Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.


20 Comments

Fitness Plans and Puppies.

(Yes, I am so original with my title).

 

It’s October.

October = birthday month.

That means, the countdown has begun.

I’m like a seven year old when it comes to my birthday – I pretty much want to celebrate the entire month. Smile

 

Breakfast

Still on the pumpkin bandwagon, in pumpkin oats form.

DSCF1645

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup porridge oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/2 scoop peanut butter chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tbsp liquid egg whites
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • dash cinnamon
  • dash vanilla extract

 

Topped with almond butter and maple pumpkin butter. Just can’t get enough, I tell ya.

 

Lunch

Nadine (my boyfriend’s mother) came up to Brantford today to pick up Leon and take us out for lunch. Eric and I were already debating getting a dog, but after that week it’s become more a matter of “when” as opposed to “if”. If you want to convince your significant other/family members that you should get a dog, just offer to dog-sit a really cute one for a few days. They’ll be converted, I promise.

 

(Cue cute puppy pictures….just for you Sloane! Smile with tongue out)

Awww.

You can’t look at a dachshund and not smile.

I want to hug it!

Ideal dog would be a pug. There is nothing in the world cuter than a pug. JUST LOOK AT THAT FACE!

These are not puppies. In fact, they are platypuses. (platypi?) Wearing fedoras.

Just awesome. Smile

 

Lunch

Lunch involved a little bit of adventuring.

First restaurant choice for lunch: closed indefinitely. WHY DO YOU HAVE A WEBSITE IF YOU’RE CLOSED INDEFINITELY?! Ahem. Annoying.

Choice two: Closed Sunday.

Choice three: Closest restaurant I knew of that was actually open.

So, we ended up at Shoeless Joe’s. It’s a sports bar and grill, so I figured it would work for everyone.

DSCF1677

I’m always slightly impressed when restaurants have TVs right in the booths. Although I guess it doesn’t exactly encourage conversation, does it?

For lunch, I ordered the Chipotle Southwest Chicken Salad.

DSCF1680

marinated chicken with roasted corn, mozzarella, cheddar, green onion, tortilla strips and pico de gallo over mixed greens with chipotle ranch dressing.

It was a tasty salad – mainly because of that dressing. I only used a little, bit that was really all it needed – lots of flavour.

Although when I was looking at this picture again, I realized they forgot the cheese – fail.

 

Eric ordered the smoked meat poutine.

DSCF1679 I swear to god, the guy is a poutine connoisseur. I’ve given up thinking he’ll order something else. :-p

Nadine’s club sandwich:

DSCF1678

Club sandwiches are such a classic, no? I’m pretty sure I went through a phase when I was about 11 when that was all I would order at restaurants. That, or chicken fingers and fries.

 

Slim and Sculpt – Week 1

This week, I finished week 1 on Thisfitchick’s Slim and Sculpt plan.

So far? I’m enjoying it! It’s challenging and definitely causing me to push myself in the gym. While I’m still struggling a little bit with the only working out 4 days a week thing, I know I’m appreciating the extra time I have in my days now to focus on schoolwork. I do walk to/around school every day, so I know I’m getting a bit of exercise on the side. I may add in some yoga or a turn on the treadmill/elliptical if I feel so inclined, but I think I’m good with following the program (mostly) as prescribed.

 

Things to note:

  • Workout B involves a circuit workout that absolutely killed me a little. I finished it, breathed a sigh of relief, and then noticed on the sheet it called for 2 rounds. Le sigh.
  • Intervals: I, for some reason, decided to start out with the hardest interval workout on the sheet. Umm, I died a little. Is it physically possible to hold running at 10 m/h for an entire minute? I got to 40 seconds before I cried uncle. Definitely effective!
  • Workouts changed: nope. Followed as prescribed.
  • Workouts added: I usually walk .5 – 2.5 miles daily, (plus I’ve got those stairs) but other than that, nope.

DSCF1683

Self portrait in the bathroom of the gym in workout clothes = proof that I worked out. Duh.

 

Dinner

We managed to get our hands on some smoked salmon (thanks Nadine!) so dinner was simple.

DSCF1648

Whole wheat english muffin with goat brie (best.impulse purchase.ever) and smoked salmon, with baby carrots on the side. Simple and delicious.

 

Enjoy the first day of October!

 

<— If you could have any breed of dog, what would it be? Or, what breed is your current dog?

<— What was your go-to restaurant order when you were a kid?