Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.


27 Comments

The Plan for the Week.

Hello there Smile

Just wanted to pop in on a Sunday morning and show you guys my shopping and my meal plan for the week! I’ve been trying to take this weekend to relax and unplug a bit, but I will be back tomorrow morning with recaps. I hope this weekend (hopefully a long one for you!) is treating you well!

Proteins/Dairy

DSCF3741

  • turkey sausage
  • flat of eggs (every two weeks. Like clockwork).
  • shrimp
  • garden vegetable cream cheese
  • sour cream
  • 2% Greek yogurt (which was supposed to be plain. Apparently, I grabbed vanilla – good thing that’s usually my second choice)

Fruits and Veggies

DSCF3738

  • guacamole (usually I make my own, but sometimes laziness wins out)
  • romaine
  • broccoli (a lot of it…yay 2/$4 sale!)
  • grapes
  • baby carrots
  • sliced mushrooms
  • baby onions (I was looking for pearl onions but they didn’t have any. Hopefully these will work just as well?)
  • buttercup squash (never heard of it before, but the label said that it’s one of the sweeter varieties. Looking forward to testing it out)
  • tomato paste
  • tomato

 

Breads/Grains

DSCF3746

  • whole wheat pastry flour
  • sprouted grain bread (seriously enjoying this stuff)
  • rice cakes
  • English muffins

Pasta

DSCF3748

  • egg noodles
  • soba noodles

Into the Freezer

DSCF3752

  • frozen waffles (I used to live off of the things in high school, but I haven’t bought them in years. Katie and Amanda have got me craving them again, so I picked up a box)
  • frozen meals (the boyfriend will have one of these for his lunch if there’s no leftovers in the fridge)

Miscellaneous

DSCF3753

  • red wine (for cooking…I’m usually a white wine drinker. I really have no idea how to buy wine specifically for cooking – I ‘ve heard that as long as it’s something you would drink, it’s ok? I like XOXO and it’s cheap, so I figured it would work)
  • ziplock bags
  • aluminum foil

I kind of live for no-tax weekends at Zehr’s. Just saying.

Meal Plan 2/16-2/22

  • Saturday: out for dinner
  • Sunday: turkey sausage on a bun with side salad
  • Monday: out for dinner
  • Tuesday: Slow Cooker Coq Au Vin – excited to try this!
  • Wednesday: shrimp tacos
  • Thursday: slow cooker chicken with roasted squash and broccoli
  • Friday: chicken stirfry

Talk to you later!

<— What are you planning on cooking up this week?

<— Frozen waffles: yay or nay? While I prefer waffles out of my waffle iron…these are so much simpler.