Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.


37 Comments

Sushi Salad and Barbie Shoes.

Good morning!

So, my weekend was fabulous.

I’ve been feeling pretty stressed out lately with school, so I just needed a weekend away. We all need that self care once in a while! I headed home for the weekend and made fun plans with some pretty fabulous people. I’m feeling a lot more relaxed now, which is a good thing – this is definitely a lots-of-shit-to-do sort of week. But I do have a couple’s massage on Saturday to look forward too!

Because I was going to be gone all weekend, I headed out Friday afternoon/evening to get my grocery shopping done. I didn’t need too much, but the fridge has been restocked.

Farmer’s Market

DSCF4189

  • turkey breakfast sausages
  • sweet potatoes
  • mozzarella
  • green onions
  • yellow beans

FreshCo

DSCF4214

  • baby carrots
  • English muffins
  • whole wheat tortillas
  • bananas
  • lemon juice
  • plum sauce
  • whole chicken
  • sour cream

Zehr’s

DSCF4218

  • pork chops
  • chicken fingers
  • shaving cream (Eric’s, clearly)
  • guacamole

And I figured out the meal plan for the rest of the week:

  • Monday: Kristin’s Maple Sweet Potato Hash
  • Tuesday: pork chops, rice and roasted beans
  • Wednesday: roasted chicken and veggies
  • Thursday: Buffalo chicken quesadillas (Mexican food kick still going!)
  • Friday: pizza

And then it was a stay at home and relax sort of night!

Saturday

I wasn’t leaving until late Saturday morning, so I had time for a good breakfast.

DSCF4226

Banana oats with peanut butter and strawberry jam. Delicious!

I made the drive home, and chatted with my mom for a bit before we made the trip out to Costco.

DSCF4237

I’m pretty sure that’s the least amount of money I’ve ever spent at Costco – not bad. I made up for it in free sample though: there was Easter chocolate and Nutella involved 😀

Cream cheese and more of that gum that I love. And the coconut Oikos that I tried last week? They actually had it at Costco. Sooo…going to be eating a lot of that for the next little while!

After Costco, I headed over to the mall to meet my best friend for some catch-up and some shopping. And believe me, I shopped.

Suzy Shier had just changed locations in White Oaks Mall and was having a 40% off sale. I took advantage!

DSCF4239

1 blouse, 2 shirts, a striped pencil skirt, and a pair of ankle boots, plus two tank tops from Sirens.

Notice how I still haven’t been able to find new jeans or pants yet…oops. It’s all Spring stuff coming out right now, so it’s hard to find long pants!

I don’t consider myself a fashionable person in the slightest, but I’m trying to get away from the jeans and tank tops that have been dominating my wardrobe since high school. I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing, but I’m making an effort! Smile with tongue out

Barbie Shoes

I freakin’ love shoes. Boots, flats, heels – I have a massive collection and cannot go into a mall without at least trying on a pair. Even though I’m already pretty tall (5’7) I have a thing for platforms and stiletto heels. Nothing wrong with towering over people!

So no surprise, we wandered into town shoes.

qqqqqqqqqqq

And I am now eagerly awaiting the arrival of these shoes on my doorstop. Open-mouthed smile More money than I usually spend on shoes, but I am obsessed. Apparently for this line, Town Shoes collaborated with the makers of Barbie to recreate some of the shoes seen on the doll. My six-year-old self would be so thrilled with me right now Smile with tongue out

Now, I just need somewhere to wear them…

Dinner

For dinner, the best friend and I headed over to Earl’s. I hadn’t been there before, but it’s one of Laura’s favourite restaurants, so I was eager to check it out. The wait was a little long (we waited about 45 minutes for a table) but they gave us raspberry mojito and chili chicken samples, so I guess I can’t complain at all!

To drink, I ordered their vanilla pomegranate mojito.

DSCF2248

It was made with vanilla Smirnoff instead of tequila, but it still had the feel of a classic mojito. So delicious!

When I see anything that relates to tuna and/or sushi on a menu, it must be ordered.

DSCF2252

This was the Albacore Tuna Sushi Salad: organic greens, carrots, cucumber, mango, avocado, brown basmati rice, sushi rice, toasted nori and rare seared tuna with a white miso vinaigrette and sesame seeds. My plate was definitely cleared – it was amazing!

Right as we were eating, a waiter walked by and offered us tiny, warm chocolate chip cookies.

DSCF2251Hello, free tiny dessert!

I’ll definitely be heading back there at some point – the service was excellent (free samples and the manager coming by to make sure that you’re enjoying your meal? I love that sort of thing. It makes for a great experience) and I was more than happy with my salad. And…I want to head back and check out their martini menu!

After stopping to visit another friend of ours, I headed back to my parents to relax for a bit. Biggest dilemma ever: my mom was watching Downton Abbey in one room, and my brother and his girlfriend were watching Pitch Perfect in another. I floated Smile with tongue out

Sunday was busy and full of fabulous food, but I’m going to save it for another day. Today, I’m diving headfirst back into schoolwork. Only one month left before coursework is complete!

<— heels, flats, running shoes or boots? All of the above Smile with tongue out

<— Is there anything that you *must* order if it’s on a menu? Depends on my mood, but I order seafood at least 80% of the time.