Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.


26 Comments

Meals and Fitness for the Week: 4/14.

Good morning! I hope you’ve been having a wonderful weekend Open-mouthed smile I just wanted to pop in to discuss the food and fitness happening around here.

First up, the week’s worth of groceries.

Produce

Produce

  • apples (Red Delicious)
  • spinach
  • romaine
  • baby carrots
  • broccoli
  • snow peas
  • strawberries

Proteins/Dairy

DSCF4943

  • shaved turkey
  • ricotta
  • imitation crab
  • cheese curds
  • chicken hot dogs
  • egg whites
  • shrimp
  • cheese strings
  • whole chicken

Frozen

DSCF4938

  • waffles
  • frozen meals (boyfriend meals)

Miscellaneous

DSCF4946

  • coconut oil
  • argan oil conditioner (anyone try this stuff? Do you like it? My mom’s been using argon oil shampoo and condition recently and she swears by it)
  • lemon juice
  • almond milk
  • canned green chilis
  • banana chips
  • kombucha
  • apple cider vinegar

Dinner plan for the week:

  • Saturday: out
  • Sunday: chicken, sweet potato fries and broccoli
  • Monday: Annie’s Mac and Cheese with chicken hot dogs
  • Tuesday: pork tenderloin with homemade applesauce, rice and salad
  • Wednesday: chicken tortilla soup
  • Thursday: my seafood lasagna
  • Friday: homemade bacon poutine

Weekly Workouts

And to sum everything up, I figured I would talk about the workouts that happened last week. It was actually a little difficult for me not to pre-plan workouts…doing it for years made it a hard habit to break! But I think I did a good job at deciding the day of whether or not I wanted to work out, what I wanted to do, and when I could squeeze it in.

So last week (the 7th-13th)

  • Sunday: 3 mile run. First outdoor run of the season!
  • Monday: gym for an upper body workout. I focused on back, biceps and chest.
  • Tuesday: gym for a leg workout.
  • Wednesday: off. I was feeling a little sore and Eric was bottling wine that day, so I was helping him carry bottles up and down the stairs. More than enough for me!
  • Thursday: upper body at the gym. I focused on shoulders and triceps, plus I added some core work. I also did 15 minutes of intervals on the treadmill.
  • Friday: I did about 20 minutes of yoga in the morning (various Tara Stiles youtube videos) and definitely worked up a sweat dancing away at the banquet I attended that night.
  • Saturday: I had a lot of errands to do so I was on my feet all morning. Walking is most certainly a workout!

Enjoy your Sunday and I’ll talk to you soon!

<— Do you have a favourite shampoo/conditioner brand? I’m partial to Marc Anthony…the only one that can give my incredibly limp hair decent volume!

<— Best workout last week? I was excited to get out for a run! Hopefully, the weather will allow for another one sometime this week