Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.


17 Comments

WIAW # 6–Taco Tuesday.

(Quick post – it’s 1 am and I’m still finishing a paper I’m writing for class tomorrow. I had it done a few days ago, but I decided last minute that it was awful and needed hardcore editing. Oh, perfectionism).

Hello, WIAW! Thanks to Jenn for hosting, as always!

Breakfast – 9:00 am

Of course:

DSCF1840

The pumpkin protein pancake. AKA: the same breakfast I’ve been eating 4-5 times a week for the last little while.

DSCF1847

I follow this recipe, but I sub out the banana for about 3 tablespoons of canned pumpkin and I use cookies and cream protein powder. You’d think the combo would be weird, but it’s actually pretty awesome.

DSCF1850

Topped with almond butter and maple pumpkin butter – makes for a pretty awesome breakfast.

While this is amazing, I’m thinking I need to mix up my pancakes a little. These, perhaps?

And because I am a fantastic girlfriend, I make Eric breakfast most mornings too.

DSCF1852

He told me he was particularly hungry, so I made him a whole wheat bagel with herb and garlic cream cheese, two eggs, and a slice of deli ham. Yea, I’m awesome.

Lunch – 12:45 pm

Lately, I’ve had a really weird obsession with rice cakes.

DSCF1854

Kind of the oddest thing ever, considering that they don’t actually taste like anything. But they’re just the perfect vehicle for toppings and they’ve got an interesting texture to them, so I can’t get enough of them right now.

I’ve got 2 sunny side up eggs, 2 slices of all-natural honey baked deli ham and brie cheese on top of two rice cakes with steamed green beans on the side.

DSCF1855

Runny yolk = absolutely essential to eating eggs. Delicious. Smile

Snack – 4:00 pm

Eaten during my break in class.

DSCF1843

Broke into the Larabar stash! While I wouldn’t say it tasted like a blueberry muffin, it was tasty so I won’t complain.

Dinner – 7:30 pm

One of my favourite meals in existence.

DSCF1862

I love tacos! When I was living with my parents, I would request them pretty much weekly. Just so delicious.

Of course, I had to whip up some guacamole to go with it.

DSCF1859

Homemade is always the way to go.

DSCF1861

Of course, I had to test it out. Smile with tongue out

Side note: I am a huge snacker when it comes to meal prep. I’m always snacking on baby carrots, cheese, whatever I’m cooking…a lot of the time I’m not even really hungry anymore by the time dinner’s ready! A bit of an annoyance, really – I need to work on that.

I mixed up some ground chicken with the seasoning, and prepared the other toppings. We had lettuce, tomato, salsa, sour cream, and shredded cheese.

Taco 1:

DSCF1864

(Stand and Stuff taco shells are a bloggers best friend. No having to hold the taco up to take a picture!)

Taco 2:

DSCF1867

Excuse the poor picture, I just wanted to get in my mouth (TWSS). Notice how much dirtier the plate got – I’m a messy taco eater.

Taco 3:

DSCF1869

And taco 3. I do not mess around on Taco Tuesday.

Snack – 11:00

Around 10:30, I decided that I needed to fix my paper (after having a bit of a breakdown…right, school is stressful), so I new I was going to need a nighttime snack.

Enter tastes-much-much-MUCH-better than it looks study snack.

DSCF1872

1/2 cup cottage cheese, a splash of almond milk, a 1/2 scoop of casein protein powder, and a few drops of stevia.

My nighttime snack is usually some variation on this – sometimes I use Greek yogurt, or sometimes I use a full serving of casein and mix it with almond milk to an almost pudding-y consistency. I get an awesome hit of protein before bed, so it works well for me.

And now back to that paper (sigh) wish me luck!

<—Do you snack when you prep meals?

<—What’s your usual nighttime snack?