are you a food ninja, or can you stick to your own plate? That’s why I adore family and tapas-style eating – I can try little bits of everything.